We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to skip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of O&B Canteen

O&B Canteen
Reserve with OpenTable
O&B Canteen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #328 of 8,405 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: King and John Streets
Transit: By subway, exit at St. Andrew station on Yonge-University Spadina line, north west corner. Travel two blocks west on King Street. By streetcar, access the King St. (504) streetcar to John St.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One to skip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Pre tiff premeire we decided to pop into Canteen for a snack. The service was "meh" and the food - we had the Greek quinoa salad with chicken - chicken was overcooked and dry. We also had chicken noodle soup - which I have to say was very good. Overall - was average - but not a average cost! Expensive

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank torontotraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    112
    50
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
juan les pins
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spices everywhere. Even on chips and salads.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The restaurant is well located and really busy. Unfortunately the food is terrible, I got jalapeño in my burger and my salad got half pot of "herbe de Provence" ... See the picture.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tereJuanLesPins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This Restaurant has worked well to cater for different taste, budgets and clientile.
Good menu, with diversity, and not too bothersome, with specilaity of the day.
Staff were attentive, and smiley which are just so so important. People do not want to pay to look at sullen and miserable faces whilst they dine.
I had some delicious Canadian beer (which I know there are plenty) which was on discount due to local team playing whatever sport they were supposed to be playing.
We all ordered different food and tasted a bit of each others. The speciality of the day, ie Sphagetti Carbonara was rich in flavour and perhaps a bit too heavy on the garlic . ( I love garlic) It would have worked well in a different receipe with just garlic, olive oil and chillie.
I had a lamb Tangine which was tasty but a bit on the dry side.
All in all, we had a lovely meal, especially after being thoroughly soaked during our earlier visist to Niagara Fall, with added rain and thunderstorm for good measure.
The Canadian hospitality certainly shone through in this restaurant. Pay a visit to the place next time when you are in Town, and find out for yourselves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The good news: great location, attentive and friendly service, fun vibe/atmosphere. The problem: the food was just OK. I had the lamb tagine which is one of their most popular lunch dishes and it was just OK. Toronto offers so many wonderful and varied options that the bar has been raised for all downtown restaurants. It takes a little more yumminess to get a great review.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Creepela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
163 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients, nice outdoor seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant is in a good location. CN tower is just a few blocks away. The patio is great for people watching. Menu is pretty eclectic, but there is something for everyone on it. I got the tuna with soba noodles and my husband got the chicken sandwich. They were both awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dsgandlcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O&B Canteen also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to O&B Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing