We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good casual option if in the area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of O&B Canteen

O&B Canteen
Reserve with OpenTable
O&B Canteen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #314 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: King and John Streets
Transit: By subway, exit at St. Andrew station on Yonge-University Spadina line, north west corner. Travel two blocks west on King Street. By streetcar, access the King St. (504) streetcar to John St.
Level Contributor
386 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“A good casual option if in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We enjoyed a late light dinner here in November The root vegetable salad was very tasty, although a few of the vegetables were undercooked; the mac and cheese was good, but not authentic; and the chick pea fritters were hot and crisp but underseasoned. Don't expect a falafel.

Service was pleasant.

I’d return if I were in the vicinity, hungry, and needed something fast but certainly not as a destination.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    112
    50
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Overpriced Fare”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The title says it all! Everything was skimped on, except the price. I liked the atmosphere, but I certainly will not be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The Canteen is located on a lively stretch of King St. West and the restaurant location offers a nice view on the corner of King and John. The food on the menu is fresh and well prepared. I have tried most of the items on their menu and like most of them, especially their pasta dishes. Highly recommended if you would enjoy a meal in a lively and social environment.

Helpful?
Thank Wendell Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We thought we'd give this a try for breakfast! My sister had been for dinner in the past and figured it might have a good Sunday brunch too. Did it ever! The food was amazing! The homemade ketchup is to die for! The potatoes (which I don't normally eat) were crispy and delicious. The Eggs Benedict were some of the best I've ever had and everyone else enjoyed their meals thoroughly! Lots of sparkling water, refilled frequently and coffee was a perfect accompaniment. We look forward to try it for lunch or dinner another day soon!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MeggOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfratshausen
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Concept”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

It is not really a canteen as you get served at the table but it is more of a soup, salad and sandwich place with a few other mains. This is not standard fare though, the food is interesting and fresh! We ate there several times in a recent trip to Toronto as we were staying in the area. Reasonable priced, great food and service. There is also a take out counter, if you want to order and take away.....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Faith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O&B Canteen also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to O&B Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing