We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Overpriced Fare”
Review of O&B Canteen

O&B Canteen
Reserve with OpenTable
O&B Canteen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #402 of 8,569 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: King and John Streets
Transit: By subway, exit at St. Andrew station on Yonge-University Spadina line, north west corner. Travel two blocks west on King Street. By streetcar, access the King St. (504) streetcar to John St.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Overpriced Fare”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The title says it all! Everything was skimped on, except the price. I liked the atmosphere, but I certainly will not be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    119
    53
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - good food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The Canteen is located on a lively stretch of King St. West and the restaurant location offers a nice view on the corner of King and John. The food on the menu is fresh and well prepared. I have tried most of the items on their menu and like most of them, especially their pasta dishes. Highly recommended if you would enjoy a meal in a lively and social environment.

Helpful?
Thank Wendell Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a great breakfast”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We thought we'd give this a try for breakfast! My sister had been for dinner in the past and figured it might have a good Sunday brunch too. Did it ever! The food was amazing! The homemade ketchup is to die for! The potatoes (which I don't normally eat) were crispy and delicious. The Eggs Benedict were some of the best I've ever had and everyone else enjoyed their meals thoroughly! Lots of sparkling water, refilled frequently and coffee was a perfect accompaniment. We look forward to try it for lunch or dinner another day soon!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MeggOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfratshausen
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Concept”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

It is not really a canteen as you get served at the table but it is more of a soup, salad and sandwich place with a few other mains. This is not standard fare though, the food is interesting and fresh! We ate there several times in a recent trip to Toronto as we were staying in the area. Reasonable priced, great food and service. There is also a take out counter, if you want to order and take away.....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Faith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent Breakfast”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice ambience, service is average - no signage to direct you to seat yourself or wait for attendant - no one around so went to grab and go counter. Sat down food came - breakfast was good maple bacon nice touch. Probably would come again but would not overly boast about the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O&B Canteen also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to O&B Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing