We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Alleycatz

Alleycatz
Ranked #5,443 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Yonge & Broadway
Transit: Yonge & Eglinton Station
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a wonderful evening. great food, great service and awesome band. Lady K was just great and made us dance all night. Would go back anytime I'm in Toronto.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    14
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Surprise Birthday/Engagement Party Venue!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My best friend held a surprise party for me for my birthday and my fiance for our engagement. She was made to pay a fee to reserve the table for the whole night; having paid the fee and confirming the amount of guests ahead of time, the restaurant still was unable to provide us with a large enough table. Once the host saw how large the reservation was and that everyone who rsvp'd actually showed up, he suggested that 'maybe we go somewhere else'. WHAT? After having reserved this and PAYING weeks in advance? In the end, they didn't provide us with enough space and 3 people, 1 being one of the people being honoured had to stand at the bar the whole time as we weren't allowed more chairs. Remind me again, what did the deposit provide?

The staff who waited on our tables were surprisingly rude, the food was as though it was thrown together by toddlers and the bar kept trying to trick us into believing that their low end vodka was actually rye.

It was a kind gesture for her to want to throw this evening for us but the way this restaurant handled it completely ruined the occasion. They were also supposed to have live jazz by 9pm however being a Saturday night, the band chose to arrive at 10:20 and then start to set up so we didn't even get the benefit of their live entertainment to try and save the evening. I was told that the live jazz was the main reason she chose Alley Catz as the venue.

We all left by 10:30pm and got a fantastic slice of pizza a couple blocks north from Classico Pizza. It was pretty surprising to see how rude they really were behaving considering the amount of tips $ they would have made considering the size of the group and that we are all serious business professionals that came with cash to have fun with. The waitstaff acted as though they were doing us favours by serving us, they always had a rude lazy attitude. These are moments people will always remember in their lives (surprise parties, engagement parties, first child moments, etc) This will definitely be an evening I will always remember as this place was a complete joke!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jetsettingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not hungry, like to waste your money this is the place for you.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is one of those places where you spend quite a bit to leave hungry. The surf and turf special was a tiny piece of "steak" and two small and ordinary shrimp. Soggy veggies and literally three slices of potato made up the rest of the meal. The feature soup french onion had 5 bits of cheese - sunk on the bottom. If you do go - stay away from the specials, they are especially bad value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank localguy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food packed bar!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have been to Alleycatz a handful of times over the last couple of years - great central location for subway and taxi's. Food is good, portions aren't very large but tasty.

The bar gets totally packed quickly so go a little early to get a good spot also Saturday nights they have a live band that plays current music and they are quite good- usually not a fan of bands in bars but this band is a good one!

The only complaint we had was after ordering 2 mojitos each they ran out of them :( Maybe just a one off as I find it hard to believe the would run out often!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flavourless disappointment”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Calamari was dry and not seasoned at all even with loads of the mayo it was served with, lemon and salt and pepper it was barely even worth a dollar. Risotto was okay, Buger was $17 but wasn't worth half that- underseasoned yet again. If one serves burgers one should also have all condiments on hand...the waitress informed us that there was no mustard when we requested it and instead brought more ketchup. Atmosphere was terrible (it was before the dancing started). Waitress seemed annoyed with any small request.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KMH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alleycatz also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Alleycatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing