We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

A fantastic hotel located within the Theatre District, with plenty of bars to choose from. The CN Tower and harbour front is just behind the hotel and within easy walking distance.

The hotel itself was luxurious and the staff were extremely helpful and polite. The only niggle was that you had to pay for Wifi in your room and having paid a 5* price for the hotel I would of thought that it would of been included. However Wifi was available in the lobby free of charge.

Car hire was arranged via concierge with no fuss at all. They were extremely helpful and efficient whilst we were planning our trip to Niagara Falls and Niagara on the Lake.

We had a late flight home and needed to freshen up before hand and thankfully were able to use the Spa facilities to shower and change - a lovely gesture by the concierge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TooksandMrsTooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    187
    46
    10
    14
See reviews for
263
431
54
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Although this is a beautiful property there were many things that didn't work in our room, we had to call to get new batteries for the the tv remote, the bose system didn't work, someone had to come and reconnect all the wires and the guy who came made it seem like we should have known what to do, the coffee maker didn't work, it had to be replaced AND they didn't replace food items from the mini bar the 3 nights we were there and when I phoned to get someone to replace the tin of nuts, room service showed up wondering what I wanted. All of these things wouldn't matter to me if at any point someone in management would have contacted me to apologize for everything or treat us to a glass of wine or something but there was no mention of it and I actually wonder if anyone in management was aware of all these things. It's not about being perfect but perfectly managing issues that arise. I did however REALLY enjoy the glass of champagne as I was checking in!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank funjoy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

i just returned from a one night stay at The Ritz. The place and service are superb. Beds are really soft and pool is great... The location is also near lots of eateries and stores. The front desk people are a gem!
My only complaint: once you arrive, valet takes your car... nice touch! until you get the bill for just valet= 48.00 !
Overall. class all the way

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exquisite t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I went to the spa with a friend as a birthday treat. After our massages, we went back to the changing area. In the changing area, there was a woman who was in a terrible mood and was walking around in a huff. This woman pushed past my friend and accused her loudly of keeping her locker door open which prevented her from being able to walk freely in the locker room. She then went on to yell at my friend and call her some very derogatory terms which I will not repeat here. The other customers in the locker room were shocked as well and were trying to console my friend. I was so upset and reported this to management. I expected more from them, they just quietly told us they were sorry and quickly ushered us out of the spa. Needless to say, it ruined our day and I was just shocked at how they handled it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimTerceira, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Samantha,
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the behavior of the other client described and can only imagine how unsettling and awkward it would have been for yourself, friend and other guests. This is a most unusual event and only wish we had been more responsive at the time. Please contact me directly at 416 572 8010 so myself and our Spa Director may personally follow up with you on this experience.

Sincerely
Tim Terceira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

You can feel he quality and service upon arrival. Anything you can ask for, they will take care of. Location is great. The rooms are well maintained and you feel at home while in the room. The only thing about this hotel that is not above 5 star quality is the pool. I know the hotel is in the middle of downtown, so no expectation of excellent pool. With that said, the pool is not important at all. This hotel is ALL about service! You can't beat the service from the valet, front desk, room service, restaurant, housekeeping, etc. If you go to Toronto, this is a must place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Im4FunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Central location. Smart design. Legendary service. A winning combination that sets the bar high for other Toronto 5 star hotel. A special thank you to Hanna who provided exceptionally friendly and helpful advice as the concierge. Thank you and well done!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank irachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

After an awful & I mean awful experience in customs, I arrived at the Ritz with my heart still pounding in my chest. Guillermo took me from the cab and ushered me into paradise and bought me a drink before I even checked in, Insta-om!
He singlehandedly erased all the nastiness in my arrival to Toronto.
The hotel is brand new, perfectly located and very, very chic. Gary and Melinda were both incredibly helpful @ the concierge desk. Subway and cabs (USE UBER) were easy to grab near the hotel. Guillermo came to the rescue again with the house car! My friend and I had a lovely ride to dinner one night. Outdoor lounge was a nice place for a cocktail. Great people watching! I can't say enough good things about this hotel & it's stellar staff. It's a shame the customs agents can't take a lesson from the Ritz.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#18 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing