We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My family and I stayed in this hotel twice in the last three months and cannot fault the experience. The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms elegant, very clean and the food outstanding. The service is impeccable and the staff make you feel welcome from the moment you enter the hotel to the moment you leave. Our young children were treated to Ritz Carlton teddy bears and their own personalised room keys, which also added to their experience. We have stayed at a number of Ritz Carlton properties worldwide and this is certainly one of the best we have experienced.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New2Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    202
    55
    13
    14
See reviews for
300
495
59
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Ritz in Toronto in May 2014. We met up with my parents for mothers day/ my Mom's birthday. We flew into Billy Bishop airport from Boston and arrived at the Ritz aroun 11:30. We had requested early check in but were informed before we arrived that they couldn't promise anything. We arrived in the gorgeous lobby after walking a few blocks from the free Porter Airlines shuttle from the airport. Assuming that we would not be able to check in we were VERY surprised when the front desk staff asked us to wait about 5 minutes and got us into the room on teh 14th floor! Not only was the room very nice the bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great view of the city wrong side of the building to see the CN tower though. The bathroom was amazing - separate tub and shower, and a tv in the mirror!

As mentioned the rooms were amazing but they were nothing compared to the staff! Every time we entered or left the hotel at least one person would greet us. At one point my husband and I went for an hour long run - when we came back one of the doormen had two large icecold water bottles for us! He recognized us for the rest of weekend and greeted us by names! Going above and beyond were the staff in Toca the restaurant in the hotel. We had breakfast there 3 times and it was wonderful everytime.

The consierge also helped me order flowers for Mother's day for my Mum. I told them what i wnated to spend and they ordered, arranged and delivered the flowers. She loved them!

The location of the hotel is also perfect. It is within a 5-10 minute walk to the CN Tower and about a 20 min walk to the Hockey Hall of Fame ( if you get a chance visit, its really cool). As mentioned before if you are flying into Billy Bishop it takes about 10 minutes to get to the airport from the hotel.

All in all it's a great hotel in a wonderful location. We will be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - the higher up the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashcaswell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Everyone should have the opportunity to stay at a Ritz. The Toronto Ritz certainly lives up to the Rtiz reputation. Attentive and friendly staff....tripping over themselves to make sure you have a very special experience. Once they found out it was our anniversary, they went out of their way to help us celebrate! Special thanks for Tory in the Cocktail Bar who went out of her way to serve us outside on the porch by the fire in the freezing cold...we were the only people out there braving the weather. It was a great night to snuggle with a glass of wine. The Ritz is located in a perfect part of Toronto...walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. If you are only in town for one night, be sure to stay close to home and go to Toca located in the Ritz Toronto. Perfect evening!!! Thank you, Toronto, for a great weekend!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profiterdelavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I love going to the Ritz Carlton Spa. Great getaway and truly feels like your on vacation even though your only there for 3-4 hours. Professional service, large lounge with a great selections of snacks, tea and coffee. Very clean and all amenities were included such as lotions, hairspray etc. I have a regular masseuse therefore, I find the massage okay. I normally just go there to stay at the facility for a quick getaway. I definitely would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

First stay at a Ritz Carlton. The staff were very pleasant and interested in making sure everything was taken care of. The room (corner suite) was immaculate and just a wonderful romantic experience. Even had a private rooftop balcony. I was hoping for a higher floor than the 6th, but I guess that's where they put people that are partially staying on marriott points. My main critique is that the first "bar" in the lobby wasn't open for the 3 days of our stay, and the other bar in the back had about 10 seats and was always full at the bar. They need more bar space for the guests.

Room Tip: Avoid using points if you want a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlcaTorda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

If there is one thing you should know about this hotel, it's that the bed is incredibly comfortable. Yes, it's the Ritz and the service is great, the staff are friendly (although as an American, every Canadian I encountered was a pleasant interaction) and things generally are top notch, but the bed is of particular note.

The other thing I want to note is the robe - also, wow. It's the little things that make the difference, and the bed and robe did it for me at this particular Ritz.

The view wasn't great but we didn't care, we didn't use any of their facilities, and we didn't ask them for help except to hold our bags and get us an airport car (which they handled well). The little tea kiosk in the lobby is a nice touch.

Lying in bed in the robe, ordering the bolognese off the room service menu and being entertained by the trainwreck that is their mayor on TV? Great way to spend a rainy evening pitstop before heading out on another flight the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is five stars. Very confortable, clean, quiet and well located downtown Toronto. The staff is very friendly and want to help you.
The restaurants are not at the same level than what you will expect for this kind of hotel. There is a lot to improve in term of service and choices but there is a lot of restaurant around the property.
I recommend for the quality of your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppalerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing