We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Above average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last weekend. The rooms were very good. The reception service was good. Restaurant service was excellent. The door man and valet parking did not appear to be enthusiastic. They looked bored and preoccupied. Perhaps RC should invest in a good winter overcoat for the valet parkers. I gave my keys to a guy at the door and then wondered if I gave the keys to the right person. He had a regular jacket on top of his uniform!!
The car was brought back without water etc. Overall service is not like Four Seasons or Trump.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 615Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimTerceira, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us this past weekend and thank you also for your feedback - it is greatly appreciated. I was pleased to learn that your experiences in our Restaurant, Reception and Guest room were very good and worth your mention; I was however disappointed to learn that your Door and Car Valet experience was not at the same level. Please know that we have followed up with our "front of house" team and they are genuinely sorry and concerned not to have lived up to your or our expectation to always deliver Ritz-Carlton's "Legendary Service".

I hope you will provide us with another opportunity to provide the level of service and experiences you have enjoyed and expect; and I invite you to contact me directly.
Warm regards
Tim

Tim Terceira
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
416 572 8010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    195
    53
    11
    14
See reviews for
283
477
56
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
291 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Booked via Marriott site using points. A few days before check in, I was contacted by the concierge service to ensure they were ready for me.... Wow. Check in was courteous, friendly and classy.

The room was superb, large, well appointed, with a large LED TV fridge, Nespresso system with excellent espresso, king bed, great view of the city, Large bathroom with heated floor, TV embedded in mirror, separate shower and bath.

The gym was well equipped with ellipticals, treadmills, bikes, muscle exercising machines. The pool was a bit small and shallow but the area was pleasant. The spa was great, sex separated, with school jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, robes, sandals, and a guest lounge with snacks. Upscale!

I didn't not use the restaurant premise. Gold members get free Wi-Fi but no lounge access (I was told they serve light appetizers, booze, and Continental breakfast) but it would have cost me 75$ for access.

If you have a chance, try this place...

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night on March 8th along with my sister and brother-in-law. Both couples had corner rooms on the 16th floor along with Club access. We had a wonderful stay. The staff was very friendly in all departments and the food and drink were wonderful in the lounge. This was a great, quiet spot to relax after a busy day in Toronto. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Toronto.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lexus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I've stayed at many 4 star resorts but this is the first 5 star hotel I've stayed at. I didn't expect a big difference but everything was taken up a notch. Amazing staff, flawless check in, and high quality rooms. It was more expensive than I'm used to but it is worth it once in a while for a special occasion. I had forgotten a computer USB cable and the staff were very helpful in loaning me one. Only funny thing was that I was expecting a higher class of guests, ones that would be quiet in the halls at 2 am when the bars let out. Like all other downtown Toronto hotels there is always some jerk who thinks it is fun to be yelling and making too much noise when others are trying to sleep. Not the hotels fault though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeLux4value
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimTerceira, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
On behalf of our ladies and gentlemen, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the added touches and attention to detail was appreciated. It was also our pleasure to loan you the USB Cable and is the least we can do to assist you!
Thank you also for your feedback regarding noise in the hallway - it is unfortunate and I agree unessessary.

Warm regards
Tim Terceira
General Manager, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Some say "location, location, location". In the case of the Ritz, their motto is more likely "service, service, service". Other than what other reviewers reported on the quality of the rooms, of the hotel, etc, I just want to add 2 examples of why this hotel is way up there. 1. You are a guest, not a customer and you are treated as such. It starts at the door, where the bell-boy would actually ask you your name to get you at the desk. A detail...but every person working there seems to know who you are and call you by your name...you feel like a VIP even if you are just there for 2 nights :)...but the top was when I came in from my 5K outside run and the doorman rushed into me to see if I wanted a towel...literally out of his way to make the offer. You do not see that type of "unecessary" attentions often these days, except maybe on the Disney properties.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PourJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

They say you get what you pay for, well they are right when it comes to the Ritz- Carlton in Toronto. Although the rooms may be a little pricier than most, you will have to look hard to find a nicer hotel in Toronto. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are amazing. The hotel location is central to downtown and if you are a people watcher, you will probably see some kind of celebrity there. Brunch in the restaurant is well worth having as well.

Room Tip: Call down for your car ahead of time if you are checking out at check out time. It will save you som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend executing a program for work. The hotel is beautiful and the heated bathroom floors are a nice touch during the cold weather months :)
The bed was super comfy and the room elegantly appointed. Valet service is very quick. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous as the Ritz is known for.

Book here with confidence!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TC_GTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing