We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I treat myself to a spa treatment at the Ritz every year for my birthday. It is heavenly. I almost don't want to gush too much so it doesn't get run down with people. The service is impeccable, the spa immaculate, the services are great quality. Its not cheap but its worth every penny as you can lounge there all day in peace and quiet (for the most part - see below). The downsides I would say are, oddly enough, for a top spa, the toilets don't flush properly. They flush when they shouldn't and don't flush when they should so you always end up having to flush them manually. Small thing but strange. Their robes are massive. It would be great to have some smaller robes available for more petite folk. And a big downside (IMO) is they've just added in (since I was last there) a basketball hoop in the (indoor) pool and pool toys. Not sure who's bright idea that was but I think it was a bad one. It's strange to have nice, soothing spa music piped through the speakers and then people in the pool trying to slam dunk. That was a major turn off and have to say ruined the chill vibe for me. Hopefully they'll remove them soon to bring the vibe to what it used to be. Other then that the spa is amazing!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank jc8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Really enjoyed are stay at the Ritz in Toronto. The location is wonderful for tourists. So close to the harbor and to the tower. Very walker friendly. We walked to dinner each night and one night walked to the Second City show. Many other theatre's near by. The staff was superb. Very kind and paid attention to details. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was nicely updated and enjoyed getting ready watching the news each morning in the mirrored television. The hotel is part of the underground walkway, so it was easy to get around without needing to go outside. Very close to the foot court and shops on the walkway. Overall, a great stay and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntBee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Last week, I spent 4 nights at the Ritz-Carlton in Toronto. The property was beautiful, the location was great, and the customer service was top notch. The staff went above and beyond to ensure our party was taken care of at all times and it was much appreciated. We all commented how we would be happy to stay at this property any time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for New Year's with three teenage girls in a beautiful corner suite.
Cleanliness scored a 4 because I was surprised to see the amount of dust on the floors in the corners. However, hardwood flooring, sitting room and powder room, master bedroom and beautiful ensure separated by a long hallway ... Service was amazing, realized we hadn't called housekeeping to have the pull out bed prepared so I called the front desk at 4am and someone showed up within minutes. The New Year's Eve party was a lot of fun... great music and fun crowd. We all had a great time and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyDogForPresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have stayed at a few Hotels in this chain and this, by far, was the best. We were upgraded to a suite and it was exquisite - every detail. Heated floors, beautiful fabrics. cozy lighting, nespresso machine and large bath with tv in the mirror.
It was quiet, we never heard a sound.

The staff was welcoming and friendly. It was decorated very festively for the Holidays! I loved the hot tea from Sloan's in the lobby.

Our only complaint was trying to get breakfast at 11 am on Sunday. The restaurant was booked for Brunch, the other restaurant was closed for Teddy Bear Tea and the other restaurant off the lobby said they did not serve food yet. We left very hungry. The Executive Lounge had already taken the food away. We did not want or have time for room service.

I plan to stay here next summer when I return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stlanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I came here to celebrate a birthday. Not impressed by the service or the hotel in general. Would highly suggested looking at the reviews of other luxury hotels before deciding to land here. Expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bedstuygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was the best hotel experience we have ever had. We stayed on their club level and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. The hotel is ideally situated close to everything and is on the Toronto PATH system so this allows you go virtually everywhere without going outside. The room was very large with every amenity imagined. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have experienced during our travels. The rooms are so soundproof, it is wisper quiet. The lounge that is part of the club level is simply amazing. It has continuous food and drink from early morning to late night. And it is all excellent. If you can believe it, the staff are even more amazing. They make a point of knowing and remembering your name. The staff are very friendly and take the time to chat and try to help you in every way. The service levels even for maintenance are absurdly high. During breakfast I mentioned a button the TV remote was not working to a staff member. By the time we returned to our room, it was fixed! If you can possibly stay here, you absolutely need to try it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,442 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $412 - $877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing