We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end and classy always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Ritz definitely fits the name. The epitome of classy high end elegance. The establishment definitely reflects the price. I booked the corner suite with lake view with the lounge access on higher level are the best. If you can afford the room prices then you should most definitely add the $100 per day for lounge access on the top floor. Great all day food, snacks and cocktails almost around the clock. The bar/lounge downstairs is very nice, cozy and classy. Probably one of the best lounge in the city. The pool area though is only so so...very plain for being in the Ritz. The location of the hotel is a great location. Walking distance from major attractions such as the CN tower, Roger center, Chinatown and great shopping. Overall the Ritz Carlton in every city or country has kept up with their standard of high end classy elegence and you feel it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gentillec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

On a last minute trip to Toronto, I was lucky enough to find a vacancy at the Ritz Carlton. Never having stayed there before, I was counting on the Ritz reputation to provide a pleasant stay. A pleasant stay? This turned out to be a fabulous, relaxing, happy laughter-inducing stay. What a joy -- I will now find excuses to return as often as possible. The room was lovely, great view and exceptionally fresh and clean. The restaurant was terrific and the spa was, without a doubt, world class. Our visit was enhanced by the wonderful staff, especially Hanna, the concierge; Felix, the great waiter in Toca; and especially Josh in Deq. What a delightful crew -- as were all the staff we met. I can't wait to return!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Vmalsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here at the end of the Film Festival in a corner suite and fully enjoyed the place.

4 nights of undisturbed bliss.

Deq lounge is superb with some of the best service experienced in a hotel bar. Cannot recommend enough. The food in Deq and in the restaurant are superb.

My wife used the spa and fully enjoyed her time and treatment there while I was doing the Edge Walk on the CN Tower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Have stayed in lots of five star hotels but actually felt it probably wasn't worth it when here on holiday. Although the room was a good size it didn't feel "special" and there were a couple of little niggles we didn't expect in a hotel at this level:
The bathroom Tv (mentioned in other reviews) was a bit of a gimmick and we couldn't get all the channels on it.
No free wifi in the rooms.
Hair dryer nozzle fell off every time we used it.
Otherwise generally what you'd expect.

Room Tip: A higher floor (ours was 10) may have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When we checked in we heard we got an upgrade to a corner suite..and that breakfast was included. The room was really nice with a sitting room with a seperate toilet, then there was a hall along the bathroom to the bedroom..a lot of space! Clean, quiet and three tv's one of which was in the mirror of the bathroom what more can you wish for... Staff is really friendly..
Breakfast in the room is skimpy...small rolls, small croissants and certainly not as generous as in other hotels. The healthy breakfast with an omelet comes with just one mini roll...think that that makes the breakfast too expensive...but then we did not mind after all it was free. However at checking out it appeared we did have to pay until the manager came to solve this problem..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wereldreizigster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

this review was witten on my last afternoon before departure Toronto and the beautiful Ritz Carlton as well.

It's an amazing porperty with outstanding stuff, starting from the bellboy, through the restaurant, Club Lounge and all other as well.

If ypu got a chance to go to Toronto, use the opportunity to spend some nights in one of the amazing club rooms with lake view. You could see the CN Tower directly in front and saw the lighting show in the evening.

The stuff in the Clublounge is so friendly, the Lounge on the 20th floor offer special food, drings and more only for club guests- its nice or better more than tis.

Room Tip: take a club room with lake view, if you lucky to got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven-Hennig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a marvelous hotel. The service is excellent. The rooms are bright, spacious and nicely decorated. Though the fitness center seemed a bit cramped, every other aspect of the hotel was superb. Extremely comfortable bed. The valet parking has in and out privileges ($48 dollars/night). I recommend the Ritz without reservations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 849Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 138 in Toronto
1,268 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,774 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 138 in Toronto
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#4 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $400 - $692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing