We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two small complaints.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent three days in the hotel attending a small meeting. During that time we got a good idea of the hotel quality.

We were struck by overall design of the room and the bath. Someone has thought out everything for the guest comfort. In fact, if one is considering a bath remodel for his own home, the bath could serve as an excellent example.

The accommodations are generous, very well proportioned, and the amenities are excellent. The furniture is very high quality. Even the sound system is Bose, rather than some tinny sounding little alarm usually found in other places.

The lobby is gracious without being overwhelming. The hallways are quite elegant and well lit. The soundproofing is very good.

Near the meeting room, the restrooms are truly high quality. Even the provided toweling is cloth-like quality.

The Toca restaurant was just as high quality as the rest of the hotel, and the menu reasonably priced. It you want something special the wait staff will do their best to accommodate you. Before we were even seated, the gentleman at the service desk brought us hot wet towels to wipe our hands.

The hotel staff is wonderful. One doesn't know whether this is the result of great HR or the management, but there is an abundance of personnel and each person couldn't be more gracious and accommodating. The personnel act pleased to serve their guests, without being either obsequious or snobbish.

As you approach the front door, several people greet you, appearing genuinely friendly, making an attempt to welcome you. There is ice water with lemon in the lobby.

The swimming pool kept beautifully clean. The depth is enough to swim laps, but shallow enough for children. There is no diving bay.

Now for the down side. The parking charge was 68 dollars a day, and we debated turning the rental car in for the three days while we were there. Instead, we chose to park across the street where there is underground parking for much less than half the price.

The other down side was that there is a charge for internet in the room. For the five minutes it takes for email, we opted to use the complimentary WiFi in the lobby and saw many others doing the same. This is not an inexpensive hotel, and internet connections should be complimentary in the rooms.

The bottom line is that this is truly a five star hotel, well managed and beautifully appointed. It is worth paying more to stay here. It is a wonderful hotel for small meetings, weddings and parties.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfkadlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a great hotel, from the moment you pull up through to check out. The staff is very friendly professional and courteous. I did not walk through one door, where any member of the staff was present that the door was not held open and they insisted that I proceed first.

The room was spacious and was well appointed, the bed was very comfortable and I especially liked the option of dimming lights. The bathroom was bright and the TV mirror was cool.

We were at the hotel for a conference and the attention to detail was a top priority. The staff was attentive to our request and continued to check in to insure that our program was running smoothly. There was always lots of drinks and nutritious food provided at the breaks. I would certainly recommend this for a business gathering and plan to return personally.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went to Toronto after visiting Niagara Falls. Unfortunately we got stuck in a lot of rain but our trip was better for the Concierge room we had on the 20th floor. It is expensive but was worth it for us. The service was very high quality. The concierges got us theatre tickets and helped us a lot. The breakfast and snacks offered in the Concierge level lounge are ample and very good. I went to the pool and gym, both very nice. The view from the room looks out towards the island but I had the impression that the Toronto waterfront is not as developed for the beauty of the lake as for commercial purposes. The weather may have played a part in that we could hardly see the top of the CN tower which was right out our window.

We had dinner in the hotel main restaurant and it was very good. That restaurant seems to have some rather exotic menu mixes. The atmosphere is certainly modern.

It is an excellent hotel and located near the Hockey stadium and CN tower. They also have a hotel car that took us to a wonderful restaurant because of the rain. They did all they could to make our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: We were in room 2013. It has a water/island/CN tower view. This area we noticed can be combined with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

As part of 18 day trip to Canada we had 2 days in Toronto .Spent hours deciding on hotel and decided on Ritz , hoping the extra expense would be worth it . We were not disappointed , high floor with view of CN Tower , beautiful room , super beds , TV in bathroom mirror a novelty that was well used . Staff - exceptional , food - excellent , overall a joy . We will be back .

Room Tip: Lakeside view (CN Tower )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wikkerwurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 weeks on business. The standard deluxe rooms are very nice in themselves: gorgeous bathroom (with porcelain bathtub, separate shower, large mirror with svelte built-in and hidden TV and nice soaps); incredibly comfortable bed; and a view of either the CN tower facing south or the concert hall across the street facing north. My only criticism is that the lighting is rather dim and not ideal lighting for reviewing documents and working.

Room service is also very good. I personally would recommend the standard room service menu over ordering from Toca (which was yummy, but the portions are tiny).

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are all very good. Not sure if it's worth paying extra for south-facing view of CN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanBingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is in the heart of the business district and was a short walk to the blue jays game, the CN tower, and the lake. The staff went above and beyond to make certain our stay was positive. For example, our taxi driver left one of our bags at the airport and the hotel staff went to the airport and retrieved the bag for us. There was a buzz about the lobby during our stay as they were filming a tv show in the lounge during the day, but the lounge reopened every night and was not an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UDSL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Impressive lobby, outdoor bar, comfy beds, gorgeous bath, friendly service.
Lobby had special treats: coffee and muffins early in the morning, water and juices in the afternoon, candies, marshmallows and ice cream in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#11 of 137 in Toronto
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,552 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $413 - $797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing