We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable service and better than I expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
“Impeccable service and better than I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I live in the GTA and my wife and I decided to stay at the Ritz to treat ourselves just before Christmas. We were given an upgrade without even asking and there was a guest that had left his phone in a taxi and someone from the front desk had overheard the guest and promptly called the valet to intercept the taxi before it had departed with the phone inside. The taxi was about to leave and the phone was recovered and given to the guest. The room was great and absolutely spotless!!! My wife and I had went out for dinner and by the time we arrived back to the hotel, we received a wonderful chocolate cake for the two of us. They asked us what we were doing in the city and we told them it was our anniversary a little while ago. I did not expect that at all. When we retrieved our car from the valet, they had put bottles of water in the cupholders. Great touch. Everyone there was so attentive and friendly. Can't wait to go back. My wife and I were so pleased. Thank you to everyone that we dealt with personally.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shicosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    195
    53
    11
    14
See reviews for
283
477
56
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I live in Toronto, but decided to treat ourselves to an early Christmas celebration. The service we received from the hotel staff from the doorman to the front desk staff to the housekeeping, as well as the restaurant servers was exceptional and welcoming.
We stayed in the Deluxe room and loved the view of the city. The King-sized bed was so comfortable, it was like sleeping on a cloud. However, it's unfortunate that WIFI was not included in the room price (I think you had to pay around $10 extra for 24 hours).
We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant TOCA and the buffet selection was quite decent. Lots of fresh fruit, cheese and cold cuts, breads and pastries, plus some hot food choices. One minor thing was that when we had checked into the hotel, the front desk staff had told us our room package included breakfast, so we found it a little confusing when the server brought over the cheque when we had finished (he had asked us for our room number, so we assumed that there would be a note saying which rooms included breakfast). Anyway, we decided to wait until check-out to see if they would charge us for the breakfast, but everything was taken care of.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I visit Toronto several times per year and I must say that this is by far, the best hotel I have stayed in. All staff I encountered were friendly, courteous and pleasant. The room amenities truly felt luxurious from the heated flooring in the bathroom to the amazing view of Lake Ontario to the turn down service and chocolates. The overall appearance and cleanliness inside and out was impeccable. We opted to pay for the club lounge and discovered that the beverage and food selections were certainly a cut above average from what I have experienced at other hotels. Even the alcohol was included.
Just before I arrived at the hotel, my tire pressure light came on indicating the winter tires I just had installed required some air. I pulled in to the hotel and asked the valet where the closest service station was as I required air for my tire and he offered to take care of it! In fact, I was not charged extra for this service. This was a very unexpected surprise and most appreciated!! Thank you so much to all of the staff at the Ritz, I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Opt for Club Lounge. The food and beverages are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovepuntacana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The concierge in this hotel is the best I have come across ever (and I check-in at about 25 five star hotels every year). I had my luggage damaged when I landed in Toronto and had meetings starting early morning, hence could not get to buy another piece in time. The concierge was able to get someone to buy a duffell bag first thing in morning and it took me 5 mins to swing by, collect it and move on. And they did not even charge me for it. Very helpful I will stay here everytime in toronto, despite a high price tag. So worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hwm3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Got away for a weekend with spouse and left kids with sitter - just to set the scene. 1st things first, service was impeccable from the moment we arrived through to departure.

Upon check in we were upgraded to a corner deluxe suite on a high floor with a view of the city, it was just "done", no requests required. Christmas will be an incredible experience at the Ritz - gingerbread models of the city were in the lobby and they are hosting family tea parties up till Christmas (good reason to bring kids next time).

The spa is very chic, and great ambiance - salt water pool was very relaxing and nice couches to chill out in.

We dinned in the hotel at TOCA, and the service, meal, dessert and wine were wonderful - no reason to leave the hotel.

Everything from the front desk concierge service to our check out was 5 stars of service - what you save at any other Toronto hotel isn't worth the difference for what you will experience at a Ritz Carlton.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank justrelaxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had a great 2 night break here, the staff and service was great and wonderful rooms, the hotel is clean throughout and we will return if ever in the Toronto area in the future. The local restaurants within walking distance are great and ask the concierge who has a wealth of information. Breakfast service is good and everyone seems very friendly within this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed over the Grey Cup weekend - Nov.23-25 - in a one-bedroom corner suite. The suite boasts a separate sitting room with a pull-out Queen sofa bed. The hotel facilities are nice with a workout room and an indoor salt water swimming pool. Since it is only 1-year old, everything looks fresh and clean.

PRO:

* Service level is high. All staff are on the ball. Special mention to Preshit, Front Desk Agent, who was the only staff who greeted me by name every time.. Also, Niko at the front desk offered to sign me up for Ritz Carlton rewards card on checking out. Housekeepers very responsive.
* Value for money as I paid $520 weekend rate for the suite which was way cheaper than 4-Seasons. As comparison, Peninsula Tokyo charged $1,200/night for its suite.
* TOCA restaurant has nice food & service.

CON:

* Towels & bath robes are bit rough for a 5-star hotel, having gone thru' too many washes. The best are from 4-Seasons, Peninsula & Mandarin Oreintal.
* The ice bucket was not filled on both days.
* Water shower pressure is just OK. No rain shower.
* Location is not that convenient for leisure travellers as it is located on the fringes near CN Tower & Roy Thomson Hall.

CONCLUSION

Have not been a regular poster, but stayed at many top hotels. This was my second stay at a Ritz Carlton chain. My other stay was Ritz - South Beach, Miami.

Will definitely return. Ritz is a notch below 4-Seasons', Peninsula's and Mandarin Oriental's of the world. In Toronto, there are other new 5-star hotels such as Shangri-La and Trump.

Room Tip: One-bedroom suite faces CN Tower & the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing