We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars is not enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada (Downtown West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“5 stars is not enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent three nights nights at the RItz. My opinion is that this hotel is an excellent value on a global peer basis. If you are budget minded, or concerned about nickles and dimes, do not stay here. If you are value and service oriented this is a incredible deal.
My wife was not feeling so great during our stay. The hotel and Toca restaurant staff went above and beyond to ensure her comfort. As a result of not being able to finish her meal at dinner the restaurant staff prepared a fresh meal (not re-heated boxed leftovers) and delivered it to the room later that evening (who does that?). The next evening upon receiving room service they delivered chamomile tea and honey to her, unsolicited. These are only two examples of the fantastic service this group of hospitality processionals strive to deliver. This is a hotel that pays close attention to each guests need both verbalized and non-verbalized. ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!
Not only do they check all the boxes for a high standard of quality and service they strive to set a higher bar. Without question this is one of, if not the finest, hotels in North America.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CKB964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    164
    41
    10
    13
See reviews for
223
378
46
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. We've stayed in RC all over the world, and this is one of my favorites. The location is ideal, we walked to town easily and the baseball stadium. The staff is helpful, warm, and the food is delicious, nice pool area...this is by far the most elegant property in the area...it's a no brainer! Ask the bartender for an iced coffee, he shakes it in a martini canister!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a great time in corner room. Super swimming pool under CN tower and spa was enjoyable. Staff were great. Only minor criticisms are that wi-fi should be included in tariff and breakfasts, as with most other hotels, represent rather poor value. Good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlgcause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I had the great fortune to stay on the Club Level of the Ritz-Carlton Toronto last month. Previous to that stay, we had enjoyed our stays at several Ritz-Carltons on the East Coast. All the Ritz-Carltons are terrific, but the one in Toronto (which opened about a year and a half ago) is off the charts. The staff was efficient and helpful without being stuffy. Our room was beautiful; the spa was to die for; and the Club Level lounge was stunning. The attendants, who artfully displayed five servings of food each day, were wonderful. The food was of the sort we'd see in five-star restaurants, including treats such as foie gras, mussels and sushi. All the beverages, including alcoholic, were included at no charge. Overall, this was an incredible experience.

Room Tip: If you can, stay on the Club Level. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This Ritz-Carlton is an amazing hotel. The rooms are great, staff is so friendly (especially valet service), and the location is perfect. Only 10 minutes from all the shopping, not even 5 minutes from the CN Tower and Rogers Stadium. Pool was also fantastic. In the rooms the beds were comfy, bathrooms were great also. Never had the chance to experience the spa. Just a great stay and will come back!

Room Tip: Corner suites are set up in an odd way. There is a slide door for the bathroom and just a long hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Last weekend I was in Toronto and stayed at the Ritz for the first time with my husband and daughters. My first impression of the hotel was that it was obvious that much thought went into giving the hotel a Canadian look and feel - from the maple leafs imbedded into the floor in the lobby to the pieces of art work on display throughout the hotel. They even had "coffee table books" about Canadian subject matters. I appreciate walking into a hotel that makes me feel warm and comfortable from the start. An added bonus was that the staff were very friendly and very attentive. The rooms were comfortable and the workout room was very well equipped although I would have liked to have an attendant available as I needed some assistance with some of the machines (it was 9:00AM). I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovet2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a marvelous time here, using mileage points, we were able to stay in the Club level. If we were not here on business, I would have been happy to never even leave the lounge. Lovely staff, food and drinks. Felt like they were all our friends by the time we left. The spa was marvelous and the location was really terrific, you could walk to many interesting spots. The Sunday brunch was exceptional, if you are staying there on a Sunday, don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradisegrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Toronto
Delta Toronto
#6 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#9 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
The Fairmont Royal York
The Fairmont Royal York
#17 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing