We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three nights in Toronto” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Three nights in Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This place doesn't need additional advertising. I am on the 20th floor, Club Delux room with lake view and all the goodies included. Was a little dissapointed with their breakfast. Would expect something more exclusive for Ritz and Club Delux in particular. Not enough froots. When I assked for fried eggs instead of omlet, that was served as the part of breakfast buffey, waiter said I have to pay for it! Well, even hotels of that level have problems. The main one is desire to save money where not necessary.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMILO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    195
    53
    11
    14
See reviews for
283
477
56
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

DEQ, nice but ordinary...Joana great server, helpful. TOCA, good wild boar ragout, good wines, great steak...but again, nothing that special. Club level room great, wonderful amenities, drinks free. Well worth it for a special night(s).

Room Tip: Lakeview is nice, but not really ON lake, north of Gardiner looking past CN tower and condos...but C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is so friendly. My 10 year old son and I had the best stay. The staff was welcoming from the moment we arrived until we left. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel special. Great views of the CN Tower.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 234CMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Ritz Carlton is one of the best hotels in Toronto. The staff is professional, they understand service, the rooms are above average, and the hotel on par with other Ritz hotels.

Room Tip: Book a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mfsupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Ritz twice in the last few months and it is an amazing place. Rooms well appointed, spacious, and new. This hotel has amazing service!!! The food is also excellent.
Hosting a conference at the hotel is a pleasure! They seem to anticipate needs and do so many little extras.
Though I have not had time to properly enjoy the spa, it is lovely!!
Personal favourite parts of the room....great views and the TV in the bathroom mirror!
The staff we work with are extremely professional, kind and a true joy to work with.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms that look onto CN Tower are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
978 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you want a quick getaway and de-stress yourself, go to the Ritz Carlton Toronto Spa; a Clairns spa it has everything you need to relax. We went today for a massage and facial and both treatments were awesome. The lounge and change rooms were very clean and ultra modern.

This time we did not stay here overnight however just used the spa for day use. We have stayed here before and you can read my review on tripadvisor as it was spectacular.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great location for the theater, ballpark and CN Tower. Extreme congestion during rush hour though. The staff at the front desk and throughout the hotel were always friendly and polite. The concierge arranged dinner at a trendy restaurant in Yorkville, which we enjoyed very much. He was on the mark with what we had in mind. Car valet service was very prompt, and both times we requested our car, there were cold bottles of water in the cup holders. A nice touch.

The decor in the lobby and rooms is lovely. Light, modern and with some interesting touches. Our room was bright, comfortable and very clean, spacious enough (there were 3 of us in a suite) with a lot of good lighting. There was an espresso machine in the room. The fitness center was very nice, and open 24 hours.

I am rating this hotel 4 stars, because of one too many experiences that shouldn't occur when you are staying at a 5 star property. It took almost 45 minutes for our bags to be delivered to our room. Perhaps the slow elevator service was to blame. The pull-out bed was not prepared during turn down service on the first night, even though this was requested when we checked in. Housekeeping did not leave towels for us one day. There was no turn-down service one of the evenings, even after I spoke with housekeeping and told them (when they knocked on our door at 5:30 pm for turn down) that we would be leaving in an hour. Also, we were told that breakfast service begins at 6:30 am, which included a brunch option, but we noticed that they were not prepared at all for the brunch service at that hour. Breakfast menu portions were small and overpriced.

This hotel is 5 stars in many ways, but some of the service and attention to detail is lacking. However, even though our experience wasn't outstanding, we would consider staying here again, and hope for a better overall experience the next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasu826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott and Despegar.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing