We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz Carlton is a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Ritz Carlton is one of the best hotels in Toronto. The staff is professional, they understand service, the rooms are above average, and the hotel on par with other Ritz hotels.

Room Tip: Book a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mfsupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Ritz twice in the last few months and it is an amazing place. Rooms well appointed, spacious, and new. This hotel has amazing service!!! The food is also excellent.
Hosting a conference at the hotel is a pleasure! They seem to anticipate needs and do so many little extras.
Though I have not had time to properly enjoy the spa, it is lovely!!
Personal favourite parts of the room....great views and the TV in the bathroom mirror!
The staff we work with are extremely professional, kind and a true joy to work with.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms that look onto CN Tower are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you want a quick getaway and de-stress yourself, go to the Ritz Carlton Toronto Spa; a Clairns spa it has everything you need to relax. We went today for a massage and facial and both treatments were awesome. The lounge and change rooms were very clean and ultra modern.

This time we did not stay here overnight however just used the spa for day use. We have stayed here before and you can read my review on tripadvisor as it was spectacular.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great location for the theater, ballpark and CN Tower. Extreme congestion during rush hour though. The staff at the front desk and throughout the hotel were always friendly and polite. The concierge arranged dinner at a trendy restaurant in Yorkville, which we enjoyed very much. He was on the mark with what we had in mind. Car valet service was very prompt, and both times we requested our car, there were cold bottles of water in the cup holders. A nice touch.

The decor in the lobby and rooms is lovely. Light, modern and with some interesting touches. Our room was bright, comfortable and very clean, spacious enough (there were 3 of us in a suite) with a lot of good lighting. There was an espresso machine in the room. The fitness center was very nice, and open 24 hours.

I am rating this hotel 4 stars, because of one too many experiences that shouldn't occur when you are staying at a 5 star property. It took almost 45 minutes for our bags to be delivered to our room. Perhaps the slow elevator service was to blame. The pull-out bed was not prepared during turn down service on the first night, even though this was requested when we checked in. Housekeeping did not leave towels for us one day. There was no turn-down service one of the evenings, even after I spoke with housekeeping and told them (when they knocked on our door at 5:30 pm for turn down) that we would be leaving in an hour. Also, we were told that breakfast service begins at 6:30 am, which included a brunch option, but we noticed that they were not prepared at all for the brunch service at that hour. Breakfast menu portions were small and overpriced.

This hotel is 5 stars in many ways, but some of the service and attention to detail is lacking. However, even though our experience wasn't outstanding, we would consider staying here again, and hope for a better overall experience the next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasu826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

plusses - great design and physical plant, great views, great location - concierge full of local info (Willis) and accomodating

challenges - booking was for two separate couple leaving on diff days - but they kept connecting them together, tried to charge for breakfast and internet when it was supposed to be included, service at breakfast was slow - coffee not the best, maid service was slow (hotel was full) so could not check in til 330 and room was not celaned til 5 -

i think the challenges were somewhat unique - the billing problems were annoying - as was the erratic breakfast service

i would stay here again - the rooms and location were awsome

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dedon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ritz for 2 nights mid-week. The hotel was extremely busy due to a convention but that did not affect the good service we experienced. All staff we encountered was friendly and professional. The doormen and bell hop were very efficient. Check in and check out was quick and efficient.
We stayed in a corner suite and the room was excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable and the suite was well laid out. I appreciated the sliding door between the bedroom and study - allowing my boyfriend to work without disturbing me. The bathroom was beautiful with good amenities. I liked the Nespresso machine - but would have preferred a bigger assortment of coffees to pick from.
The hotel itself was very well done. Lots of original artwork, the decor was very tasteful.
We did not eat at the hotel but had drinks at the lounge. The service here was excellent.
Maid service was professional with turn down service every night.
We enjoyed our stay at Toronto's Ritz Carlton. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chloe4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had a terrific stay at the beautiful Ritz-Carlton Toronto. Check in was a little slow. We arrived on a Saturday and would have expected more that one person at the check in desk. Once we were served we were promptly checked in and off to our room. The room was absolutely gorgeous! Best bed I have ever slept in! Bathroom was stunning and huge. You can even watch tv in the washroom! It appears right in the middle of the mirror! Very cool!

Did not have dinner at the hotel but did spend some time in the lounge for drinks which was very nice. My only complaint about the hotel was not having free wi-fi which I find completely ridiculous for such a high end hotel. Hopefully in the future this will change. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdaj1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 135 in Toronto
1,316 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#8 of 135 in Toronto
2,187 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 135 in Toronto
764 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Family Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $458 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing