We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great customer service”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

beautiful hotel. great customer service. unfortunately there was some mould on some fruit we ordered in room service... clear sign that it was not washed properly. great view of the lake and CN tower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    217
    63
    17
    18
See reviews for
340
541
60
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Loved the hotel beds were awesome, room great location great staff outstanding!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank theMartys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were staying at the Ritz for the 2012 New Year's eve celebration. Our fancy getaway in town. We had a lake-view room which offered a fantastic view to the lake AND CN Tower. We took some lovely pictures of the CN Tower from our room. The room was very spacious, we were staying at the Deluxe Room with Queen bed. The bathroom is literally "to-die-for", lovely shower, heated floor, double sinks with tv in the mirror! The bathtub was a bit too small for two people. Nevertheless, the bedding was soft and luxurious. House-keeping service was speedy, I called for laundry service and staff arrived within ten minutes! But you could also find iron board and iron inside the room. Because we were staying on New Year's eve, the hotel mgmt was so thoughoutful that they sent us a bottle of champagne as gift with hand written note from the hotel mgmt! So sweet!!! We had dinner at the TOCA restaurant. The waitress was knowledgeable and very friendly. Restaurant mgmt also checked in with us during the course of dinner. The service was attentive and first class. The food was heavenly! We tried the "B.C. Dungeness Crab Marrow" and we had a hard time put down the fork! At night, there was a dance floor set up at the lobby, all hotel guests were welcome, free to join. There was also a pay as you go bar. The atmosphere was cool, but not over crowded. The service at front desk was friendly and welcoming. We had a very good time staying and look forward returning.

Room Tip: Lakeview with floor level 10 and up would be good. Overall, the view is pretty open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackfriday1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed in a club room recently. The service was impeccable. From the moment we were greeted by the Doormen and then whisked by the staff up to the club lounge for personalized checkin we immediately felt we were home. The club lounge has a beautiful view of CN Tower, Skydome, and the Lake. We loved our Lake view room which was large, bright, and so comfortable. Loved soaking in the tub while watching the TV embedded in the bathroom mirror! We also enjoyed the the 2 bars in the hotel (Deq and Toca). This will definitely be a hotel we will return to each time we visit Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Unlike the regimented niceties of most luxury hotels or the too-eager-to-please submissiveness at boutique hotels, this place was an incredible experience of outstanding customer service without any pretense or excessive subservience.

When I checked in, the lady at the reception desk was refreshingly chatty and animated when she could have been warm and welcoming in the predictably rehearsed way. The guy who brought my dinner in the room picked up on the classical music I was playing and knew the composer was Romanian - impressive.

Yes, there is a TV in the bathroom mirror which is either cool or lame depending on who you ask. And yes, the room is primped to max, stocked with Bose speakers, large TVs and everything one could possibly need while staying. The bed is sinfully cozy and inviting.

But all of these are capital expenditures which shouldn't by itself define a hotel's experience. I was won over by their efficient, friendly and instinctive customer service.

p.s. At one time, I just walked in and told them I'd like to take City Tour in those red buses - I didn't want to wait for the next bus schedule. They called the service and had them wait for me. I then walked across the block - to find a bus full of tourist waiting just for me :)

Room Tip: In a concrete jungle like downtown Toronto, all windows open towards other building. It doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mukul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The club level here is worth it !! You should really consider the upgrade. Full breakfast, sandwiches/soup/salads for lunch, and interesting appetizers/cheese/snacks/dessert in the afternoon/evening. And complimentary drinks. The staff is great. We ate just about every meal up here and enjoyed the amazing Lake Ontario views. Amazing capuccino/expresso machine. The pastry chef at this hotel really rocks. Some of the best desserts/breakfast pastries we've had including the consistently great chocolate chip cookies. Nice wine and beer selection as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nycnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

First time staying at a Ritz Carlton, and I was impressed. Great pool and gym, with clean and functional changeroom facilities. Room was great - comfortable bed, nice washroom (the TV in the mirror was cool), and overall high quality decor.

I experienced a very minor customer service issue, and what impressed me most was how the property handled it, immediately apologizing, offering compensation (which I refused as the issue was that trivial), and making sure they made it right.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 137 in Toronto
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,263 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing