We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location & great service”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary in Toronto (interests were Niagara Falls, Redskins vs Bills game, checking out a new city) and stayed three nights at the Ritz. We were well treated by all the staff (check in, doormen, spa, bartenders, restaurant staff at TOCA and DEQ, room service) and loved our view of the lake and CN Center. The location allowed jogs along the lake, easy access to the CN Tower, Rogers Centre, and several local quality restaurants/bars. However, Julianna, who works in the DEQ as a bartender was our favorite. She made sure our anniversary was celebrated with style. As great as the service was, it is solely because of her I made sure to write this post about this wonderful weekend. Thanks Julianna!

Room Tip: Face the lack
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClarkGFVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    213
    60
    16
    17
See reviews for
327
528
60
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed there overnight. Best Hotel in TO. Club level great, as was the restaurant and bar downstairs. Ask for a maple bacon snack at the bar, or a tour of the cheese room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callabuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I echo other reviewers that this may be the best hotel I have ever stayed at, though I tend to stay at the chain hotels for busienss travelers. Stayed here while at a convention and had a great corporate rate.

The furnishings, the toiletries, the bedding, decor were all top notch. Nice luxury features like a heated floor for the bathroom which is on an electronic timer, not a noisy dial type. The bathroom featured a nice walk in shower and a sopaker tub. There was also a twin vanity. My favorite thing was where the television could be watched 'within' the bathroom mirror, like a ghost image, complete with its own remote control.

The hotel was near the Air Canada Center (a few blocks), the CN Tower, the Rogers Center and a block from the Convention Center

The only negative for me, was the charge for Internet access.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Enjoyed this outdoor oasis during the Film Festival. They a DJ spinning 80's music. The place is filled with comfortable couches, outdoor electric lamps and even blanket are provided.
This is an excellent place for friends to get together and share a bottle of wine and small appetizers. Defiinitely looking forward to going back in the Spring/Summer next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Do not hesitate if you like great service, old fashion stylish comfort (but very modern equipments like the famous portion of the bathroom mirror turning into a fully functionnal TV screen), nice view on the water and of course, high prices coming with the Ritz brand. For younger people or people looking for something more trendy like some boutique hotels this is probably a bit too stuffy but other than that, I must admit that it is difficult to critisize this brand new hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PourJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Rating:
They got a 5 last time, and they get a 5 this time too. Easily! The staff are beyond wonderful, the room very comfortable, spacious and decorated in a tasteful sense.

Location:
Right smack in the middle of the business, entertainment and sports district

Hotel:
A newly developed property. Not too large. And one important detail, it´s a more contemporary and sleek R-C that what we normally experience which was so refreshing!

Check-in:
Very pleasant, friendly, smooth and quick. All of the Front Desk staff are a joy to deal with

Room:
We had 1204 which is a corner suite (same room type as last time), overlooking the city. And it just checks every box for me. We unfortunately had to move rooms (smooth process though) and ended up in 2005 which is the same type of room, but overlooking the CN-tower and the water. Must say that it´s a bit more quiet traffic wise.

Pro´s:
Very large
Great storage space for both clothes, suitcases and in the bathroom
Separate shower/bath
Underfloor heating in bathroom
Excellent layout
Guest bathroom
Possible to adjust the temp individually in between the 2 rooms
Tastefully decorated
Quiet
Husband loved the TV in the mirror in the bathroom

Con´s:
There is definitely space, so why is there not even a hook to hang ones coat on etc in the hallway?
Bedlinen could be nicer ie softer
Light in bathroom is not great for make-up purposes
The amenities are "just" R-C own range
The minibar in the fridge is not cold at the top (all 3 that i have encountered at least) so the beverages on top are actually warm

Staff:
They really are what makes this hotel so top-notch! Every single one of them are so service minded, smiley and helpful in that "just so" personable manner which makes you feel seen as an individual guest and not just another person drifting through leaving your money behind

Service:
See above

Food:
* In room dining arrived fast and tastefully decorated. But we had ordered burgers rare and they arrived well done. Not so good.

* Toca is a wonderful restaurant!!! Nice to look at and the food is fabulous!!! Also, the childrens menu is on an Iphone so after figuring out what the child in question should eat they can entertain themselves with some games. Nice touch :)

* The meals on the club level is a quiet and very pleasant experience. And some nice choices despite a small selection.

Internet:
Fast and wireless, but not free. Too bad.

Spa:
Very spacious, calm and classy. My therapist was a pleasure to deal with. BUT, had asked for a regular bikiniwax though, and ended up with a French one before i knew it...Very annoying.

Little details that make a world of difference:
* Our little daughter spotted all the pumpkins down in the lobby (it was Halloweeen after all) and she just loved them and wanted to buy one. The FD staff over heard that and when we got up to the room there was a bag there with a lovely card and a little pumpkin inside. That really made her, and subsequently our, stay super nice!!! So thank you Brooke :)

* Also, Tom Brodi the chef of Toca spotted our daughter in the restaurant one night and asked if she wanted to come see something really cool. Of course we all trotted off towards the kitchen where he procedeed to whip up some fresh cotton candy for her. Score!!!

All this just to say that the people that work at the R-C really cares which just takes ones stay to a whole different level!

Room Tip: * Request a room facing the water and the CN-tower. It´s quiter and a lovelier view * Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Toronto over the Canadian Thanksgiving (who knew?) weekend in October. It was everything that I could expect from a luxury hotel. Fabulous, comfortable, and quiet rooms. Spectacular facilities, including the best on-site Fitness Center of any hotel that I have visited. The hotel also features a very nice bar/restaurant by the name of Deq, a quiet oasis from the hustle and bustle of Toronto. All of this, combined with a great location and a very capable staff, makes for a great weekend in the city. The only negative is the $9.99 fee per day for wireless. Guest to hotel management - Is it really worth ripping off your guests and continually being hammered in online reviews by charging for this service???

Room Tip: Ask for views of Lake Ontario.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeauslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,139 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing