We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely not trendy, but top quality all over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Surely not trendy, but top quality all over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Do not hesitate if you like great service, old fashion stylish comfort (but very modern equipments like the famous portion of the bathroom mirror turning into a fully functionnal TV screen), nice view on the water and of course, high prices coming with the Ritz brand. For younger people or people looking for something more trendy like some boutique hotels this is probably a bit too stuffy but other than that, I must admit that it is difficult to critisize this brand new hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PourJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    198
    53
    12
    14
See reviews for
289
483
58
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Rating:
They got a 5 last time, and they get a 5 this time too. Easily! The staff are beyond wonderful, the room very comfortable, spacious and decorated in a tasteful sense.

Location:
Right smack in the middle of the business, entertainment and sports district

Hotel:
A newly developed property. Not too large. And one important detail, it´s a more contemporary and sleek R-C that what we normally experience which was so refreshing!

Check-in:
Very pleasant, friendly, smooth and quick. All of the Front Desk staff are a joy to deal with

Room:
We had 1204 which is a corner suite (same room type as last time), overlooking the city. And it just checks every box for me. We unfortunately had to move rooms (smooth process though) and ended up in 2005 which is the same type of room, but overlooking the CN-tower and the water. Must say that it´s a bit more quiet traffic wise.

Pro´s:
Very large
Great storage space for both clothes, suitcases and in the bathroom
Separate shower/bath
Underfloor heating in bathroom
Excellent layout
Guest bathroom
Possible to adjust the temp individually in between the 2 rooms
Tastefully decorated
Quiet
Husband loved the TV in the mirror in the bathroom

Con´s:
There is definitely space, so why is there not even a hook to hang ones coat on etc in the hallway?
Bedlinen could be nicer ie softer
Light in bathroom is not great for make-up purposes
The amenities are "just" R-C own range
The minibar in the fridge is not cold at the top (all 3 that i have encountered at least) so the beverages on top are actually warm

Staff:
They really are what makes this hotel so top-notch! Every single one of them are so service minded, smiley and helpful in that "just so" personable manner which makes you feel seen as an individual guest and not just another person drifting through leaving your money behind

Service:
See above

Food:
* In room dining arrived fast and tastefully decorated. But we had ordered burgers rare and they arrived well done. Not so good.

* Toca is a wonderful restaurant!!! Nice to look at and the food is fabulous!!! Also, the childrens menu is on an Iphone so after figuring out what the child in question should eat they can entertain themselves with some games. Nice touch :)

* The meals on the club level is a quiet and very pleasant experience. And some nice choices despite a small selection.

Internet:
Fast and wireless, but not free. Too bad.

Spa:
Very spacious, calm and classy. My therapist was a pleasure to deal with. BUT, had asked for a regular bikiniwax though, and ended up with a French one before i knew it...Very annoying.

Little details that make a world of difference:
* Our little daughter spotted all the pumpkins down in the lobby (it was Halloweeen after all) and she just loved them and wanted to buy one. The FD staff over heard that and when we got up to the room there was a bag there with a lovely card and a little pumpkin inside. That really made her, and subsequently our, stay super nice!!! So thank you Brooke :)

* Also, Tom Brodi the chef of Toca spotted our daughter in the restaurant one night and asked if she wanted to come see something really cool. Of course we all trotted off towards the kitchen where he procedeed to whip up some fresh cotton candy for her. Score!!!

All this just to say that the people that work at the R-C really cares which just takes ones stay to a whole different level!

Room Tip: * Request a room facing the water and the CN-tower. It´s quiter and a lovelier view * Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Toronto over the Canadian Thanksgiving (who knew?) weekend in October. It was everything that I could expect from a luxury hotel. Fabulous, comfortable, and quiet rooms. Spectacular facilities, including the best on-site Fitness Center of any hotel that I have visited. The hotel also features a very nice bar/restaurant by the name of Deq, a quiet oasis from the hustle and bustle of Toronto. All of this, combined with a great location and a very capable staff, makes for a great weekend in the city. The only negative is the $9.99 fee per day for wireless. Guest to hotel management - Is it really worth ripping off your guests and continually being hammered in online reviews by charging for this service???

Room Tip: Ask for views of Lake Ontario.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeauslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Thought i'd share my first stay at the Ritz in Toronto. My Sunday evening began checking into the Fairmont Royal York on a Gold Floor suite as a Plat. member. What I saw was horrendous. My fiancee had this look on her face that she was disgusted. Moldy showers, noisy Air Conditioning (Rattly) and get this, boarded windows. Suffice it to say that even though this stay was prepaid, we promptly got our money back after I had some interesting words with their gold floor manager. We quickly booked a room at the Ritz and everyone, absolutely everyone, went above and beyond their duty. From the highly attentive and friendly doorman to the people who checked me in, even the manager who printed close to 750 pages that I needed in an emergency and stapled everything....what a great 3 days. I even enjoyed the bar to drown my stress on a Monday evening. All in all, thank you to the staff at the Ritz in Toronto!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed for a weekend with my husband to get away. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The room was very business like. It was nice but not over the top. Little things that I've experienced at other Ritz's were missing like slippers in the room or fancy toiletries. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, but just not luxurious. The shower was small. There was a television in the mirror of the bath which was very futuristic. The location is close to theaters, but not too much else. The gym was nicely equipped. I would agree with p8patyger, in the review above. The breakfast was extensive but nothing special.
Probably would not rush to come back next time i am in Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docsbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is a modern hotel not quite a year old. From the outside, the architecture is nothing special. The lobby and check in area are quite ordinary. The room has the latest amenities: HD TV, Bose IPod player/clock radio. Lots of pillows but all of them soft. I'd have expected extra touches like slippers, an extra blanket. The dimmer switches for the bathroom are way too complicated. Someone waking up in the middle of the night would not want to struggle to get the right brightness, they just want to turn on the light. I wonder how many guests find the TV on the shower door useful, or would admit to it. The food I ate was buffet style type fare served for conference attendees so perhaps it is unfair to compare with a meal at the sit down restaurant. The service was polite but I've seen a higher level of service at other 4 or 5 star hotels. The place just doesn't have the wow factor that a Ritz Carlton led me to have. I did not see the spa and the other facilities which I'm sure are top notch. Overall not an impressive hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p8patyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

As we live in Toronto, we went to Ritz-Carlton Toronto for a spa getaway. Our experience at spa was excellent and we booked another spa day next month. Staff at Spa was very professional as staff at other Ritz-Carlton hotels. Since the faciliites are only 6 months old, they are very modern and highly recommended. After having such woderful experiences at Spa, we expected dinning would also be superb. TOCA was closed so we went to DEQ for lunch. What a terrible service and low quality of food. My wife's flat bread with chicken was half burnt and took forever to get food and a bill. My sandwich... not very good. Next time, after spa, I will go to Royal York for dining instead (or skip lunch and eat at home) I will never eat again at Ritz-Carlton, especially at DEQ. Creppy food. Even McDonald has a better quality control. I expected more for a $28 sandwich and $22 flat bred with fries and soup.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing