We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Visited Toronto for the first time with my family a couple of weeks ago and had the opportunity to stay for 3 nights at this beautiful property. The staff were attentive and courteous, the food and drinks at DEQ were delicious, and our meal at TOCA was one of the best I can remember both for the food and the service that Zak provided. Wish I could live here. Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamrock2624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,550 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

I know you expect the best at ritz Carlton, but have to say this new, more modern example of the brands hotels is the best yet. Service is exemplary, rooms have great touches like the in mirror televisions. Lounge is well worth the extra cost. Huge gym. Terrace at back of hotel with views of CN tower. You cannot be anything other than impressed with the whole experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autobiography88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great hotel, service was super.
All the extras you could want or think of. Wine glasses (red and white), champagne flutes, martini glasses all in the room. Expresso maker, full bar, safe, mini fridge, Bose docking station, personal reading lights.

Location is amazing. Walking distance to restaurants, night life, theatre district and shopping.

Looking forward to staying there again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindolaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I have stayed here over 20 times since it opened in March 2011, a testament primarily to the gorgeous bathrooms and gracious staff. That being said, there are problems that should be addressed by management:
- inconsistent room service. Poor selection, overpriced, but worst of all, each time I order the same thing, the quality and quantity vary. For example, sometimes they forget the bread that comes with a salad, and it is often stale. A small dinner salad with five shrimp and cookies for dessert cost $58.00.
- no traveler friendly restaurant in the hotel
- inconsistent housekeeping. I have at different times found the sewing kit and mouthwash missing. Food in the mini bar is not refreshed. I called for hypoallergenic pillows and the next day housekeeping removed them, so I had to call again. Worst of all, they washed out the soiled coffee cups in the bathroom sink and replaced them (long story behind this, but I could tell).
- this is an expensive hotel, and yet they charge almost $10 a day for internet service. It is supposed to be free in the lobby, but I find it hardly ever works.

The pros:
-spacious bathroom, wonderful tub, TV in the mirror
- comfortable bed with plenty of pillows
- large screen TV

The views out of the windows on the opposite side of Wellington West are the best.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake and the CN Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimmie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Good size bathrooms with high quality fittings (I liked the TV embedded within the mirror). The hotel is very new and seems to lack much atmosphere - we had a drink at the sushi bar which had a "shopping mall" feel rather than a 5 Star hotel. Did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurants. Tried to order room service breakfast before I left for the airport was told it would be "at least half an hour" (for museli and coffee?!) so abandoned the idea and ate at the airport instead. I understand that there will be a Shangri-La opening in Toronto next year and so there will be more competition at this level for the RC. Price we paid via our corporate rate seemed high.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDH1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

From the moment you step foot in this hote, you know you are in for a treat. Best service ever from valet to concierge level. We had the concierge level room and Scott check us in not missing any single details. Room was great, clean, awesome tv on bathroom behind the mirrow. Great views of Toronto.
Maria, Monica, Enrique were great and very helpful at the Club Level.Bar had a mixologist who prepared the most exotic drinks ever!
Toca restaurant was excellent. They brought i phones for the kids, to play and check their menu. Food was fantastic. We got a tour to the kitchen and cheese cellar. I had the cod fish which was incredible, my friend had the venison, all the food was great.
This hotel was the highlight of our trip. Love it!!!!!!
The only negative was our cleaning lady cleaning our room while I was taking a shower.
Just say no.
Also parking was overpriced. A suggestion for club level is to leave of the wine both white and red outside for guest use.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltorres93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at the Ritz in Toronto for 3 nights in June and the whole experience was just perfect from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. The rooms are fully souped up with all amenities; also the rooms and the bathroom are very large. The restaurant has great food too, and the breakfast was probably the best we ate in Canada
The only slight drawback is the location which is a little bit for business, none the less a great hotel, I will definitely stay here when I visit next.

Room Tip: Request for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,770 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 138 in Toronto
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Family Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $398 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing