We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Toronto!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection in Toronto!”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed 1 night at the Ritz-Carlton. Bravo--they have just raised the bar in the city! Upon entering, the lobby is stunningly gorgeous...lots of fabulous touches such as bronze maple leaves embedded in the marble floor, beautiful furniture, interesting light fixtures by Canadian artsist, beautiful bar & artwork abound. A very classy feel. Check-in was absolutely smooth and the room was immaculate with a great view facing the CN Tower and Lake Ontario. Stunning bathroom with deep bath, separate shower, heated marble floors and tv in mirror. It is worth the upgrade to the Club Level as the lounge is very inviting and is very well serviced. A special shout-out to Hamut, excellent Concierge and John also. Pool area is bright and new and warm and the Spa is divine. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    213
    60
    16
    17
See reviews for
327
528
60
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This hotel is beautiful. I disagree with the earlier reviewer that says this is like a mid American Holiday Inn (I have been to many of those and it is not like that at all). I thought it had some interesting details (maple leafs in the marble floor), beautiful wood, and interesting lighting. The location was great - easy access to the theatre district, to shopping, and it was right on the PATH system.

We had a lovely room with a view of the CN tower and Toronto Island. I really liked the bed but husband's side seemed to be slanted (more well used than he would have expected). The bathroom with the heated floor, big shower, double sinks was fantastic and I really liked the Blue Vision TV in the mirror.

The hotel provided complimentary drinks and snack for a welcome gift because my husband had told them it was my birthday and there was a turn down service which was a nice touch.

The breakfast in TOCA was good although the coffee was weak. We had dinner at TOCA as well and it was good but not great. And we had a snack and some drinks at the TOCA bar which was very good. The service over all was good not great because they still seemed to be learning. It was nothing of great concern but you could see there were still a few kinks to be worked out.

Valet parking and breakfast were included in our package.

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It has just displace the Royal York as my husband's favourite hotel in Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimosabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Luxuary at it’s finest in Toronto; as a frequent traveller I am elated to finally stay at a Hotel that really hits the mark in this city, The Ritz Carlton never falls to impress.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelKay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Surprisinly ordinary looking -- like something that would have been considered fresh and interesting in the 1970s. Poorly designed, cheaply executed, forgettable finishings -- it's shocking how widely the designers missed the mark with $500 million. I expected Ritz to have the old school glamour of Royal York, the attention to quality detail of a St. Germain, the vibrancy of the Thompson ... instead it looked like a Holiday Inn at a sub-standard middle American city. Unbelievable how removed from this century and hospitality industry the managers, investors and designers of the Rtitz appear. Oh, and the poor staff seem to have zero training as they fumble around nervously and cluess.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ZoeyCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Took my wife to the Ritz for a "weekend in the city" for our anniversary. Spent the extra money for the Club-Level and it was worth every penny. My wife loved the TV in the bathroom mirror, it was tough to get her out of the tub.
Staff is by far the most professional I have dealt with in Toronto. They had only been open for 5 days but you never would have known. DEQ lounge was a great way to wind down at the end of the night. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CC123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,015 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have been long awaiting the opening of the first Ritz Carlton in Toronto and finally it's here making this hotel the very finest in first class accomodations in Toronto. I stayed here with my wife and two children for the long weekend and it was simply memorable from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. Service is top-notch as what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton Hotel Chain. The swimming pool was perfect for everyone; kids and adults alike. My wife loved the spa facilities and services. The TOCA restaurant and the DEQ Bar and Lounge were great. Great atmosphere and awesome food choices and quality. We have already booked our next stay for the Easter Weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,139 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Address: 181 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#5 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing