We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outraged”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“outraged”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Booked this hotel for the raptors game on the phone, requested side line seat. Later during the date of check in I had realized my visa was maxed out because staff had booked courtside side tickets. A 500$ extra expense for and my spouse. Staff blamed me, took no responsibility for the transaction. manager accommodated us with a suite, which was nice but did not make up for the 500$ extra we had to pay for tickets. Breakfast should not even be included in the package, as it is nothing more than fruits and cold ham and cheese. BE VERY CAUTIOUS in booking a room for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jess p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Jess P,

I am very concerned about the frustration you have expressed regarding the service you received. During the multiple telephone conversations with you prior to your arrival, we truly tried to be clear and specific about deposit options of cash or credit card and the amounts. Once you stated that you were ready to make the reservation, we confirmed the amount verbally as well as in the e-mail confirmation that was sent to you on the day of the reservation.

We hope that despite this confusion, we were able to enjoy the game and your night’s stay with us.

Best regards,

Paul de La Durantaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    177
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
198
460
45
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after reading a comment on trip advisor, and so glad we did. Great room, great service, loved the bedding. Dan the valet was so helpful, he even took our luggage with us to the train station. He walked us over to the station, took our luggage in for us, and directed us. We will definitely stay here again. We really enjoyed our visit. We wish it could have been longer. The staff went way above and beyond great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Le Germain MLG the night of a Maple Leafs Game. Beautiful clean hotel. Amazing lobby. Secured elevators. Very modern rooms. We stayed in a Superior room with King bed. Lots of room. Very cool open concept bathroom. The shower is a glass walk-in in the middle of the room. There were blinds you could adjust on the shower walls for privacy.
We had a view of the CN Tower.
The hotel is connected to a mall connected to the Air Canada Centre by an enclosed walk way (no need to go outside in the freezing temperatures). There is also a grocery store and LCBO in the mall attached to the hotel. Very convenient.
We walked to the entertainment district; easy 10-15 minute walk.
We ate dinner in the hotel lobby bar/restaurant. Pricey but excellent food. Tried the bison sliders and pulled pork sandwich. Great people watching from the restaurants front window. Expensive mixed drinks $10.
Our room price included a continental breakfast on the second floor mezzanine. Nice selection of granola, yoghurt, fruit, breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cold meat and cheese.
The hotel was a bit noisy at night due to people partying down the hall. Made use of the complimentary ear plugs...hockey fans can get quite rowdy. We did call the front desk to complain about the noise twice, not sure if anything was done.
Parked underground, I think it cost $25 a day, valet was $40.
Overall, we loved the hotel and would not hesitate to book there again when attending an event at the Air Canada Centre.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdeChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I booked this because of the rave reviews but it just wasn't my sort of place. The staff were good but the place had a sterile, over styled appearance. The room had a bizarre semi naked photo of a man over the bed and irritatingly the light controls and sockets were only on one side of the bed.
Breakfast was disappointing, there were no hot options, everything was laid out buffet style and all looked a bit tired at ten o'clock when I came down. Having said that the waiting staff were pleasant, but the dining room was austere and looked like a works canteen. Similarly the bar area on the ground floor was cramped so we ended up going up to our room as there weren't any other public areas to sit in.
I slept reasonably well but there was quite a lot of traffic noise, also we arrived when a game was on at the adjacent stadium meaning we had difficulty getting to park outside so that we could offload our bags.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel, there are definitely better choices available.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank okeydokey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear okeydokey123,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. While I’m disappointed that we weren’t your sort of place, I am happy that you were able to connect with our team. We understand that our aesthetic can’t resonate with everyone’s tastes; however, we truly believe that caring, attentive service is universal.

Play Lounge has certainly become a “go to” spot for pre- and post-game visitors. Our in-house guests are always welcome to enjoy a drink in the MVP Zone on our second floor. The space is dedicated to our guests as a comfortable alternative to sitting in their rooms.

Okeydokey123, your feedback is very valuable to us, so thank you for providing it.

Regards,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Years since I'd visited Toronto wow it's changed around down by the CN Tower. This hotel right next to Union Station and sport arenas so can be busy at night when the crowds empty out. OK what about the hotel, well the staff were good and attentive but in my opinion let down by the interior design. Although the room size was good and the bed comfortable dominating the room and filling the wall over the bed was a black & white pic of a guy doing a sit-up. By the protruding veins on his leg this was not even an attractive guy. My wife and I just didn't understand this neither the waste of space in the bathroom area. The one w.c. could have so easily been accessed from the corridor to the bedroom exit rather than within the bathing area. We've been married 27 years and so translucent glass and a door that doesn't seal out any 'smells' we can live with but we don't at home and so why should we in an hotel? There was much where the designer had been given 'their head'. I'd like to take the designer around that hotel and put some sense into it. It just wasn't comfortable to sit in the lounge bar so we took our drinks to our room. We will certainly not book again for which I apologise to the staff.

Room Tip: Go to the Fairmont Royal York a block across.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank percy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear percy,

I appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay at the hotel.

Viewing art can be a galvanizing experience. While I’m sorry that our photography didn’t appeal to you, we are always happy when people talk about it.

To be fair to our designers, they did incorporate a more traditional bathroom layout into some rooms at the hotel. We take guest requests seriously, and will always do our best to find the ideal fit for everyone. To our TripAdvisee guests: please do not hesitate to discuss your needs with us. Once we know what you love, we’ll take care of the details.

Percy, we are happy whenever someone finds their perfect hotel – even if it’s not ours! Thank you for trying something new.

Regards,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was here for business and Le Germain was amazing. The best part of the stay was the amazingly comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and it is truly difficult to beat the location. The room was very modern and I intend on staying here for all future business trips. My only wish is that there is a swimming pool, but obviously not a deal-breaker.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NainTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear NainTrain,

We look forward to seeing you whenever business brings you this way. Susan and Gregory, our phenomenal concierges, can help you find a pool when you feel the need to swim. Please feel free to see them next time you’re here. You can also reach out to them prior to your stay at concierge@germainmapleleafsquare.com. As many of you know, they love to help.

I will look forward to meeting you during a future visit.

Regards,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selestat, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

When you stay un a germain hotel you Will always be satisfied ! Everything is just above your expectations, it s just perfect ! Staff rooms, service...the only point Will be the breakfest which meet not the quality standard of germain! There is no service and the quality of the food and coffee doesn t réflect the Level of That place! A spécial thanks To the front manager who is a great person who Knows what means the word service!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dominique s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Bonjour dominique s,

Nous apprécions vos commentaires!

I am very pleased that you were so satisfied with your experience, and thank you for the constructive comment. Specific feedback about our service is invaluable because it allows us to focus our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more great stays.

A bientôt,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square

Property: Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Address: 75 Bremner Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M5J 0A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto's Second Le Germain HôtelGroupe Germain is reasserting itself in Toronto with Hôtel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square. Integrated into the complex for which it is named, this 167-room boutique-hotel is one element in a real estate development that combines condominiums, offices, retail shops and restaurants.Hotspot for Sports and EntertainmentLocated just steps from the Air Canada Centre, home to the Toronto Maple Leafs (hockey) and the Raptors (basketball), and venue for Toronto's hottest events and shows, the hotel is at the heart of it all.Quiet Oasis in a Buzzing NeighbourhoodAlthough the hotel is immersed in the city's vibrant core, it remains loyal to Groupe Germain's philosophy, which is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. Each Germain property strives to achieve the same goal: to offer a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where personalized, yet discreet service is of the utmost importance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing