We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, just not for our family with 12 yr old son”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Atherton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, just not for our family with 12 yr old son”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel. Furthermore, the service is wonderful, and once we tried to book in and discovered that it's totally not for us, the gentlemen at the front desk not only helped us find another hotel (showing me the web page on their monitor), but released us fully from our prepaid reservation.

From the name of the hotel and the TripAdvisor reviews we pictured some sort of modernized version of a classic Grande Dame hotel. I think it was the French name! However, we discovered that the hotel is a sleek, shiny new boutique hotel, fraught with stainless steel and black leather. The room are stunningly appointed. But the see-through shower in the middle of the room, the copious use of glass, and the total lack of enough room for a roll-away, made this hotel seem WAY more like a rendezvous spot for hot sex than a place to take our 12 year old son in a stop on our way to summer camp.

There is a somewhat "hot" bar off of the front door. Very classy. Beautiful young girls with sky-high heels and tight dresses. Looks like a great date spot. Again, 15 years ago for us. That's not what we wanted.

And the final thing. This hotel is located halfway between two humongous sports locations. We, er, don't do sports. It's on a street that is totally empty after 6 pm, in what looks like a bit of a financial district, with sports trappings. We were looking for a hotel that was more gentle, with a park nearby, and with a large lobby area where our child could hang out and have a coke or something.

I do not think that this hotel is poor, but for OUR PURPOSES it would have been a very poor introduction to Toronto. I put the one star on this to draw attention of other families, like my own. But I want to reiterate that it looks like a totally awesome place, especially if you love sports, are in finance, are in your twenties or thirties, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momwhotravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear momwhotravels2013,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We want each traveller who visits us to be 100% enamoured with their stay. We are proud that our style and design are distinctive, yet recognize that not everyone will connect with our aesthetic.

Our location is indeed ideal for people who travel to the city for an event at the ACC or Rogers Centre; and in addition to that, Lake Ontario lies just a short walk to the south of us, with parks, boat tours, sailing, kayaking, canoeing, beaches and many other family-friendly activities. Our concierge team is happy to point our guests in the right direction.

Our guests also have access to the MVP lounge on the second floor of the hotel. With comfy seating, complimentary hot drinks and wi-fi, it acts as an oasis of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of the area.

Despite our mismatch, I am glad that our front desk team was able to find you a hotel that better suited your personal preference. We are ambassadors of our wonderful city, and are committed to doing what it takes to ensure that every visitor has a fantastic time here.

I hope your son had a wonderful time at camp.

Happy travels,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    176
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
198
458
45
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlewood, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Toronto with our granddaughter to celebrate her 12th birthday with a Justin Bieber concert on the 25th. We stayed 2 nights/2days (July24th & 25th) and could not have asked for our stay to have been any better! From reservation to check-out we experienced "perfection". Even the weather was perfect, and although Susan (concierge) is number one....we'll give God credit for the beautiful blue skies. Location of hotel was excellent for concert venue at Air Canada Centre (within steps to entrance), and was within walking distance to the CN Tower and other areas. Susan went out of her way to make our trip special...our request to have a "Justin Bieber" birthday cake with balloons ready and delivered as a surprise while out on our second day's stay, made our granddaughter's day even better....it ended with the concert! We also, already had our reservation for the Hop-on/Hop-off Bus Tour ready and available at our arrival, so we were able to use all our time wisely since check-in to room was later that day. We stayed in one of the 1-Bedroom Suites and loved everything about it. As far as the price, I am by hotels as I am by meals, if I get what I pay for...I'm OK...we were definitely OK! Should we be traveling to Toronto in the future, our hotel is already decided....Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square. OUR THANKS TO THE HOTEL GERMAIN, THE BUSH FAMILY

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Terri B,

I suppose it’s only fair that we can’t give Susan credit for the perfect weather, since we aren’t blaming her for the crazy rain storms we had earlier in the month. Nevertheless, I wholeheartedly agree that if anyone learns how to move mountains, it will be Susan.

You are very welcome, from the entire team. We love Toronto in the summertime, and are happy to share our exciting city with visitors and locals alike.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Toronto.

Best,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stylish, modern, lovely rooms, great service and good food. My favorite hotel in Toronto. Very well situated for downtown and the city airport. Highly recommend it for business or personal trips. Every stay has been a good one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriscoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

They exceeded expectations. All staff, from the concierge, front desk, valets, room staff, even the maintenance guys really are that helpful and pleasant. Stayed three nights and enjoyed every minute. There are cheaper prices but overall I felt it was good value. I am disabled (use a scooter), travel alone and the layout of the rooms, facilities and staff services made for easy access and special requests being met. I came in to Toronto via train and even with the construction at Union Station I was off the train and checked into my room within thirty minutes! I am looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace are great for entertaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Greg S,

I have a family member who is in a wheelchair, and have witnessed what a pain (literally) travelling can be when the hotel environment is unsuitable.

We aim to make every guest’s life easier; we’re successful if you’re just a bit sad to leave.

I’m glad you’ll be coming back, and look forward to meeting you during a future stay.

Safe travels,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Level Contributor
178 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My hubby and I had stayed at Le Germain Hotel on Mercer Street and loved it so thought we would try this one during our recent stay in Toronto to visit family. As it is a newer hotel, we drove and used GPS to find it, but almost passed it because the signage is not very good (just a Giant 'g' on the outside). It is right beside Air Canada place so if you are going there for an event it is very well situated. We had flown all day and were famished so we each had a glass of wine in the bar before going up to the room. We were going to order an appetizer but were told it would take 20 minutes and we had a dinner reservation. Our bill came to $35 for the 2 glasses of wine including tax which was a bit of a shock. (And Toronto is my home town). The room we had was beautiful, and we were happy to see that it included an expresso maker, but each pod cost $2. We are not usually one to complain since we are happy to pay for the finer things in life, but this seemed a little over the top. A plus was the free wifi and breakfast buffet. All in all, this was a very good hotel but with 5 star prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I had an excellent stay at the Hotel Le Germain. We received a welcome from the Concierge, a platter with doughnuts, wine - quite a surprise. The staff were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. The quality and presentation of the food was excellent. The room was out of this world, it was really tastefully designed and decorated. The bed was quite comfortable.
The hotel's location allows for easy access to downtown Toronto and I must say the view from our room was fantastic -the CN Tower especially at night. This is my first stat at the hotel and I will definitely return. I highly recommend the Hotel Le Germain to all. If you want an excellent, enjoyable, no hassle stay at a hotel while in Toronto, go to The Hotel Le Gemain.
I give this hotel 10 stars.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Annette M,

Ten stars! We’re honoured. Thank you for the wonderful review. We intend to earn those stars each and every time you return to our hotel.

I will look forward to meeting you during one of your future stays.

Happy travelling,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a birthday weekend in Toronto back in November 2012, with my mom.
The hotel is lovely, very modern and chic.
The room we originally got was facing only the Telus building and we could only see windows of that building.
We requested another room, and no questions asks, we got another room; actually an upgrade.
It is very cool, all the personalized items they have.
They have personalized "Hotel le Germaine'' on the glasses, napkins, stationery set, ear plugs, and another item which I will leave you to find out.
The breakfast was good. I wish there would have been more to choose from though, as it was a continental type breakfast. It was good, but just not a lot of variety.
The rooms were clean and again, lovely.

I didn't want to leave. I shall return one day when I have money!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Kelly J,

I love the element of mystery/discovery you included in your review. If you haven’t already, you could consider a career in marketing.

While the breakfast is still continental, we’ve revamped our selection of pastries and muffins; a change we feel has stepped it up a notch.

We hope to help you celebrate your birthday again this year.

Cheers,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square

Property: Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Address: 75 Bremner Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M5J 0A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto's Second Le Germain HôtelGroupe Germain is reasserting itself in Toronto with Hôtel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square. Integrated into the complex for which it is named, this 167-room boutique-hotel is one element in a real estate development that combines condominiums, offices, retail shops and restaurants.Hotspot for Sports and EntertainmentLocated just steps from the Air Canada Centre, home to the Toronto Maple Leafs (hockey) and the Raptors (basketball), and venue for Toronto's hottest events and shows, the hotel is at the heart of it all.Quiet Oasis in a Buzzing NeighbourhoodAlthough the hotel is immersed in the city's vibrant core, it remains loyal to Groupe Germain's philosophy, which is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. Each Germain property strives to achieve the same goal: to offer a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where personalized, yet discreet service is of the utmost importance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing