We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in TO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Ranked #4 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I really have nothing negative to say about this place. We stayed New Year's Eve. This is a new and modern hotel that did pretty much everything right. Very close (walking) to Union station.
Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: view towards CN Tower, better on upper floors
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days of 'touristing' just before Christmas, having chosen it for its Trip Advisor 'No. 1 hotel in Toronto' status... You're a discerning bunch out there in TA land..!

For tourists coming from Europe, it's an excellent choice. We arrived at Pearson Airport and jumped on the Airport Express coach, which stops outside the Fairmont Hotel, which is about 200 yards away from the Le Germain. The hotel is right next to the Air Canada Centre, where the Toronto ice hockey and basketball teams play, and also 50 yards from Union Station, from where you can get to everywhere... It is also only a short walk to the Lake front and the ferry over to the Toronto islands, to the CN Tower and to the Steam Whistle micro brewery, which has a splendid tour, accompanied by its product...:))

We had a standard room with a view of the CN Tower, which was very clean, comfortable and well laid out with all the amenities you would expect and a splendid walk-in shower with a 'rainfall' shower head, which led to some rather over-long showering! An additional facility is the complimentary coffee and tea station on the second floor, which is availble 24 hours a day to guests.

As we were being tourists, some local knowledge was very helpful and the concierge team at the Le Germain are brilliant. Susan sorted out our day trip to the Niagara Falls, which was great fun, and was a mine of information on all the other daft questions we asked her.

If we ever return to Toronto, there is no doubt that this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: CN Tower view rooms are worth having.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scud24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Hotel Le Germain is a beautiful hotel and the service is wonderful. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Although we did not get a "welcome amenity" with our VIP code, we did get a wonderful upgrade to a one bedroom suite with a wrap around balcony (too bad it was so cold that day). The continental breakfast that was included in the price of the room was well appointed. Lots of cheese, smoked salmon, breads, pastries and great coffee. Parking is a bit of a rip ($35.00), but there is a parking garage across the Square that I believe is only $18 per day.
Would totally go back here (although I am afraid I would be disappointed in a regular room after experiencing the amazing Suite we had)!

Room Tip: Rooms with wraparound balconies have a great view and tons of light (although they are a bit drafty...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickering4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I took my wife here for our wedding anniversary based on the Trip Advisor reviews. It started out very well however we left feeling very disappointed. Here is what we liked and what we didn't like:

1. When we arrived there was a very nice cheese sampler waiting for us in our room.
2. The room and bathroom were very clean and modern.
3. The desserts from room service were fantastic

Why we were disappointed:

1. When we checked out there was a bar charge added to our bill. We never went to the bar during our stay. When I asked how this happened I was told that someone may have accidentally used our room number on the bill. The charge was reversed however they need to have a better system in place that even requires a signature or a card swipe. It's unsettling to think a charge could be added just by saying any room number.

2. There were two pillows that we slept on top of the king size bed. The next morning when my wife woke up and turned the second pillow around (the one underneath), she noticed there was a large dry blood stain on the pillow. This was not from her as the colour was a light brown. You could tell it had been washed several times as it hadn't fully been removed.

At first we were going to take the pillow down to the front desk but decided to call the manager up to our room and speak to her in private so as not to make a scene. When she came up we showed her and told her how this should not have even been used by the housekeeping staff and put on the pillow. It's not like it was a small stain, it was very large and obvious. It was disturbing to think that someone from the staff would even put this pillow case on. Needless to say it left a very sickening feeling in our stomach to know that was there the entire night.

The manager apologized and agreed that this had been washed before but the stain hadn't been removed. She also agreed that this shouldn't have happened and took the pillow case and said she'd meet us at the front desk. I took a picture of it just in case.

We then went to check out thinking she'd at least provide some sort of discount from our room. Instead she gave us her card and said the next time we come to stay to ask for her and she'd give us a room upgrade. I really felt that we should have been discounted right then and there as supposed to us having to return.

To be honest I don't believe we will ever return as this is not something we'd expect from a hotel of this standard and price. Maybe we should have just taken the pillow case down and made a deal about it at the front desk. This is something we'd expect from a $90/night hotel, not the Hotel Le Germain where you're paying $300-$400/night.

Very very disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank EHWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear EHWToronto,

Firstly, let me offer my sincerest apologies for the experience you had at the hotel. Our commitment to you, and all of our guests, is that we learn from these situations and continue to evolve our operation.

In her follow-up briefing to me, the Manager on Duty reported how courteous and understanding you were, despite being bothered by the situation. It’s clear that we did not meet your expectations in addressing this, and I would like to make things right.

Much of the value in staying at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square lies in the service we provide to each and every individual. I will contact you shortly to ensure that you are comfortable with a final resolution.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and I truly hope that you will return for a “perfect” experience.

Sincerely,

Murray Henderson
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We booked a surprise anniversary weekend get-a-way in Toronto and feel so very fortunated to have stayed at the Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square. The hotel is extermely well designed and welcoming! The hotel room, with maple and glass design lines, has every creature comfort you would ever want. The bed is a DREAM come true! The rainfall showerhead spoiled us for life! cWe felt so very welcomed by the wonderful handwritten greeting card from the concierges, along with a custom plate of cheeses, fruits and figs (Thank you SO much Susan and Gregory! We were too busy to eat all of it!). Such a classy touch and we kept the card as a keepsake.
The view of the CN Tower was spectacular and we were in such close proximity to all events in downtown Toronto. The service was impeccable, the hotel's decor is classic modern and will hold you in awe. The staff was incredibly friendly, attentive to detail and very knowledgable. We cannot wait to visit again this summer in June 2012!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the hotel have an amazing view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle and Jen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Visited this hotel for a romantic gettaway with my girlfriend, and it was FANTASTIC. The room, the views, the service, the proximity to all downtown attractions, everything! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IAKOVOS I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Amazing Room Amazing Service Amazing Location ,


the room are spectacular , the view might be average , but the way the rooms are designed is simply amazing ,

the service was great , amazing staff , concierge is just great vey helpfull , even gave us tickets for the ballet ,


location right next to the union station and the air canada center , a taxi ride from all the major restaurant and clothing store.

the free expresso /tea bar on the second floor was great , the gym is very well set up .


will go back to go see the maple leaf ! next time i am in town

Room Tip: saw couples with two dogs , the staff was very nice with them . lcbo in the same building
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank placos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square

Address: 75 Bremner Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M5J 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $263 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto's Second Le Germain HôtelGroupe Germain is reasserting itself in Toronto with Hôtel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square. Integrated into the complex for which it is named, this 167-room boutique-hotel is one element in a real estate development that combines condominiums, offices, retail shops and restaurants.Hotspot for Sports and EntertainmentLocated just steps from the Air Canada Centre, home to the Toronto Maple Leafs (hockey) and the Raptors (basketball), and venue for Toronto's hottest events and shows, the hotel is at the heart of it all.Quiet Oasis in a Buzzing NeighbourhoodAlthough the hotel is immersed in the city's vibrant core, it remains loyal to Groupe Germain's philosophy, which is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. Each Germain property strives to achieve the same goal: to offer a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where personalized, yet discreet service is of the utmost importance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing