We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Discovery on Mount Pleasant”

Boland's Open Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Boland's Open Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #695 of 8,947 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North End
Description: Christopher Boland brings an impressive pedigree spanning more than three decades and including ownership in Telfers , Trappers, The Tasting Rooms and now Boland's Open Kitchen.On any given evening Christopher will be seen out front meeting each and every guest, as well as joining the kitchen staff in the centrally-located kitchen - the heart of the restaurant.A recent review noted that "eating at Boland's is like being invited to Christopher Boland's home for dinner", which is just what Christopher is striving for.Manager Ricardo welcomes you with his signature smile and old world attention to service and detail.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had been meaning to try Boland's for some time - the opportunity finally presented itself for lunch today. What a delightful surprise: the food was imaginative, seasonal, well prepared and just perfect for the way we eat now - emphasis on fresh seafood (from the wonderful De La Mer on Bayview) and seasonal vegetables simply and cleanly prepared. The owner is an amiable host, and he chose the wine (by the glass) which perfectly complimented the meal. Desserts are a marvel - lots of fresh fruit garnish to offset the sweetness of profiteroles or lovely lemon curd. The best surprise was the bill - very good value for the quality of the food. We will definitely return for dinner! Service can be a bit slow as everything is prepared to order. The room is very pleasant and comfortable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MargotRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at Boland's Open Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are happy that the opportunity finally came up and you decided to enjoy a delicious lunch with us at Boland's! We love your description of our meals, dessert, service, and wines. We are glad to hear that you will be returning for dinner at some point. We look forward to seeing you again soon and appreciate your kind words of recognition! Have a wonderful day. Best, Chris Boland (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Decided to try this place out for weekday lunch. The menu was disappointing because it was very seafood or fish heavy. There was almost nothing on the menu for someone who did not want to eat seafood. Poor selection. I ended up decided on the Shrimp Salad and was not very impressed. The service was ok but would have expected better service since there was only one other table in the whole place. The reason I gave the place a "Very Good" was because of the Lemon Curd Dessert. It was absolutely fabulous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at Boland's Open Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hello. We love to see how much you enjoyed the Lemon Curd Dessert! We apologize that you could not find any good selection on the menu. The reason the menu is so seafood and fish heavy is because October is our fish month. We hope that you will return again so we can impress you all around as we should have the first time! Best, Chris Boland (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We love to eat herein the. Ack room where it is usually pleasantly quiet. Staff are professional and know the menu well Boland loves good food and his menu options are excellent and professionally prepared and presented.
Always a good meal. a little pricey but worth it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dawlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at Boland's Open Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad that you enjoy the atmosphere here at Boland's and that you are happy with a quieter section in the back room. We are dedicated to providing a professional, friendly, and attentive service for our guests to make your experience enjoyable! Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Chris Boland (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Food was well prepared and very fresh. The owner is inviting and very personable. However, the wait staff and their lack of training do not do the food justice. Not bad service, just not good. Reaching across the entire table to pour wine. You will be refilling your own water, bread for some tables not others, 15 minutes to bring our wine etc...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HeliHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at Boland's Open Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are dedicated to providing the freshest and well prepared for our guests! We love to impress our guests to provide an unforgettable experience with a great atmosphere and delicious food. We apologize for the service. We have spoke with the staff about the incidents you described to ensure they do not happen in the future. We hope that you will join us again soon! Best, Chris Boland (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had read great reviews of this place and were eager to try it. Three of us attended, and found the servers very warm and accommodating. The place is small, and the tables somewhat closer together than we would have liked, but the at atmosphere was pleasant overall. An amuse bouche was provided - on this occasion, wild mushrooms in a Bearnaise sauce, served in a little china spoon. We loved it and were provided with another round, which we enjoyed all over again. Because it was out first time there, we wanted to sample as much as we could, so we ordered several starters and mains to share. The portions were really much to small to share, offering only a mouthful really. And while they were tasty, in general we agreed that the prices were excessive for the nature and size of the portions. Will we return? Don't know. Probably not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boland's Open Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Boland's Open Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing