We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lemon Curd Dessert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boland's Open Kitchen

Boland's Open Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Boland's Open Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #655 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $22 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North End
Description: Christopher Boland brings an impressive pedigree spanning more than three decades and including ownership in Telfers , Trappers, The Tasting Rooms and now Boland's Open Kitchen.On any given evening Christopher will be seen out front meeting each and every guest, as well as joining the kitchen staff in the centrally-located kitchen - the heart of the restaurant.A recent review noted that "eating at Boland's is like being invited to Christopher Boland's home for dinner", which is just what Christopher is striving for.Manager Ricardo welcomes you with his signature smile and old world attention to service and detail.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
444 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Lemon Curd Dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Decided to try this place out for weekday lunch. The menu was disappointing because it was very seafood or fish heavy. There was almost nothing on the menu for someone who did not want to eat seafood. Poor selection. I ended up decided on the Shrimp Salad and was not very impressed. The service was ok but would have expected better service since there was only one other table in the whole place. The reason I gave the place a "Very Good" was because of the Lemon Curd Dessert. It was absolutely fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at Boland's Open Kitchen, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello. We love to see how much you enjoyed the Lemon Curd Dessert! We apologize that you could not find any good selection on the menu. The reason the menu is so seafood and fish heavy is because October is our fish month. We hope that you will return again so we can impress you all around as we should have the first time! Best, Chris Boland (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food in a quiter surrounding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We love to eat herein the. Ack room where it is usually pleasantly quiet. Staff are professional and know the menu well Boland loves good food and his menu options are excellent and professionally prepared and presented.
Always a good meal. a little pricey but worth it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dawlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at Boland's Open Kitchen, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad that you enjoy the atmosphere here at Boland's and that you are happy with a quieter section in the back room. We are dedicated to providing a professional, friendly, and attentive service for our guests to make your experience enjoyable! Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Chris Boland (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, staff needs training”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Food was well prepared and very fresh. The owner is inviting and very personable. However, the wait staff and their lack of training do not do the food justice. Not bad service, just not good. Reaching across the entire table to pour wine. You will be refilling your own water, bread for some tables not others, 15 minutes to bring our wine etc...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeliHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at Boland's Open Kitchen, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are dedicated to providing the freshest and well prepared for our guests! We love to impress our guests to provide an unforgettable experience with a great atmosphere and delicious food. We apologize for the service. We have spoke with the staff about the incidents you described to ensure they do not happen in the future. We hope that you will join us again soon! Best, Chris Boland (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty food, tiny portions.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had read great reviews of this place and were eager to try it. Three of us attended, and found the servers very warm and accommodating. The place is small, and the tables somewhat closer together than we would have liked, but the at atmosphere was pleasant overall. An amuse bouche was provided - on this occasion, wild mushrooms in a Bearnaise sauce, served in a little china spoon. We loved it and were provided with another round, which we enjoyed all over again. Because it was out first time there, we wanted to sample as much as we could, so we ordered several starters and mains to share. The portions were really much to small to share, offering only a mouthful really. And while they were tasty, in general we agreed that the prices were excessive for the nature and size of the portions. Will we return? Don't know. Probably not.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
491 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“An earnestly trendy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were here on a cold January night. The staff was trying hard to be friendly, earnestly so. The menu was a bit earnest as well, trying desperately hard to be trendy/sustainable/green. But the menu was pretty good, the soups interesting, the mains served in interesting ways with al dente veggies. Worthy of a return visit, but i'm not sure i would take someone i was trying to impress.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boland's Open Kitchen also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Boland's Open Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing