We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel alternative”
Review of Downtown Home Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Downtown Home Inn
Ranked #6 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“perfect hotel alternative”
Reviewed November 30, 2010

If you don't mind sharing a bathroom then this small boutique b&b is a perfect alternative to a hotel in downtown toronto. It is located just 5 mins walk to the metro and 15 mins walk to the Eaton Centre. So it is well situated for a trip to Toronto. There are 2 bathrooms for 6 rooms and everything is very clean. The B&B has just been opened and the furniture is all new. We will definitly stay again if we come back one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gew_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    71
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
101
125
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This B&B combines the charm of an old house with modern comfort and style. Tastefully renovated, the rooms were clean and fresh and the host was very hospitable. Five minute taxi ride to theatre and museums. I will go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank neerak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We booked our stay in the Downtown Park Inn for 1 week but extended our stay for another 3 days as we enjoyed our stay so much.

Atmosphere: Everything is really clean (everything gets cleaned every day), the host (Unal) is a really nice guy who helps out, answers your questions and give you good tips.

Amenities: There are 6 rooms in the house which are all nicely decorated and two shared bathrooms which were also nice and clean. It is all brand new and the small amount of rooms make it feel like home. Unfortunatly there is no washing possibility in the Park Inn. But 2 to 3 blocks away there is a big laundry (Maitland street). There is Wireless Lan in the house for free, which is really nice.

Breakfast: is to be self-served - which means that you just get up and make your own breakfast. Everything in the fridge can be used and the table is already set in the morning. There is a dish-washer which is nice: no cleaning dishes. There is always fresh fruits, different kinds of cereals, breads (bagels, toasts), cheese, different jams and marmelades, honey and much more. And the best: it varies all the time with different breads, bagels juices etc.

Location: perfect! Only one block to the subway station (Wellesley). Right in the Wellesley/Church-district with a lot of supermarkets and restaurants around. Perfect location to explore the city. One block away from famous Yonge street as well.

Conclusion: We enjoyed our stay a lot. The Downtown Park Inn is a perfect place for those who want to have a clean, warm and friendly stay in downtown Toronto for little money. We are sure we will come back next time!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Schwenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I stayed a few nights at the downtown park inn B&B when i arrived in Toronto before finding a flatshare and i have to say that this was one of the best B&B experience I have ever had.
First of all, Unal the onwner welcomed me with the best manners and made me
very comfortable straight away. I had the Iris room and although it was not
huge, it was cosy and sweet. the bed was great, i slept like a baby. there is a club not far from the B&B so very light sleepers could maybe have troubles but as far as i am concerned it did not bother me. It is obvious that this place is in the heart of a vibrant area with many bars and clubs so I was not surprised to hear some light beats. the
bathrooms are on the landing and are beautifuly done. It is all brand new,
very modern: chic and sophisticated with some colourful bits and pieces. The
owner managed to preserve the charm of a homely house. I really felt like i
was at home or staying with friends, welcome to hang out in the lounge. As i just arrived for the very first time in Toronto i was happy to feel that i was not just a number on a room. I had many questions about everything and he (the owner) has been very helpful.
The location is very convenient and central, close to the subway so you could be
shopping on Queen street in just 15 min or just a few blocks away from eaton centre. the price was more than descent and the welcoming atmosphere was beyond what i would have expected: to me that is priceless. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a very nice, friendly, well located place to stay downtown Toronto. Espcially if you are around your 30s and laid back, then this is a place for you!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cdedubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 136 in Toronto
699 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 136 in Toronto
465 reviews
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#7 of 115 in Toronto
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Home Inn

Property: Downtown Home Inn
Address: 2 Monteith St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1K7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Downtown Home Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re visiting Toronto on business or pleasure, Downtown Home Inn is excellently located within walking distance to Yonge and Bloor, the crossroads of the city and subway system. Here you are surrounded by multicultural dining, museums, art galleries, theatre, nightlife and exclusive shopping. "Perfect Location and Value" is the right phrase for Downtown Home INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Downtown Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Home Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing