We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Welcoming and Comfortable”
Review of Downtown Home Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Downtown Home Inn
Ranked #6 of 114 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Welcoming and Comfortable”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at this lovely B & B for one day while on business but it was enough to leave a very positive lasting impression. I stayed at the Lily room, a very cozy room for this lone traveler. It was very clean and had a very comfortable bed. The common areas and bathrooms are spotless. James was very helpful and hospitable. There was a very nice, healthy selection of breakfast items that even accommodates special diet needs - I really appreciated the lactose-free/ soya milk and gluten free bread. The location is great, close to subway, downtown, major shopping/commercial areas. I will come back on my next visit for sure. I never felt more welcome and comfortable as I did at this place. I'm glad I found it. It's truly a traveler's gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    69
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
100
124
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was so wonderful to stay here. James greeted us nd we were amazed how clean and beautiful the inn was. It was close to all amenities and subways. Beautiful location, safe and quiet. Breakfast was laid out for us the next morning. Would definitely stay again and a yes for recommendation. Thanks James !!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandabear_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for one week and we felt completely at home, the room was nice the bed was really comfortable, bathroom clean and high standard. Breakfast was perfect and most of all James was really great with us, he help us to prepare interviews...I will suggest it 100%

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

What to say ... Was going to stay nearby and started to book a hotel at the last minute - was not really on a budget but the $150 day 1, $209 day 2 and $229 day 2 was getting a little tired. Send quick email - obtained the 1 bedroom apartment with own bathroom. Quiet, great transport links and clean. Plenty of food options nearby(went to Ginger every night) and as I had cereal every morning, this meant that the breakfast buffet was not in play like at most hotels. I kept my eating down which was a plus as I usually gorge myself at the breakfast trough. No host in sight which was also a plus. Bed was ok, would have liked it to be more firm, but cotton sheets were good as well as TV and internet. I would recommend and will stay in the future when on business. I like variety and this had good standards. James was organized, reachable, pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My daughter and I stayed overnight here while checking out a university. It was a clean, quiet, very comfortable stay. It has a great location, easy walking distance to many interests. A great selection for breakfast, do not worry about going hungry. James was very pleasant and helpful. My daughter wants to live there. We would not think twice about going back.
Sincerely,
Heather

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was here for 2 weeks and enjoyed it immensely. James is an attentive, helpful but never intrusive landlord and keeps the place spotless and welcoming. As a former resident of Toronto, I know the city well and this is a good safe neighborhood very close to transportation and places of interest to visitors. I have booked again and look forward to being back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I enjoyed my stay in downtownhome inn
Comfortable bed
nice noodle restaurant just around the corner
Walking distance into the city
the room was a little bit dusty anotherwise i am pleased with the room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellan189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#66 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 133 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,983 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Home Inn

Property: Downtown Home Inn
Address: 2 Monteith St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1K7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Downtown Home Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re visiting Toronto on business or pleasure, Downtown Home Inn is excellently located within walking distance to Yonge and Bloor, the crossroads of the city and subway system. Here you are surrounded by multicultural dining, museums, art galleries, theatre, nightlife and exclusive shopping. "Perfect Location and Value" is the right phrase for Downtown Home INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Downtown Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Home Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing