We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Chez Laurent - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chez Laurent
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: North York
Description: Http://www.restaurantica.com/on/north-york/chez-laurent-restaurant/23012098/
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Kind of pricy but the food is LOVELY and the service is impeccable. The portions are just right and the food is fresh. We sat on the patio and were able to people watch as we enjoyed our meals.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Melizza73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Pleasant discovery”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Ended up there upon a friend's suggestion. Place looks like nothing from the outside. Free parking on the property. Once inside, intimate setting in the house's rooms with just a few tables per room. But the place could probably use a make over. Interesting and varied menu, reasonably priced. I had the escargot appetizer: fresh herbs, fresh garlic, the escargots themselves very tender. Then I had the daily special, a braised lamb shank served over a bed of homemade, perfectly cooked pasta, smothered in the lamb's sauce. Lamb was fall off the bone tender, very tasty. Ended it with the creme brulee, which was delicate tasting and a lighter texture than your usual creme brulee, very nice! Wine list is somewhat limited, but they have reasonably priced selected choices. Service was efficient and friendly. Will go there again!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fearlessbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cannot beat good food at a good price”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

A little house on yonge st 2 blocks north of sheppard. An italian restaurant hou eont want to pass up. May look rustic from the outside and the inside but that is for ambiance. Outstanding pasta, veal, chicken and steak. The best carppachio in the city and musels to die for. You cant beat ths price either. 2 can dine with a litre of wine, appetizer, dinner, dessert for 100.00. If you are in a hurry let them know, if you want a 3 hour meal thats also okay. Book a reservation as many times they are full. 416-590-0909. Went once loved it now we have become regulars 2-3 times a month for past 23 years. Then the next step is to take their cooking classes offered by chef leanne. You will cook at home and think you were in the restaurant. Best part is after you cook you get go eat what you prepared best clases i have ever been go. You will learn tips/ tricks thst will even impro e your favs you make today. Check out www.maplehern.com for classes. Try both the restaurant and lasses you wot be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliver7218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Genuinely one of the nicest restaurants in existance”
Reviewed November 20, 2010

If your Grandmother opened a restaurant in her living room, this would be it! From the welcoming smile when you enter, to the relaxed atmosphere and the evident knowledge and care thats went into the preperation of every meal.

The food is fantastic, the place is not too flashy, its obvious that it used to be someones house before being turned into a restaurant ( which i think adds to the awesomeness [for lack of a better word]).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 1014772047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visiting the Toronto Area. Make time for this.”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

As you approach this restaurant you can’t help thinking “What the heck is this doing here?” Surrounded by modern high-rise apartment and office buildings this quaint cottage stands out. You can image some little old lady with a shot-gun once held out and refused to sell to the developers and the cottage remains as a constant reminder of the colonial history of the area.
So at first I was not quite sure about going in. But I have antennae for this kind of thing and I just had a good feeling that I should take a chance. I was not disappointed
Although there is some outdoor seating where you can watch the world go by on the pavement (In the warm summer evenings), inside the ground floor level is divided into 3 small dining rooms. From the entrance is a clear view into kitchen where Leanne, the Chef, works her magic.
The atmosphere in each room is quite intimate, like going to dine at your grandma’s. Each room can accommodate about 12 people in tables of 2, 4 or 6. The décor is rather austere, but it is all about the food and the genuine welcome.
Like all great restaurants the menu is small and every dish freshly cooked to perfection. It is family run and only opens in the evening. Like when my wife prepares for a dinner party, I assume their day is taken up with visits to the Butcher, Fishmonger and Greengrocer to see what is looking good that day.
As a result of this intricate preparation you then have the pleasure of listening to Louise rattle off the day’s specials in great detail in her own inimitable and eccentric style. The first thing you have to do is tune into the accent; very South African. You are left in no doubt that this is a family that loves its food and wants to share that love with you. Specials are not written down anywhere, so listen carefully. You are so taken in by these descriptions, you will want to set aside the printed menu and make the difficult choice between these, assuming you can still articulate your choice while salivating at the prospect.
Why not share a dozen snails to whet your appetite while you choose from the small but well chosen selection of wines from around the world, many you just won’t find in other restaurants. Check out the aroma of the Gavertztraminer.
The portions are just the right size. Not huge, but this is simple quality not quantity, which is so rare in Toronto where most restaurants seem to want to complete on quantity or decor. Ideally when you want to make an evening of it and go for the full three courses.
The Carpaccio is quite unique. More than a hint of Lemon. Sounds weird, but you will order it again next time too I guarantee, just to make sure it really was as good as you remembered. How about Moules Mariniere or, for the hungry person, Lamb Shank?
But do leave room for desert. Homemade Triple Choc Mousse Cake; One portion and 2 forks I think. Or the lemon ice cream cake. This is quite unique. Looks like cheesecake but is a light as a feather. When it arrives (given what you have already consumed) you assume you will never get through it, then suddenly it has gone. Be selfish, do not share this.
Why not reserve a table for 6:00 and dine before the show at the Arts Centre, a short walk across Yonge Street. Ample metered street parking right outside makes access simple. Remember to book (even at short notice), If the family are on holiday it is closed. You can’t entrust this kind of thing to others!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foz_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing