We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, average decor”
Review of Sorrel Restaurant

Sorrel Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorrel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #786 of 8,575 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Yorkville & Bellair
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, average decor”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We walked in this place randomly without reservation. I had a great experience with the food. Tasty soup and salmon. The service is good, but the decor is not so impressive. There are better places in the same price range in this area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Campbelville, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Food but very average service”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The menu is good although the ingredients are not as fresh as they might be.

The service on the other hand is not great. In fact we were sprayed with the cleaner that they use to spray the tables! Not only that, but it got onto our food. The server then turned her back and walked away and we paid and left.

Not good customer service at all!

Too bad, good location and the menu looked OK, but another restaurant off of the list!

ATB

LIG

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sorrel - good, casual, downtown dining in Toronto”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Located in a below-ground space on Yorkville near Bay (our window table was eye level with the sidewalk, which was really nice. Smallish in size - 50-60 seats perhaps, we made reservations, which is a good idea. Good, basic French menu and specials...service started out about stiff and somewhat abrupt, but when the server was asked where he came from (Paris) he became extremely animated and friendly. Dinner included a wonderful pea and fennel soup, and a fall-off-the-bone beef short ribs as well as a shared, very very good creme brule, had no cpmplaint whatsoever. Nice location & ambience, good service when engaged, good food. Would go again

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good dinner”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went on a quiet Friday night between Christmas and New Years. The service was attentive and friendly. The food was nicely presented and delicious. It is a lovely atmosphere - dark and cozy, stylishly decorated. I found nothing to complain about!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fossettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really nice dinner”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Sorrel had very attentive staff and excellent food at surprisingly good prices. I also had the best martini during my trip at this restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sorrel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing