We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Classico Pizza and Pasta - CLOSED

Classico Pizza and Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: West End
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently went to this restaurant. We drove by and saw the patio and it looked very welcoming, so stopped to have dinner.

We ordered a caesar salad and it was quite tasteless. We couldn’t taste any garlic in the dressing and it was very watery. The bacon on the salad was from a bottle and you could taste the fact that it was not fresh and something you would buy at a grocery store.

We ordered a pizza and did not enjoy it. The sauce had no flavor and the cheese was almost non-existent. The jalapenos were out of a jar and not fresh at all. The bottom of the pizza was charred black, while the pepperoni on top was not all cooked properly.

We were very disappointed with the quality of food and the fact that it was not fresh. If we wanted items that came from a box or jar would could go to the local grocery store for one third of the price and eat it at home. Typically you go to a restaurant to have fresh food. This restaurant did not meet our expectations and we will not go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

I really enjoyed this restaurant partially because I love italian food but also the atmosphere and service are excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KingRustee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

They have the best pizza in town! Although it is more pricey than your average pizza pizza, it is worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Party444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Toronto's best pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have eaten consistently at Classico since it opened. It puts all other pizza to shame. Even a pepperoni slice is a taste of heaven. There is such thing as gourmet pizza by the slice, and it's in North Toronto. For me, it's the best reason to live in the neighborhood.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Oxxy909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Mixed Results with New Management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Classico has been a regular stop for wife and I ever since it opened, which must be about fifteen years ago. We have always enjoyed it. It has rarely seemed crowded, so its longevity must have depended on takeout and delivery.

Changed ownership about a year ago and we've now had four or five meals here since that change. Service has improved greatly, reasonable prices have been maintained, and the menu has remained familiar BUT a stifling blandness has set in on the food flavour. The formerly garlicky, anchovy-touched Caesar salads have been disappointingly flat and our two favourite pizzas ditto. We'll give the place a couple more tries but they had better pick up the pace.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torontotraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classico Pizza and Pasta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing