We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Toronto East ON
Ranked #122 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We walked in without a reservation on Saturday of Memorial Day weekend. The front desk attendant was friendly and said he could accommodate my request for two rooms. My husband and I were traveling with my brother and his family. Each room night was approximately 108 CAD and we certainly didn’t want to keep driving around so we decided to take them.

Our room was clean and the property seemed safe. However, we soon discovered that our air conditioner did not work properly on our first night. The fact is that when turned on it would only stay on for a few minutes before turning itself off again. My husband called the front desk and they said they would call us back in a few minutes before sending someone upstairs to check it out.

It was late and we were tired from our trip so we ended up falling asleep in a highly humid and hot room while waiting for someone to call us or knock on our door. The following day early in the morning, we all went down stairs to head out and continue with our trip. But this time we went to the front desk to once again mention the fact that no one had come up the prior night to take a look at the air conditioning unit.

The front desk clerk asked us for our room number and without apologizing for their own misjudgment told us that someone would walk in our room and get the AC back to work. Nevertheless, to our surprise upon arrival at night nothing was taken care of.

At this point my husband called the front desk again and while trying to explain our situation, the acting manager abruptly cut him off and repeatedly stated that he was aware of our situation. Well, the bottom line is that if he was aware of the situation, he should have done something about it.

The clerk later came and turned the AC unit on and didn’t believe the fact that the system would turn off automatically after a few minutes. Instead, he said that if the AC turns off that we should call and he would get us another room. Of course, this did happen, we called, and he showed up with another key for the other room.

While moving our stuff to the next room, my husband spotted a small roach on the wall and killed it. I really felt like sleeping in the car or going somewhere else at this point but it was too late. All throughout our stay in your hotel our issues were communicated and your staff never apologized for their rudeness and poor quality service. In fact, it is unfortunate, but we will certainly never again visit one of your locations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

after staying at this fantastic hotel where the staff are friendly and the rooms are large and clean why would i stay anywhere else. i am the worst in the world for complaining but here no complaints!!! believe me i'm the hardest to satisfy!!!! so i say stay have a great sleep and enjoy!!! from the crazybear you'll love it!!!!!!!!!I.

Room Tip: end of the hall less traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank michel416
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank gg4rest
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My Super 8 experience was friendly but the hotel itself was dirty, old (needs paint) and dust was in my room as well as a bad shower. But, on a good note, I slept very well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Clarke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A very convenient location with free internet, continental breakfast and heated pool. The rooms have refrigerator, microwave and TV. The room was neat and all the staff were very well mannered and friendly. They do make you feel at home and never hesitate to provide you with small accessories that sometimes make a big difference to you in times of need. The building itself is quite old, but that in no way prevents you from having a nice and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arunbharathiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Scarborough
Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Comfort Inn Toronto North
Comfort Inn Toronto North
#111 of 137 in Toronto
186 reviews
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
Etobicoke
Comfort Hotel Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Toronto East ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Toronto East ON

Address: 3280 Kingston Rd | Highway 401 Exit 383, Toronto, Ontario M1M 1P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $59 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Toronto East ON 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Toronto East ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Toronto East Hotel Scarborough
Super 8 Scarborough
Super Eight Scarborough
Scarborough Super Eight
Scarborough Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing