We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs spring cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Toronto East ON
Ranked #116 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs spring cleaning”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

On the surface the room looked clean...other than the food that had been left in the fridge and the stains on the carpet. Once we looked beyond the surface (behind the furniture to look for outlets), well, not so clean. Someone needs to do some serious spring cleaning and painting. There was a sticker on the wall - not put there by us, but was there for the whole time during our stay. Bathroom floor was ok, except around the edges - again, little piles of dust and dirt accumulated in the corners could have been easily cleaned by simply bending down with a rag to wipe it up.

The sheets and the bed spread had holes in it...looked like cigarette burns.

Garbage was piled in the stair wells most of the day causing a huge smell.

We had a non-smoking room...but the smoke from adjacent rooms was drifting into our room making it really hard to breathe.

One amenity the kids were looking forward to was the pool- which they refused to go into. The hot tub has plywood over top, and the pool didn't look too healthy, it had a layer of dirt/sand on the bottom.

Given the cleanliness issues we noticed throughout the hotel, we chose to not partake of the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    46
    62
    56
    95
See reviews for
103
67
36
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not a good expeience - stayed here for one night for wedding on October 7, 2012. Asked a head of time in email for early check in as wedding started at 2 and checkin was at 2 - was assured that a room would be available by noon for us. Prepaid with a credit card. Card was pre-authorized four days before we even got there - when we arived told card was declined and had to pay cash and a $100 deposit. Was not happy and went up right away and called cc company and was told that super 8 toronto east had a hold on our card for exact price of room - so basically they screwed up and I was left to deal with credit card company myself after their mistake. and forced to pay cash. Desk clerk when we checked in was rude and told me it was not his problem (he actually said 'Listen Lady I don't know what to tell you") my husband almost flipped out on him but held his tongue.
To make matters worse he gave us a hard time about the early checkin - I told him I had an email saying it was okay and a room would be ready and he moved my purse (which was over a sign on desk) pointed to the sign and said "checkin is 2:00 PM it is only 12" - I again told him about email and said I was told a room would be ready - he said he would have to see if he could find one - like we were putting him out.
The room was dirty - lots of dust around room edge - caked basically. Carpet is very dirty and we did not want to take off our shoes. Bathroom had no hot water - it was tepid at best. There were no bed bugs at least and linens were clean.
Garbage bags (6-8) left in stairwell overnight - disgusting and a safety hazard as it blocked stairwell (they had a cone in front of all the bags).
clerk in morning was fantastic and when she asked how our stay was and I told her she was fatastic and got right on phone to cc company to have hold taken off of card right away (guy at night would not do that). Kudos to her !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm giving this 1 star because the fridge worked. Otherwise everything else was bad. The pictures on the website are very deceiving, don't be fooled. The lobby is dark and small, breakfast area very small hardly any room for anyone, breakfast: honey dipped doughnuts, stale muffins, bread for toast - a pound of cold butter with the foil ripped back in an ice bucked that everyone picked at to try to chip butter off, watered down juice - not even fruit. The halls are stinky, carpets are dirty, room doors are covered in smudges, gloomy impression as you walk down the hall to your room. Stairs are very dirty, garbage bags and empty boxes of pizza piled up inside the back exit. Rooms are very small, our bathroom sink was outside the bathroom, bathroom had toilet and tub, so small I had to step into the bathtub to close/ open the bathroom door, soap looked like it had been re-cycled from the '70's, the wrapping on one of them was dirty and looked like it had been plucked out of the garbage, shampoo was some "no-name" brand in a "ketchup-like" rip-open plastic pouch, no separate conditioner, our toilet plugged up. I wore socks on my feet the whole time I was in the room because the carpet was so dirty, I didn't dare walk on it in my bare feet. Mattress seemed old, very uncomfortable. Room was stuffy and stinky.

Room Tip: Very bad experience, stay away!! Found COMFORT INN next door, visited and decided to stay there for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romin T, Manager at Super 8 Toronto East ON, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the sub standard conditions you describe.

It was a big suprise to have read your review and I have adressed the issues you describe with the housekeeping department.

As you can see from other reviews left by guests, your experience is not what should be expected.

Please know your feedback is extremely important to us and I hope that you will visit us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Romin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellarton, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Had never stayed at this hotel & took a chance. Extremely pleased. Very friendly staff from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Great parking with good proximity to public transit. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the back all the better because Kingston Road is a very busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night and found the room to be cozy and very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tey-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Positives: we found the staff to be very friendly and responsive; the building is older but was very clean; free wi-fi; fridge/microwave and we felt safe while staying there. Our concerns were specific to our room - the AC in our didn't work very well and the mattress needed to be replaced - so I imagine that your experience at this motel may be somewhat on what room you are assigned. I feel that given the high cost of rooms in TO that we got what we paid for - but in the future we may chose to pay more to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Periwinkle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is my forth time staying at Super 8. Donna and the staff are very nice people, They make you feel welcome. The rooms are kept very clean, well stocked in towels, and coffee. The fridge and microwave are a plus to the room and kept clean. The room nothing but a clean smell. The price for a room is affordable. Stayed for 4 nights, and told them I will be back, now I am a regular customer. I would highly recommend the Super 8 to anyone. Thanks again Donna and staff for a wounderful stay, See you all next month.

Room Tip: " All the room and hallways are quiet"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Scarborough
Days Inn - Toronto East Lakeview
Etobicoke
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Etobicoke
Woodbine Hotel & Suites
Woodbine Hotel & Suites
#104 of 133 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#107 of 133 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Etobicoke
Quality Hotel & Suites Airport East
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Toronto East ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Toronto East ON

Property: Super 8 Toronto East ON
Address: 3280 Kingston Rd | Highway 401 Exit 383, Toronto, Ontario M1M 1P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Toronto East ON 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Toronto East ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Toronto East Hotel Scarborough
Super 8 Scarborough
Super Eight Scarborough
Scarborough Super 8
Scarborough Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing