We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking finishing touches”
Review of Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edward Hotel
Ranked #116 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed April 21, 2009

My family stayed at The Yorkland for two nights. I was very pleased with the front desk and the staff at the Yorkland. The small things are what separate the good from the mediocre. The Yorkland is unfortunately in need of a few finishing touches before it would achieve a ' very good ' rating with me.

The bathrooms are very small, have no fans and the acrylic bathtub fitted liner was poorly installed causing the tub to be spongy and uneven to stand in, very dangerous.

The heating/ac unit was loud. The pictures on the walls were way too small and looked cheep. The buttons in the elevator were the clear type with the floor number written in it, but the clear plastic was very old dinghy and dirty.

The continental breakfast was very limited. Don’t expect much. There is a $5.00 per night parking fee that is an obvious rip off.

The swimming pool liner was not properly installed causing major ripples in the liner, very unprofessional. The pool liner also showed signs of poor maintenance with what looked like a three-inch soap scum ring around the top.

Even though I paid $ 47 per night through Hotwire (I searched the Don Valley / Toronto area) that doesn't make it a good deal in general, just that I paid a reasonable rate for a nights stay. I was hoping to get a great rate on a great hotel. Isn't that the point of searching for a great rate?

Will I recommend this hotel? Unsure, it depends what your needs are. I paid a reasonable rate for this hotel; I wouldn't suggest you pay more than $ 60 tops. There are several other hotels that you may pay a little more for, but you will get way more for your money.

I hope this helps. Also, be sure if you stay to insist on a room facing the front of the hotel, the back rooms faces a very busy and loud highway. We were lucky!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unkn0wn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 283 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Wyndham Garden in Toronto for a week in March. The hotel is reasonable - it's conveniently located at the 401 and DVP. Lots of space and quiet in the area. With all the space that they have in the area of the hotel, I feel there is a bit of nickel and diming - they charge $5/night for parking.

The rooms are spacious but average. They are renovated, but not enough to not feel like the hotel has aged. The "smart chair" (a chair with a socket, ethernet connection and two rotating tables on the arm rests) was a bit of an uncomfortable oddity. The bathrooms leave something to be desired. They have been retrofitted with plastic covers over the old tubs and new hardware which gives the appearance of nice. In reality however, the bathrooms are slightly too small given the size of the items inside.

The lack of a mini fridge and safe in the rooms were missed, though there was a single cup coffee brewer. As I had work to do, the free internet connection was helpful. I had some trouble with my Mac, but the outsourced helpdesk was incredibly helpful in getting me connected with little trouble.

The wings at the bar connected to the hotel were nice.

Again, the hotel was a reasonable stay. It was clean enough and at least the staff were nice.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wtlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

I stayed at the Wyndham Garden Toronto from February 19-20, 2009 on business. The hotel is located somewhat in the middle of nowhere (near the junction of the 401 and the Don Valley Parkway), from the perspective of a visitor to the city at least. However, from the moment I arrived, I was impressed. The front desk staff was incredibly efficient and courteous, which started my staff off right.

I was assigned to Rm. 834. It was large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. A King-sized bed and a flat screened television featured prominently in the room, as well as a comfortable chair and an expansive desk for those who need to work during their stay.

The entire hotel has been recently renovated and it shows. The lobby is the highlight of the space, full of comfortable seating areas and brightly lit. If I were ever back in this part of town (though I wonder why I ever would be), I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Go2Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

My family (2 adults, 2 children aged 9 + 12) stayed here in December 2008 as part of a larger group of families (our son's sporting team). Normally expectations aren't huge when traveling with a sport team, however the Wyndham was quite good. Our travel coordinator received a great rate ($99) and the reservation, check-in, and check-out process was smooth and easy. Good things about the room - it was fairly large which was good as we travel with a family and lots of "stuff", the beds were comfortable, and the room was set up perfectly fine for laptop and technology work (lots of plugs, easy to access wireless internet). That is a real MUST for us. The bathroom and the closet were tiny, though. Not a big issue, however. One thing I did notice is that dirty wineglasses sat outside another room in our hallway for 2 entire days .. morning, day, and night ... they just sat there in that hallway, never picked up. I noticed them when we got there on Friday night, and they were still sitting there when we left on Sunday. Strange that housekeeping never picked them up over that whole time and makes me wonder how many other housekeeping corners they cut. However, that being said, we had a good stay there. The hot tub was out of service when we were there, but the boys enjoyed the pool area - it was bright and clean and a pleasant environment, while not a huge pool. It is pretty convient to find although in some respects it feels out of the way because it is in this industrial-park type of area. Although once you know where you are going it turns out to be quite convenient. Few helpful places down the street (Starbucks!). Absolutely need a car.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank clamc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Stayed two nights, and the place was true to the pictures I saw on Expedia's website, the room was very nice, very nice finishings. The bathroom was a little small but how much time do you spend in there. The bed was very comfortable and nice flat screen tv. Granite coountertops and nice bedding, hottub and pool were very nice, staff was excellent, no comlpaints about them. But if you want a watch a movie stay away from what they call smoovies, it is $10 a day and you can watch up to 5 movies, the problem is, I have never heard of most of the movies and they were all very old.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank celicagts7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I stayed for one night as I had a business meeting near to the hotel. It is a little difficult getting here by public transport from Toronto airport. I took 3 trains & a bus & still could not find it. The location is not good if you are visiting downtown, its far out. At night, it is hard to find this hotel. I had to flag a taxi down & he took me the short distance. The hotel seems to have undergone transformation recently. Newly decorated rooms are very nice, thou the lighting at night is very poor. Nice flat screen tvs with vast amounts of channels. Staff are very friendly. Great hotel but not for those looking to be near downtown or the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank slimshaneylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

this hotel located in industrial area and was not easy to find that being said once we arrived are stay was a terrific experience from check-in to check-out. they do charge 5.00 a day parking which for a hotel this far out from airport should not be. but overall the experience was great.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chaz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
North York
The Westin Prince Toronto
The Westin Prince Toronto
#61 of 138 in Toronto
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North York
Mary-am Hotel North York
Mary-am Hotel North York
#92 of 138 in Toronto
43 reviews
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
North York
Comfort Inn Toronto North
Comfort Inn Toronto North
#107 of 138 in Toronto
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Hotel

Address: 185 Yorkland Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M2J 4R2, Canada (Formerly Edward Village)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $97 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edward Hotel is located conveniently off Hwy 401 and 404 in North York. Complimentary parking and WiFi are available throughout. There are 290 beautifully renovated rooms situated across 10 floors. The hotel features an on-site restaurant and lounge, a self serve business center, on site ATM machines and 24 hour reception. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, an alarm clock, a coffee maker and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. The hotels offers a sophisticated and comfortable stay for both business and pleasure seekers. Attractions Nearby: Don mills Subway- 1.1 km Fairview Mall- 1.3 km Seneca College- 3.6 km Ontario Science Center ; Aga Khan Museum- 8.6 km Toronto Pearson Airport- 28 km Downtown Toronto- 20.8 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel And Conference Centre - Toronto Don Valley
Yorkland Hotel Toronto
Wyndham Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing