We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Renovated”
Review of Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edward Hotel
Ranked #111 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated”
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Thankfully, this hotel has FINALLY been renovated (for the most part). This place was a dump for years, with decor straight out of 1975.
Lobby, restaurant, conference facilities, and bedrooms have all been redone in a sleek, modern style.
Overall, a decent hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank muffin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    61
    87
    59
    37
See reviews for
88
48
24
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
west ireland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Stayed at the wyndham for 3 nights in early sep 08. First off, it's not handy or convienent if you plan to tour the city as it's over 20kms outside! As it's located near highway 401 the rooms at the back of the hotel are quite noisy, so i'd recommend asking for a room at the front of hotel.

Staff are extremely helpfull, particularily at the on-site restaurant/bar who went out of their way to get us information on live music venues. Good food and drink to be had there too.

Parts of the hotel were recently renovated and while our room was generally fine, more attention to detail is needed, like the mucky looking elevator mentioned before. We had out-dated switchs in the bathroom, and no ventiation which is ridiculous.

One other thing that bothered me was the condition of the toilet in the lobby. The paper towel dipenser was hanging open with towels hanging out and used towels all over the floor.

Not a bad place generally, but too far away from toronto centre for serious touring!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

I recently stayed at the hotel on a weekend visit to Toronto. Great location as it's right at the 401 and 404. Easy to get everywhere in the city. I stayed at the hotel in the past when it was the Ramada and the renovations and re-branding have made it a whole new experience. The staff and service was excellent. The rooms are clean and modern and the lobby is beautiful. It recently changed the restaurant to a chain restaurant. The prices are more reasonable and the food tasty. I highly recommend the Wydham Garden Inn Toronto for family weekend stays or for business.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JR20-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Just arrived back from the Wyndham today. Overall, it's a nice typical hotel with modern rooms and public areas. If you look real close, you will see they skipped over the small details with the renovation: Elevators work fine but haven't been remodeled and have nasty stained buttons that are probably original, the paint job on the outside of the hotel is already peeling, horrible landscaping and parking lot is in borderline shape. Other service issues which may need to be addressed: My duvet cover was horribly stained when I arrived but was promptly changed the next day when I requested it, dirty room service trays are left in the hallways sometimes for a day or so, pool area was out of towels already by 10:45am. These are just small details which certainly didn't ruin my stay just little things which do not make it a four star as they claim to be on their website.

The price was right, the room was small but nice (very modern decor with plasma tv, free internet and good water pressure), the location is okay, kind of a boring area (strip malls, modest homes and office and tower condos) but within a fifteen minute walk to the nearest subway and mall.

To sum it up: it's not the most glamorous hotel in Toronto but if you can get it for a good price and less than other 3 star hotels I would go for it.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — dirty duvet cover
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

This hotel is located in a business park just off of 401 & 404, and an easy drive to the Toronto Zoo. The rooms were very stylish but small. The bedding was very plush but the mattress could have been a little softer. The bathroom was too small, and had no ventilation fan. The indoor pool area is very clean and nice but empty. The hotel mainly caters to business travelers, so not many kids were around. Also, the cafe restaurant was just for a quick breakfast. Overall, not a bad hotel, just not suitable for a family vacation.

  • Liked — Styllish decor& easy access to highways. Also, walking distance to train
  • Disliked — Small bathroom, not much of a restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseygirl924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Great hotel. We booked a suite. Room was clean, quiet staff was very friendly. We ate breakfast there every morning, the prices were average and we were given a lot of food. I recommend the continental. breakfast. Location is about a 20 minute drive from downtown, which was conveniet if you don't want to be right downtown

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yllom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I found the Wyndham hotel by chance, just surfing trip advisor for a place to stay while we went to Canada's Wonderland. I booked the site through the Wyndham directory, booked and paid in advance to I saved some money, about 14.00 per nite savings.
The hotel is located right next to the 404, so pretty easy to get to the 401 or 407, it is kind of back of the main street, so the location was good.
The staff at the reception guest were very nice, greeted us with a big smile, and were very welcoming. The Lobby is clean and modern.
Once we got our room card we headed up, stayed on the 8th floor, walked in and we were pleasantly surprised, the room smelled good, just a note that this is a non-smoking hotel, so no old smoke smell anywhere which is always good.
The room is decorated nicely, a huge 32 inch flat screen, and a massive king size bed, ok this bed was awesome, I dont think my wife and I have ever slept so good. It was so comfortable, you didnt want to get out, so huge marks for the comfort there.
The bathroom is small but very clean, a shower that at times seemed to go cold on you for a brief second, but no biggy.
They are working on some new movie program for the hotel, so we just had regular tv for our stay.
Ok now here comes the bad part, my wife was hungry so she decided to order from the hotel restaraunt ( Synergy ), a cheeseburger and fries will cost you about 13.00 dollars (ouch) but she ordered it anyway. This was by far the worst burger I have ever seen or tasted, I am not sure what kind of meat was in there but it was just horrible. We are not ones to complain, but we called down to Synergy and told them this, they did take the burger off the bill, I am thinking we both ended up with a stomache ache after just having a bite of this thing.
So We didnt eat anything else from there, so I would avoid Synergy, very expensive, and from what we saw very poor quality.
The pool area is very nice, has a hot tub and a large pool, very clean, and enjoyed that very much.
The best part about the hotel would be the staff, and the price, very reasonable for what you get. Just dont eat there !

  • Liked — The Comfortable Bed
  • Disliked — The Restaraunt ( Synergy )
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
North York
The Westin Prince Toronto
The Westin Prince Toronto
#57 of 137 in Toronto
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough
Holiday Inn Express Toronto East
North York
Mary-am Hotel North York
Mary-am Hotel North York
#102 of 137 in Toronto
34 reviews
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Hotel

Property: Edward Hotel
Address: 185 Yorkland Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M2J 4R2, Canada (Formerly Edward Village)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edward Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edward Hotel is located conveniently off Hwy 401 and 404 in North York. Complimentary parking and WiFi are available throughout. There are 290 beautifully renovated rooms situated across 10 floors. The hotel features an on-site restaurant and lounge, a self serve business center, on site ATM machines and 24 hour reception. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, an alarm clock, a coffee maker and a large work desk with ergonomic chair. The hotels offers a sophisticated and comfortable stay for both business and pleasure seekers. Attractions Nearby: Don mills Subway- 1.1 km Fairview Mall- 1.3 km Seneca College- 3.6 km Ontario Science Center ; Aga Khan Museum- 8.6 km Toronto Pearson Airport- 28 km Downtown Toronto- 20.8 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel And Conference Centre - Toronto Don Valley
Yorkland Hotel Toronto
Wyndham Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing