We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Ranked #48 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights for a family wedding, along with my parents and sisters. The location is fantastic - close proximity to restaurants, bars, shopping, and the Metro. The lobby restaurant had a good breakfast buffet that was reasonably priced. The lobby bar had TVs to watch the game, a decent beer selection, and a short after hrs menu that was good, especially the sliders! The rooms are small - typical of an urban hotel. We stayed in a queen room on the executive floor and it was fine. The rest of my family were in king rooms and complained of the size - not much room to walk around and small bathrooms. The pool is decent size but there isn't a jacuzzi which was disappointing. The exercise room is terrible - older equipment and very small. 3 treadmills, 1 elliptical, 2 bikes, and dumbells up to 30 lbs. Overall, I would stay there again due to location and price for a pretty good 3 star hotel.

Thank timfarago
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel. We asked for a quiet room and were given just that - we weren't troubled by noise at all. The view wasn't great but the room was spacious and clean. We were there for nine days and it was cleaned and tidied thoroughly each day. The mini 'fridge was brilliant especially as we discovered Loblaws on the corner on the first day (as a result of which we didn't actually eat at the hotel so can't comment on the dining facilities). The bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The location of the hotel was fantastic - the Sightseeing bus stop and the underground stop being just on the corner. All of the sights that we wanted to see were within walking distance or just a couple of tube stops away. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one on the 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nothing about my stay was horrible but nothing was great either. Here are the details:

LOCATION: It is a good location in downtown Toronto and probably the best thing about this hotel. It is close to public transit and walking distance to restaurants, tourist spots, shopping, Yorkville, Church street, groceries, etc.

ARRIVAL: Without any staff at/near the door, there wasn't anyone to discourage people from hanging out in the entrance way. As such, there were quite a few people hanging about the stairs and main entrance of the hotel. Not sure if they were guests or ?? Either way, it made me feel uncomfortable as I tried to wheel my luggage around them and up the stairs. Check-in was slow even though the desk was not busy.

STAFF: Mixed reviews from me. The front desk person was ok. Not particularly friendly but not rude or terrible. She didn't mention the problems with the elevators, which would have been a good heads up. A couple other staff members we met were very nice (including one woman who overheard us in the elevator talking about how one member of our group received chocolate and water upon check-in but we did not. She asked for our room numbers and had water sent up to us. I wish I had caught her name!). But overall, just average.

ROOM: Had a room with 1 king bed. Was just 'ok'. Again nothing special. Was on the 22nd floor and the view was just of other buildings close by. Bed was ok. Pillows were nice. Bathroom was small and the paint was peeling off the ceiling in the shower. Climate control seemed to work fine in the room but the hallways and elevators were hot and stuffy. Unfortunately there was a service closet across from my room so it was quite loud when staff started cleaning in the morning.

PARKING: Underground parking is available (for a price of course) but the height clearance is somewhat restrictive (colleagues driving an SUV could not park at the hotel).

OVERALL: It's a clean hotel in a good location but its definitely just 'average'. We paid about $120/night booking directly with the hotel. However, there are many great hotel options in downtown Toronto which can be found at a similar price if you use online booking/travel websites. If you're just considering this hotel based on the location and will only be in the hotel for sleeping, it's probably a ok choice (but again, just average!).

Room Tip: 6th floor is the pool/fitness access (not the quietest!) Elevators are still an issue at this locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Kristy31,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you liked our hotel location. We are surrounded by some of the finest shopping venues in the world. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and it is our regret that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Was scouting for a budget Acco in the downtown area during my 3 day visit to toronto. Service was ok not very great... Room quality was good. Beds were clean and comfortable. View was horrible - though was not expecting much
In the same value could have got better deal in downtown

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vedpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear vedpu,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found our hotel to your liking, it’s always nice to hear we are getting it right. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Fleeing another hotel in Toronto, I was pleased to find a modern room with all the amenties I expect from a hotel of the category. However, the building is somewhat crumbly, which showed in bad isolation between the rooms and the elevators that lacked capacity for the crowded hotel. I could consider going back because but without much enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Luxotraveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a very good hotel that is located downtown Toronto. Really downtown! It is immediately east of Yonge street the main north-south artery and within feet of a subway station. Across the street is Cora, a breakfast restaurant that is reasonably priced and offers multi pages of breakfast suggestions. Also next door is a Loblaw’s food store located in a disused hockey arena. It is huge and has a great offering of various fresh foods.

The hotel has small rooms but very well appointed including Wi-Fi, coffee maker, and small fridge but has a minuscule bathroom yet offers a very large glass-enclosed shower. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. There is a business centre, spa, and good restaurant. If the bathroom was larger I would have given the hotel one more star rating.

Room Tip: The higher the less street noise - you are downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear MarcoOttawa,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

check in was fine, the lifts were erratic but workable - restaurant was nice (breakfast, dinner) although the evening meals/room service were pricey eg burger, 1 beer = $40 (maybe this is the norm for TO? discovered Loblaw's next door for pizza slices - $5. Very handy!) - as solo traveller, did not feel unwelcome or uncomfortable in the restaurant as staff were lovely - other staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, especially re: travel queries, late check out etc. Wifi worked fine and room was clean, pretty large by European standards, huge comfy bed. Had little view to speak of (9th floor) as window was tiny (needed a clean) so just looked out at another building but I guess downtown hotels have limited scope...a very big hotel, but I would recommend it as handy, good value. (good breakfasts!) Many thanks to all who made me feel welcome after three decades away from Canada!

Room Tip: maybe higher up rooms have views?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divera67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 135 in Toronto
2,776 reviews
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre

Address: 30 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $126 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 513
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre Hotel Toronto
Days Hotel Toronto Downtown
Days Inn Toronto
Day Inn Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing