We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, unimpressive, would NEVER recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville
Ranked #114 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We're local to Toronto, but needed a place to stay overnight. Booking a Howard Johnson location meant, to us, reasonable and affordable accommodations. When we arrived, we were absolutely appalled by the room decor and the poor quality mattress. Given the coverlet was of a style popular in the 80s, I was really disgusted to think how old the linens may be. The bed was visibly sagged in the middle and made for a poor sleep. Furthermore, several of the TV stations were staticky. My boyfriend was congested the whole evening; with allergies to pollens and mold, we weren't comfortable staying in the room and will never return.

Beyond this--before arriving, I phoned the hotel several times over a period of 20 minutes without an answer from reception. I needed to know where to park. After receiving no answer, I parked in an adjacent lot that cost me twice as much. Nothing to be done about that, but I was frustrated and unhappy.

The only positive aspect of this hotel is its location.

Those looking for reasonably priced downtown accommodations that are cleaner would better be referred to the Econolodge at Gerrard and Jarvis--the location is significantly less nice, but the rooms are infinitely better, and access to public transit is equivalent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank manticore82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

We are dissappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is under new ownership and we are working on updating some of the guest rooms and amenities at the property. Our staff are on hand to assist with any guest requests and could have provided more assistance to help make your stay more comfortable. All feedback from our guests is important and will assist us in improving our standards and service as we continue to update the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 344 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

ok...it was cheap. But there's cheap and there's CHEAP! Not a place I'm yearning to return to.

It took 25 minutes to check in as there was only one person working. The room was "executive"....hmmmmm....very dusty, bathroom had the dreaded hair in the bath syndrome, very run down and in need of lots of repair and redecoration. Desk weeeny, desk chair huge. Room huge, bathroom weeny. Windows grimy, very noisy too because of single glazing (in a city??).

We went out as soon as possible.

Fab location.

Got back, room looked slightly more inviting in the dark. Beds are quite small with really mean bedding and pillows. Husband took the 8 year old, I the seven year old but we still didnt really have enough bedding.

In the morning the shower worked. Which was good. I had to clean the bath before I stepped into it though. Not so good. Towels were teeny, rough and thin. And there were only 2 for 4 of us.

Breakfast was interesting. Fruit was plastic and for display only! Hilarious!!! Teeny 2 slice toaster for everyones use, white bread, muffins and croissant. OK. VERY miserable woman on duty who was mumbling and grumbling and generally not happy.

Oh joy......checkout!!!! lets get outta here!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanjeanbakedbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we welcome any constructive comments.

I have noted your comments and we are taking the immediate steps to address the deficiencies you noted.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we can be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Walking distance to the ROM, and subway stations, bixi bike rentals and yorkvilee.
The hotel is old and needs attention, rooms are warm, but you need to ask for a minibar fridge at the reception and they'l bring one in for you !
They serve free breakfast, nothing fancy.
Good for single travellers or someone looking for a place to crash at night.

Room Tip: High floor, street facing, ask for fridge in advance
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sec0ndStep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Went here with my mom and it wrked out for the 8 days we were £23 per person per day. Included free was WiFi and continental breakfast (tea, coffee, sunny D, toast, begals, coissants, fresh fruit, yougurts, muffins and cereal).

Got their via airport limo (cost around $60 plus tip) and its just next to the heart of the city via three subway stops.

The hotel its self is in the high end of the city, nestled between a Farrari shop and high end shopping (Prada, Gucci, Tiffany etc).

The guys at the reception were the best! Really welcoming, helped us because we turned up around 2pm and let us stash our bags before checking in almost an hour early (check in is 4pm btw, check out 12pm).

There is one life, which works fine, never had to wait on it the entire trip. We were on the second floor (208) and its a key card system to enter the room (put the more colourful side towards the left side of the door, drag it down and hold it for a second till it beeps, then go in).

Room was spacious, with a TV, king sized bed (three pillows for some reason), table with two chairs. Plenty of lights/lamps. HEating/air con unit, black out surtains etc. There was an availability for a connecting room but it has two locks, one with an actual key and then the little turn lock thing, so pretty secure.

Maids were nice, we left some electrical items out and nothing was touched/taken. Bathroom was clean, fresh towels every day. The bed is changed every day but if you don't need it changed there is a little card you can put on the bed and the maid will just make it up for you.

There are 8 floors in total, elevator is squick. Cinema is like down two blocks then turn to the left.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SerenKimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

While this hotel is right in the middle of a great location, the desk help is slow and extremely limited when it comes to giving any restaurant ideas and the like. The rooms are outdated, the breakfast leaves much to be desired, unless if you like frozen bagels. The hair dryer in the bathroom is rigged to be hooked up to an extention cord....could go on and on but I will stop here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JMM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All feedback from our guests is important to us and allows us the opportunity to improve our services.

I was of course concerned to hear the details of your experience while staying with us and I can assure you that I have noted your comments and they will be addressed immediately.

Again, my sincere thanks for your feedback and we hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here on a Wednesday in March for one night. We booked a king size room online for 70$ and found the room very nice for the price. It was very spacious and clean. There was a nice real brick wall behind the bed. The washroom was quite small, but clean and it would be fine for a couple nights. The useable space in the closet was very small also, but if you don't need to hang much up it's fine.

There is free coffee or hot water in the lobby at all times because there is no coffee maker in the room. There was no fridge in our room either. There is a continental breakfast downstairs in the morning. It was on until 9:30 am during the week. We got there at 8:45 and it was slim pickings, so you would need to make a move early for best selection. I did manage to snag the last yogourt and last banana, so it wasn't bad. There were still plenty of bagels and coffee.

The parking was very convenient in the backyard of the hotel. It was 15$, plus taxes made 17$, so fairly standard for downtown. That's daily. There weren't a ton of spots, so perhaps in high season you have to park in a nearby lot instead.

There is a whole foods market right next door, so you can get nice snacks and drinks there.

We found a very nice all you can eat sushi restaurant about a 12 minute walk away on Yonge street near Davenport. Aji Sushi I think it was called. Very reasonable, fresh and tasty. The Japanese reception man at the hotel recommended it and he was right.

The location was very good, and is very close to the ROM museum. We would stay there again for sure, if the price was similar.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suitcaseattheready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. We are currently in the process of adding coffee makers to all the rooms. You will be able to enjoy freshly brewed coffee in your room on your next visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Howard Johnson Yorkville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Asian guy genuinely cared to help us with a few small things b4 we could settle in. Great cont. Breakfast.
A worthy hotel experience at twice the price!, well done!,
A

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Challengerb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments on our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Howard Johnson, Toronto Yorkville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#77 of 137 in Toronto
483 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#61 of 137 in Toronto
1,508 reviews
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#96 of 137 in Toronto
197 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#99 of 137 in Toronto
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Address: 89 Avenue Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , Yorkville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $85 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of upscale and trendy Yorkville-Bloor Village. Our hotel in Toronto, ON, provides you with high-speed Internet access, free Rise & Dine continental breakfast and use of our fitness room. We offer around the clock coffee and tea service, and children under 12 stay for free. Public transportation is just one block away, providing quick and easy access to many areas around the city. Our wonderful location and 24-hour front desk staff makes our hotel near Queen's Park the answer to your Toronto lodging needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Yorkville
Howard Johnson Toronto
Toronto Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing