We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad We Saw It”

Black Creek Pioneer Village
Ranked #48 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With its 35 restored buildings from the 1860s, this village recreates Victorian-era pioneer life for visitors.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glad We Saw It”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Well, we went and it was fine. What made it wonderful were the interpreters. Buildings without the interpreters were just OK. It would have been nice to have audio one could listen to in the buildings/areas where there was no staff present. We happened to be here when the quilts were on display and they were stunning. It was also fabulous that children are free during the week (M-F) throughout July and August. It would have been nice to have some pre-education about the village instead of just being left to wander the buildings in random order. Maybe a little video?? explaining the village and how it came to be before being let loose on the grounds. We also appreciated being forewarned on the website of the 700+ day campers being present on a particular day. This was so helpful in planing our trip there!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    147
    31
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was a gem to find.. much larger and better than the website would suggest! It is like going back into time to see actual crafts being made, such as a tinsmith, a blacksmith, etc. We had a great visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nice to be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to Black Creek on a Sunday of a long weekend. Surprisingly not so busy. The interpreters were helpful and provided information for the various buildings. The Brewery tour was well worth it, with Blythe, our guide being very animated and made it quite lively. Gift shop and entry area is spacious. Lots of stuff to browse through at the shop. Admission process was efficient. The grounds however are suffering from lack of maintenance or funds (or both). Some of the buildings and fencing is falling into disrepair, many needing a desperate coat of paint. This changes on a regular basis. All in all, still a good place to visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MVH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed - gone down hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

With a couple of exceptions, I found the interpreters poor. The fellow in the original log house was interesting, Nancy in the frame house talked incessantly about herself, yet told us nothing about the house, except that a man who had lived in that house as a child gave them a photo of himself playing on the porch - but the photo was not on display Apparently, it's in "Nancy's private collection" - at her house in other words - odd. I recall her saying the same thing several years ago when I was there before. She also told us "people love to talk to Nancy", yet I wondered how anyone could get a word in edgewise! The interpreters in the tin shop, doctors house and print shop gave a good talk. The mill interpreter sat on a chair and just stared at us as we walked through - offered no information whatsoever. Several of the buildings were closed or had no interpreters. In the main entrance building, there is a great exhibit about British Home Children which is a must see. The rest of the exhibits in the main entrance are dismal - the clothing exhibit, advertised in the brochure, consists of ONE dress and about 4 panels explaining different dress period, most of which have no relation whatever to the museum's time period. Food available on the day was dismal, snack bar type stuff, hot dogs, chips, pop, and ridiculously expensive at that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank annabananaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great historic day-trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Greatly recommended for history lovers and families with children. I was looking for some local history on my visit to Toronto and came across Black Creek Pioneer Village where I spent a really nice day. There's quite a large variation of buildings in the village, from simple farmers cottages to 'posh' middle-class homes and also shops, churches and a school. The costumed employees are all really enthusiastic to tell you more about the buildings you visit. I also took part in the free Behind Closed Doors tour, which was really interesting. The guide took us into some buildings which were normally not open. Also, people from Fort York in downtown Toronto were doing musket demonstrations in the village, which was a great addition.

There are just two things to mind when you visit: the food available at the village is not very much. There's a kiosk where you can buy a somewhat decent lunch or snack and there are some snacks in the gift shop, but not really a restaurant. The second thing is: this attraction is not very easy to reach by public transport, definitely an hour or more from downtown Toronto. Follow the instructions on the village's website and prepare yourself well for which bus to take and where to get off etc.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TCuperus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Creek Pioneer Village also viewed

 

Been to Black Creek Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing