We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gilded small theater that's the world's only double decker”

The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre
Ranked #58 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Gilded small theater that's the world's only double decker”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is the world's only operating double decker theater. At the ground floor, it is Elgin, and going up, there's Winter Garden. 2 complete different style theater - with Elgin in gilded glamour, and Winter Garden nature themed (ceiling has hanging leaves). Both theater has box seats (at sides), I only tried the Elgin ones, highly recommend. (photos showing view from Box H, Box G is the first one on the right)

In all, a unique theatre that you should definitely go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    38
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Theatre is as interesting as what's happening on stage”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a delight the Elgin theatre is. So many decorative features and from what I’ve read, it’s a an authentic restoration. The formal period features – all gold and embellished – are beautiful. I would love to have taken a tour but it wasn’t to be, on this trip.

I was lucky enough to see a few movies in this theatre during TIFF. At different times we sat in the orchestra and mezzanine seats and both had great views of the screen (in this case or stage for a live show.) The only comment I would make about choosing seats would be to avoid the far right/left balcony seats for a movie screening.

Be sure to look up!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surprise highlight of trip!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

On vacation in Toronto last week, took my theatre-nut daughter on a volunteer-led tour of these theatres, at 5pm on a Thursday. Aside from the fact that the two guides were fantastic, the theatres themselves were mind-blowing in different ways. I'm not a huge theatre guy, just a casual fan, but the Winter Garden is the most (pleasantly) unusual and unexpected theatre experience I've had. Let's just say that you have to see it in person to believe it. Highly recommend visiting; the tour is offered only a couple days each week, and covers both theatres in roughly two hours. Hats off to the two women (forgot the names) who made the 5pm tour on July 18 a great experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cantfindmyglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thank God for some History”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

In the day and age of Glasstowers,Highrise-Condos ect. it is wonderfull to meet some histotical charm and gem.Love to visit the Elgin.Have sat in different seats and stage is nicely visible.I am hearing-imp.and find the acoustic very acceptable for my situation.I love the smaller scale of the Theatre and of course the beautiful décor.Staff [or are they Volunteers?]are always helpful and friendly.This year I enjoyed "Die Zauberfloete"and "The Ciacomo Variations".Waiting to see what's next.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bebetanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
315 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Amethyst awards”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Love these classic centres. Very ornate.....Great venue for the awards........great view from most seats. Nice decor.......if the lighting was in house, excellently done. Have to come back some time for a play or some other event.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norm907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing