We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous collections of Canadian art”

The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario
Book In Advance
More Info
$382.13*
and up
Ritz and Glamour Toronto - VIP Entertainment Tour
More Info
$62.73*
and up
Toronto Small-Group City Tour
More Info
$120.67*
and up
Toronto Downtown Private Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 515 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 90,000 works of art, the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) is among the largest and most distinguished art museums in North America. An international landmark, the AGO is also one of Canada’s most innovative cultural destinations. Highlights of the Gallery’s world-class collection include iconic Canadian and Inuit works, along with European and contemporary art – all on view in a spectacular building transformed by renowned Toronto-born architect Frank Gehry. After spending time with the AGO’s vast collection, be sure to enjoy a meal or glass of wine at the Gallery’s award-winning restaurant FRANK. Visit shopAGO for a unique collection of artful gifts, one-of-a-kind jewelry, and beautiful art books.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous collections of Canadian art”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The AGO has a phenomenal collection of historical and contemporary art. For Canadian art lovers this is a must see. Tremendous groupings of the Group of Seven, Cornelius Krieghoff, David Milne and others. Well worth the time and money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,064
    975
    243
    58
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“My loveletter to the AGO”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I go to this Art Gallery at every opportunity I get. The ways I love the AGO:
I love
The building full of light.
The wooden ribs, sturdy, strong and representative of our country.
That a lot of care is taken to exhibit in new and innovating ways. Not only era's or artists but also whimsical and based on a certain colour or the fun of a quiet exhibition in a quiet room with self portraits!
That the store is much more than a store.
That I can have coffee break in the sunshine with a cookie
That I can have a brilliant inexpensive lunch among vibrant students.
That they have space, and lots of it and show it off shamelessly.
That I can always go and admire old friends at the permanent collection.
That I will find something thought provoking to contemplate over in one of the many spaces where one can meander through.
That I discover another lovely story of life when I visit the AGO.
No doubt, I love the AGO.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gulietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I loved this museum. The architecture of the building is impressive, with wonderful staircases up to the modern collections. The modern collections themselves were quite extensive covering 2 to 3 floors. In addition, there was a floor of classic Canadian artwork, and many more changing exhibitions. This museum was the highlight of Toronto for me. The museum is huge and you just can't absorb everything at once. Try to focus on the areas you prefer first, otherwise you'll find yourself here for an entire day if you spend time looking at every piece of artwork.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Canadian art”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Huge selection of Group of Seven paintings. Gorgeous atrium overlooking a street of victorian homes and shops.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank carlactive996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love the new facade, and the collection is always amazing.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A few years ago the AGO underwent a transformation. The new Frank Gerhy facade has created a wondeful glass sculpture garden which overlooks Dundas St. and whose wooden trusses make you feel like you are walking through the hull of a ship. At the south end, a new tower gives 2 new floors of rotating modern art shows. The original gallery spaces, housing the excellent and extensive permanent collection have survived untouched.

An often overlooked spot is the basement. After you pass security go down the stairs to see the Thompson model boat collection. An amazing range from models hand made by prisoners during the Napoleonic wars to professionally made architectural models made to show buyers what they were commissioning.

This is a wonderful piece of Toronto and always worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadianG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario also viewed

 

Been to The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing