We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat”

The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario
Book In Advance
More Info
$387.82*
and up
Ritz and Glamour Toronto - VIP Entertainment Tour
More Info
$64.57*
and up
Downtown Toronto Bike Tour
More Info
$102.06*
and up
Toronto Downtown Private Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 513 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 90,000 works of art, the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) is among the largest and most distinguished art museums in North America. An international landmark, the AGO is also one of Canada’s most innovative cultural destinations. Highlights of the Gallery’s world-class collection include iconic Canadian and Inuit works, along with European and contemporary art – all on view in a spectacular building transformed by renowned Toronto-born architect Frank Gehry. After spending time with the AGO’s vast collection, be sure to enjoy a meal or glass of wine at the Gallery’s award-winning restaurant FRANK. Visit shopAGO for a unique collection of artful gifts, one-of-a-kind jewelry, and beautiful art books.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

if you are a resident of Toronto with a library card, you can get free passes Saturday morning at certain library branches for access to various Toronto attractions including the AGO. Quite a bonus. It is always a great place to visit. While you are there have a nice lunch at Frank's and made a day of it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,026
    961
    238
    57
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our last trip to the AGO was for the Frida and Diego exhibit. We thoroughly enjoyed the exhibit but wish I'd read more about the artist before going. Lots of information however was posted so we learned as we went. We are members and have been for a few years and because we're from out of town we get a special rate to join that includes free coat check, free tickets for special exhibits and admission to the member's lounge for lunch - which we now do every time we go. Good food, very comfortable surroundings and good service - and you never feel rushed. Tours that run for free during the day- we have enjoyed these a couple of times - meet in the Walker Court and when the docent arrives the group decides where you what to visit. Groups are always small - once it was just the 2 of us!
The best time to arrive we've found is around 10:30 or 11:00.
We always park at Yorkdale and take the subway down - parking near the AGO is not convenient and on weekdays it's quite expensive.
Always a great place to visit - for a special tour or exhibit - or just to see any of the wonderful art pieces in the collection.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnandmike1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"What a showcase of Canadian Artist's + others"”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After a visit to the AGO I always come away overwhelmed by the paintings it holds, especially those by Canadian Artist, and as my title suggests there are many painting by other artists from all over the world, the AGO is a wonderful place to spend a few hours in just looking, each time I go I find something that I have not noticed before, the AGO has many special exhibits during the years, and many great events, some which are fundraisers, and tend to be too pricey for me, but they need to survive. There is a pleasant cafeteria style restaurant downstairs, which serves good coffee, and sandwhiches, there is an upscale restaurant on the first floor should you want to eat there. Our grandchildren love to come with us for a visit, as there is always something to do for them, drawing, colouring, all sorts of activities.
I freguently simply go after 6 on Wednesday,, when entrance is FREE ! and sit in one of the rooms, admiring paintings created in the past, and let them soak into my head, it

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank neilm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Art, Food and Shop”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Love the Group of Seven works, the huge model boat exhibition on the lower level (easy to miss if you don't look for it), Franks Restaurant and the great selection of fun gifts and stuff that you can buy in the museum shop. Don't miss the Henry Moore Statue just outside the entrance.

Great architecture. A delight to look at from outside and inside.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank USMB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well you don't know...”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

what you don't know. Canadian art...who knew? Well I certainly didn't. This is a very beautiful and very interesting museum. Standing in the new addition looking out through the "ships ribs" is worth the trip. I was intrigued by the models of wooden ships but utterly unprepared for the amazing display of paintings. A must see IMHO.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario also viewed

 

Been to The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing