We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Frida and Diego visit!”

The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario
Book In Advance
More Info
$387.82*
and up
Ritz and Glamour Toronto - VIP Entertainment Tour
More Info
$64.57*
and up
Downtown Toronto Bike Tour
More Info
$102.06*
and up
Toronto Downtown Private Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 513 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 90,000 works of art, the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) is among the largest and most distinguished art museums in North America. An international landmark, the AGO is also one of Canada’s most innovative cultural destinations. Highlights of the Gallery’s world-class collection include iconic Canadian and Inuit works, along with European and contemporary art – all on view in a spectacular building transformed by renowned Toronto-born architect Frank Gehry. After spending time with the AGO’s vast collection, be sure to enjoy a meal or glass of wine at the Gallery’s award-winning restaurant FRANK. Visit shopAGO for a unique collection of artful gifts, one-of-a-kind jewelry, and beautiful art books.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cambridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“The Frida and Diego visit!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We try to get down to the AGO at least once per year. I would love to do it more often but since it's an hour away...I go when there is something that I really want to see.

We are privileged to have the Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera exhibit "Passion, Politics and Painting" at the AGO. I am a huge fan of Frida Kahlo. I love all things Mexican but I truly love the spirit of this woman who endured so much in her life time. She is one of my female heroes. Her beauty and intensity comes out in her work.

The exhibition is beautiful. It allows a peek at these two great artists...their life and their work.

The AGO is a world class Art Gallery/Museum. This is a must stop for anyone visiting Toronto.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsalot!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,026
    961
    238
    57
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For Art Lovers”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The best art gallery in Toronto. Extensive collection of European art from all periods and very good as well for contemporary and Canadian art. Usually hosts a "blockbuster" touring show in addition to the regular collection. The new building is worth a visit on its own. Also has a good shop and a very good restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great gallery”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Superb gallery, went for the Thursday evening experience - recommend viewing this way to avoid mega crowds and coach parties. There were obviously people there that were not for the art and more for being seen there! The galleries are superb and show so much work from the artists, really nice to see .. Henry Moore gallery was amazing, to get so close to so many pieces. The only real gripe was the woman on the door when we were leaving. She insisted quite rudely and abruptly that we could only exit 'by the ramp' despite the steps being straight in front of us and nobody trying to come in - they were empty. No need to be this way, first impression was superb, last impression was not good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“World-class building that houses a world-class art collection”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited the Frida and Diego exhibit at the AGO last week and it was absolutely magnificent. While there, we also visited the old masters - a beautiful collection of art works including paintings and sculpture. I always particularly love The Henry Moore Sculpture Centre - a must see every visit. We took a break in the lovely Espresso Bar on the second floor of the Galleria Italia - delicious and well-priced. A great day despite the rain.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“frida kahlo and diego ribera like you never saw them”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This show was made up from art not usually seen by us since it is in private collecctions, many in \mexico.

THe fanciful dios del muerte figures, depicting Kahlo and Ribera, were stupendous.

The AGO is one of these airport-style modern architectural grandiosities that I really despise but the public eats it up, \i'm told, so go eat it up

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario also viewed

 

Been to The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing