We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
A TripAdvisor Member
Buffalo, NY
16
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Stayed at the hotel on May 18, 2006 for a concert, just for one night. It was VERY small, but it is in a great location and within walking distance to many attractions, but DO wear comfortable shoes!! If you are going for ambience, this is not the place. If you just want somewhere to lay your head then this will do nicely. The Tim Horton's across the street is perfect if you are on a budget. The concierge does not know much, or, if he does, he does not verbalize it. We asked for directions and he simply drew on a map, no words whatsoever. Oh well!! The bathrooms are not well ventilated and have very low ceilings. You need to wait 30 minutes to apply makeup in the mirror or do it in the room. But, for a cheap night in Toronto, it is worth a go.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2006

We had pleasant stay at this hotel. Yes – the rooms are small but they are clean. Before our arrival I sent an email to the hotel asking for non smoking room. I got a reply within few hours confirming my request.
The staff were very helpful. There was no safe in the room but you can put your valuables to the safety boxes in reception.
The location is very good. Very close to Union Station.
The rooms and bathrooms might need a little updating (we had cracked sink in the bathroom…) but if I was going to Toronto again I would stay at this hotel. The location is perfect and if you use the hotel just for sleeping – that’s the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Zabka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We booked this hotel on the back of the reviews on this website and we weren't disappointed. Ditto everything stated in previous (good) reviews- you can't beat the location- even for the airport express bus which drops off and picks up straight opposite the hotel. Although on the way back to the airport the hotel booked us a cab with a company they have an arrangement for $45. It was also ideal for us as we were picking up a hire car at Union Station- literally 3 minutes walk. The rooms weren't the biggest, but very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SRWCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2006

This hotel is situated on the doorstep of Union station, the financial district, CN tower and a host of other attractions. The size of rooms could be a drawback to some (they aren't much bigger than your average British living room), but they are clean and functional. The hotel is well situated for tourists or even just visitors to Toronto looking for a good night out. There is a Tim Horton's coffee house across the street that serves hot food until 3am, and coffee 24/7, plus a newsagent. Union is the nearest TTC subway stop, right at the heart of the network.
Those after more style and larger rooms should consider the Fairmont Royal York, just across the street on Front St. W.
All in all a very good hotel for travellers on a budget without their own transport.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gnarcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2006

I found the Strathcona Hotel to be a great hotel for the value and location. I recently attended a meeting at the Convention Center and found the location was much better than the other hotels recommended. The price was extremely reasonable for what I received in return. The room was clean, updated and comfortable. Although small, it served all the needs that I expected and more for a $250/night hotel let alone a $130/night which I paid.
Only one problem, the shower didn't have good pressure and was just warm in the morning. Other than that, I can say the staff was extremely friendly. It was located across the street from a convienence store(which came in handy) and Tim Horton's as well as near many restaurants within walking distance. It takes about 4-5minutes to walk to the convention center and the CN Tower.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shoes7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2006

It was our second time going to Toronto- When we went to book it there was only smoking rooms left. Our room was very small and at the back of the hotel. The room smelt of stale smoke for the whole 7 days also the wallpaper had yellow smoke stains on it. When we opened a window there was an air vent right beside us so it was too noisey. However the location of the hotel was perfect for getting around the city. The staff were nice and there was always someone on recpetion.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank globetrotter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2006

Best kept secret for the tourist that wants to be downtown, without paying 159.00 per night. Suprised to see that we were across the street from the Royal York..only blocks away from the AC Centre,Skydome, CN Tower,Wayne Gretzkys,theater district,Hockey Hall of Fame, and the Young Street shopping...get the picture. For 85.00 per night,it is easy to overlook the small rooms.Everything looks newly renovated, certainly very clean.
Great breakfast, and friendly staff!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank larryjoebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,068 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 137 in Toronto
2,717 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 137 in Toronto
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,551 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $124 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing