We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #57 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed August 27, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed here three nights for vacation. The rooms are small, but very tidy and have nice décor. One of our mattresses was uncomfortable but we switched beds with our daughter. It was very quiet we were able to get a good night's sleep.

There's no free breakfast and rather than spending $45 for three of us to eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant we went to a Tim Horton's adjacent to the hotel.

For those not familiar with Toronto, I would suggest using the valet parking service. The cost is only a bit more than municipal parking garage located next door. My husband got lost when exiting and went the wrong way down a one way street.

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the subway station (St. Andrew's) and it was perfect for our travels around town. There are many, many restaurants of all types located nearby for a great dining experience.

Only complaints were about the mattress as mentioned above and housekeeping didn't refill our hand soap in our bathroom, so we used shampoo which is probably the same thing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieHenryLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

We went straight tot the hotel from the train at 11.10am, were told they didnt have rooms for ourselves and our friends on the same floor, we were glad to get 2 rooms so early, then we got told we had a free upgrade! Yes as many have said the rooms are smaller, even our upgrades but they were spotlessly clean and fresh with really nice bedding. What more can you want for a one night stay when you are only sleeping in the room anyway. All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful. At checkout we were asked if we needed a cab or our bags storing, we stored our bags while we wandered around before our train. When next visiting Toronto for a game or show will definitely book here again and recommend to others

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafiki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I was at The Strathcona Hotel from August 15 to 20 while in Toronto for a conference, choosing this hotel because all of the conference hotels were booked for the five nights I needed to be in town, and this was the closest I could find to the convention center without busting the budget. It turned out to be an excellent choice and will definitely stay here again.

I have to admit my first impression - getting off the airport shuttle and walking through the construction zone past the very impressive looking Fairmont Royal York - was not that great. Because of the construction related to Union Station, the block of York Street south of the hotel (heading from Front) is a series of pedestrian mazes; and without through traffic, York seems like a backwater street despite being in the middle of town.

My concerns were reduced when I entered the simple, but tidy, lobby area and was greeted by two friendly staff. Having read other reviews, I wasn't surprised to be asked to sign the "noise policy", but was pleasantly surprised when I was offered free internet for the duration of my stay and a top floor room. The clerk even asked me how many devices I needed to connect to wi-fi and even gave me an extra access code in case I needed it.

Interesting quirk: the "welcome bag" included a bottle of water, potato chips and oreo cookies.

On reaching the 12th floor I was a concerned (again... perhaps paranoid because of some of the other reviews mentioning noise) when I found my room was right behind the elevator. Again, not a problem at all. Never heard it once during my stay.

The "executive" king room was as I expected from the photos on the hotel website: two-drawer "dresser"; armoire instead of a closet; writing desk; bonus chair; coffee maker; wall-mounted flat screen tv; and smallish bathroom with tub-shower combo.

Everything was clean. Lighting was great for working/relaxing. Plantation shutters worked great for reducing light and gaining privacy. Windows opened a bit for fresh air (and up on the 12th floor looking into the interior of the property, noise wasn't really an issue). A/C worked well to tackle the humidity.

The room isn't large. Since it was just me, I was able to set my suitcase in the corner next to the dresser, although I could see if a couple had multiple suitcases, daypacks, purses, or briefcases, storage could be a problem. Same goes with the armoire and dresser. It was sufficient for one person with five days' clothing for a business trip, but a couple for an equal stay... it would be a challenge I think.

Bonus in the room: mini-fridge.

Bathroom was small - and like everything else very clean. Between the small shelf and countertop, I had enough room for my stuff. I liked the eco-friendly approach to soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion in containers. I would have preferred a third container in the shower for a properly formulated body wash rather than a combo shampoo/body wash. But I quibble...

While the hotel website had some great deals, I booked using a Trip Advisor discount code and was quite happy with the value.

Location: really convenient to Union Station, arriving by Airport Express bus, subway (at either St. Andrews or Union), streetcars and an easy walk to the convention center via either Front Street or the skywalk (from York and Station Sts). Tim Hortons, Second Cup, and Starbucks are close-by as well. In order to get away from chain restaurants, the St. Lawrence Market area was just a 10 minute walk east along Wellington and Front.

Room Tip: Executive king room on the 12th floor was quiet. Never heard my neighbors except when they were comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TacomaGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

As others have posted excellent location in the center of the city but in a quiet side street. Near transport hubs and plenty of restaurants.

Very clean and well kept establishment with a cozy bar attached next door. Would get more points if I didn't have to pay for the wifi. A real bug bear of me. It should be free to guests.

I would say its very good value for money compared the other hotels nearby

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I booked the strathcona hotel on hotels.com on July 24th and just stayed there this past Saturday and Sunday (August 16th and 17th). I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel to stay for one night while I am currently on vacation. I didn't want to spend a lot of money but I wanted to stay somewhere nice. This hotel offered both of that!!! My stay was Great!!! Spent Saturday shopping and went out for dinner. I arrived to the hotel a little after 2pm and was able to check in right away! Sunday the weather was so much better so I didn't want to head home right away. The hotel held my luggage for me for free while I explored more of the city!!!

I will definitely be back and next time I will stay an extra night!

Rebecca h.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

In fairness, the good news first: this is a clean, efficient, affordable hotel in a good downtown location. But poor soundproofing and a management that can't control guests is a bad combination for a place that calls itself a "business hotel."

It is not a hotel's fault when the people next door enjoy the loud music, shouts, and shrieks that go with having a good time, But it IS a hotel's fault when they can't or won't effectively communicate to rowdy neighbors that they need to keep things quiet at night. There are ways to let guests know they need to keep things quiet in a way that will get them to cooperate, but this hotel didn't have the ability or willingness to do that and so after multiple phone calls and a visit to the front desk the noise continued. At one point I suggested that perhaps the front desk could give my neighbors an empty room to party in or at least vouchers for the hotel's Pub to encourage them to move their party out of their room and into the Pub; that way my neighbors could have their fun, and I could get my sleep, and everyone would be happy. But the manager said he couldn't do either of those things. Listen, before you call me a grinch, I am not opposed to fun and I wish I could have joined the party, but unfortunately I was staying at this "business hotel" on business and needed to get up early. A hotel with paper-thin walls and a timid management is not the place to stay if you might need to get some sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hi Dan,

First and foremost I want to thank you for your review. All reviews provide both travellers, as well as the hotel, valuable information.

I am very sorry to hear your experience with us was not up to our standards.

I have sent you a private message last week to verify your last name, as well as check out date so I can investigate further and follow up where necessary.

Unfortunately I was not made aware of the issues you experienced, so any information you can provide me with would be very much appreciated.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Meg Brooke
Front Office Manager
fom@thestrathconahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I booked this room for one night at a high price of 250$ but the other hotels in this area were priced the same and higher.
They have valet parking at 40$ a night which is a little high but it's Toronto.
All parking, especially on nights when a big act is in town will take advantage of your pocketbook.

We checked in at 3 on the dot, valet parking was very quick to respond to me, promptly gave me a ticket with a number on it, very polite person.

Front desk was very easy, just asked for id and credit card, gave us the room key and directed us on how to get to the elevators, very efficient and polite, no complaints.

The room was clean, bathroom was nice with hand soap, body lotion, shampoo and body wash. Clean towels. No complaints.

The beds were scrumptious, omg, I wanted to take one home in my car, lol.

The climate in the room was good and elevators were fast to arrive.
Smoked outside the doors without any harassment, nice for a change.

Three complaints
1... The charge of 6$ a day for wifi is a little degrading, I just paid 300$ for parking and the hotel, should be a free bee

2... I had purchased a concert package with the hotel where upon checkin you are supposed to receive a welcome bag which the two teenagers with me were quite excited to get.
We got one brown bag at check out after I asked for them, but I shouldn't have bothered and neither should the hotel, the contents was a bottle of water, a Halloween sized bag of chips and a small Oreo cookie school snack treat. They were quite let down, but we had a good laugh at it all,the same.

3...we got a call at 815 am, I guess the hotels version of a wake up call which we did not ask for, very troubling since we had a late night and we were not due to check out until 11, three hours notice is excessive

4...as I was going to the elevator to search for coffe at 830 am, The maid
working on the tenth floor asked me which room I was in and when I was leaving, odd.


Anyway, the night was enjoyable and the hotel is close to the rogers centre, but since it is in the financial district keep in mind that the fast food places close early. There is a Tim's across the street and a subway around the corner with another Tim's

Overall very expensive but it's toronto trying to be New York once again

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Makdeemak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hi Makdeemak,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Regarding the Wifi charge, internet that is included is often built into the rate. Since everyone does not use internet. We try to keep our rates competitive and only charge for those who choose to use it.

I am sorry to hear you did not receive your Welcome bag upon check-in, and will follow up with the staff member who checked you in. Next time you are in town, please contact me directly and I will be sure you receive something special.

Wake up calls are not programmed unless asked for, so it is possible this may have been a misdial from another guestroom. I am sorry to hear either way that you were woken earlier than wanted.

Next time you are in the area please feel free to contact me directly to arrange your reservation.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 138 in Toronto
2,759 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 138 in Toronto
1,100 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#47 of 138 in Toronto
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,865 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $106 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing