We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel reminds me of the European Ibis chain. Very small rooms, very neutral décor, very handy location for downtown and all mod cons. Our twin-bedded room - the cheapest, for some reason - had a good flat screen TV mounted on the wall, a coffee maker, a bowed shower curtain rod so that the wet curtain didn't 'suck in' when one was showering, and very comfortable beds. Good sized closet too so that we could stow our suitcase in there. On our return from the theatre we appreciated the coffee machine in the lobby which for a reasonable price offered decent lattes. Only minor problem was the construction outside. We will certainly use it again on trips to Toronto.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailr97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Gail,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during TIFF with a business colleague so we were glad to find a room so centrally located. Unfortunately, the service was rather sloppy and some of the staff did not really seem to care. My colleague was shown to his room after a late night arrival, only to find it seemed to be still in use by another guest and was not cleaned. He also had trouble with his taxi driver, and hoping to settle the dispute brought the driver up to reception. The staff were not helpful and did not support his call for assistance. On the last day we ordered a taxi for the airport and it was taken by another guest when we arrived. All in all not a very satisfactory stay.

Room Tip: If you want a queen or twin, do specify. I didn't and was shown to a twin room and had to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlj0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi Jlj0511,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. All feedback provides valuable information for us, to help continuously improve our service to guests like yourself, so it is always much appreciated.

Unfortunately we do not own a taxi service or endorse any one company in particular. That being said, I can still understand your frustrations.

If you are ever back in the area again, I would like to invite you to give us another chance to stay with us and experience the hotel in all its intended glory. Feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure your booking.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent location at a very affordable price.
Efficient, clean room that reminded me of the hotels I found in Japanese cities - comfortable and no need to be big.
It was on the recommend list of a conference I attended, but I have noted this hotel for my future visits to Toronto.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frits01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Frits01,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write this review.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel service was very good. The hotel is very conveniently located near the convention center, which was a plus for us. The room was quite small, so movement in the room was very constrained. But the room was clean and tidy and well appointed. The cleaning staff was diligent in cleaning and re-stocking the room every day.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger rooms, the higher rate is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SumitD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for writing this review. Your comments will be very helpful for people looking for a hotel close to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, which is five minutes from our front doors. We hope you had a great visit to our city and hope to welcome you back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very nice place to stay in terms of bang for the buck and location. When I was there, the roads leading to the hotel were under construction, but no big deal.

Online descriptions showed on-premise resto-bar had a last-call at 23:30...but nowhere did it mention the kitchen closes at 21:45! That left me looking for a place to get a bite after a lengthy commute. Would have been good to know in advance what time the restaurant closed AS WELL AS the bar!

Stayed on Executive floors and was supposed to receive a gift package at check-in. I had to go ask for it after day one and received a brown paper bag with a bottle of water, a bag of chips and another snack. Cute, but felt silly having to ask for it.

Left empty water bottle and wrapper on the table in the room and it stayed there for the duration of my visit - 2 nights! THAT was more surprising than the restaurant issue, but the bed was made and the bathroom cleaned daily, so not a complete disaster.

I'd stay here again because of the location and price - I would just have different expectations going in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Strathcona is just steps away from Union Station and within walking distance of the major tourist areas of Toronto. Staff are friendly and obliging. The bed was comfortable and the room well appointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PRF48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi PRF48,

Thank you very much for the glowing review.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hubby and I had three nights at the Strathcona Hotel. While the hotel presents a modern, semi-stylish approach (obvious updates to the hotel interior) our room was SO small and very stuffy with next to no fresh air or air conditioning (glad we weren't there in summer!!). Whilst we didn't complain or raise any alarm at the time I think this feedback is worth noting.
The room, once over the initial size (shockingly small with a tiny bed - thank goodness my husband and I aren't the size of whales), was clean as were the bathroom facilities with a good shower (good water pressure).
Hotel staff were friendly and approachable. We took advantage of the breakfast bar/cafe twice during our stay and were satisfied with service and food.
We were charged twice for room service (and one phone call) and had to contact Strathcona to have this amended on our Mastercard - make sure you double check your bill!
Good location - right near the main railway and walking distance to both the harbor and main shopping district. Shame the size of the room really let us down.

Room Tip: Make sure you check what size room they allocate you and double check your bills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,067 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 137 in Toronto
2,716 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,545 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $124 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing