We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value at the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Strathcona is in a great position at the heart of Toronto near Union Station so handy for public transport and near lots of attractions. While it's not a luxury hotel, it is clean and the modest rooms are designed in an appealing modern manner and the bed was comfortable. You do, however, have to pay extra for a fridge. The staff were friendly and we got a room upgrade which was most welcome. There is a convenience store and a Tim Hortons over the road and a pub in the basement. The construction work round the station didn't bother us and we heard no noise from it. As we weren't driving, parking wasn't an issue. We enjoyed our stay at the Strathcona and thought it was excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Carolyn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your kinds words and we are happy you were able to enjoy our location and our upgraded executive room. We hope to see you back in Toronto again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Dirty Hotel, smelled of strong cleaner and cigarettes in non smoking room. Construction going all day and night. Thin walls, noisy suspicious looking neighbors. Overall friendly staff with only a minor few at service desk that make the hotel look bad. Don't waste your money!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Simpslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok N, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest of the Hotel,

Very sorry to learn about your experience. Ours has been a "Smoke Free" hotel for over 7 years now. Even though we make our guests aware of it, through tent cards placed in guest rooms, signages in public areas, digital boards in elevators, and on all our sales collaterals and web site, some guests simply ignore it. We introduced a $ 250 clean up fee for smoking in the hotel to help eliminate such incidences.The situation is minimised but not completely eliminated. And in an exception when it does occur eliminating the smoke smell does require thorough aeration and cleaning spread over couple of days with a faint after smell. I am sorry again that you were caught up with this situation for absolutely no fault of yours. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here a few times before because of the proximity to the Air Canada Center which is just a hop skip and a jump from this place. The price is cheap and rooms are clean. Nothing outstanding about this place it does the job. The more than a few of the robots roaming the front desk could use with some updating on hospitality professionalism especially management. The rooms are very clean, although small they have every thing you need for a night or two's stay. I recommend this place, clean, good prices and a very desirable location when traveling in by train or taking in a concert at the ACC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillsVspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi MillsVspot,

First and foremost, thank you for taking time out of your day to write your review. We always appreciate any and all feedback!

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, and found we had all necessities required for a comfortable stay. I also appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with our Front Desk staff. Valuable feedback like yours is always useful in scheduling training.

If you are ever back in the area, please feel free to contact me directly, and I will ensure you have a very comfortable and pleasant stay with us and experience the Strathcona Hotel in all of it's glory!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautifully decorated and clean bedroom. Excellent location in the heart of downtown (road works did not impact our experience), with only a short walk to the CN tower, harbour front and Yonge Street. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you kindly for writing this review of our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your visit to Toronto. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights and booked using the tripadvisor code. The room is very small but that was expected after reading all the reviews. The bed is literally right next to the door when you walk in. The room had everything we needed for a short stay: alarm clock radio, tv, iron, a night stand table, a square ottoman that I guess can be used for extra seating, walk in mini closet that has this weird red light, a very narrow table over the air conditioner unit that had to be moved if you wanted to adjust the a/c and hair dryer. The bathroom had some shelves but they were very narrow and I wished they had more hooks. There was this empty wall next to the shower which was screaming "put some hooks on me". You got plastic cups and the soap and shampoo were in squeeze bottle containers attached to the walls. The room had california shutters and we only needed it to block out peering eyes from our neighbours. Hardly any natural light came through because all the buildings surrounding the hotel blocked out the sun. The beds were a bit soft for our taste but we were able to sleep but the walls were pretty thin and you can hear any loud neighbours.

The staff at the front desk was courteous and friendly. When we asked for extra towels, it was not a problem, however, housekeeping took them away even though I hung them up to be used again.

As others have posted, no free wifi but just walk across the street to Tim Hortons. Construction is crazy downtown right now so driving would have been a nightmare. They have this serve yourself espresso/coffee machine as soon as you walk in and alot of people who walk in think it's free and by the time they poured the coffee, they notice the price...cheaper to go to Tim Hortons.
The location is the best thing going for this place; within walking distance of many attractions and the train station. Don't know whether I would stay here again because you can get a better deal bidding on different websites.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank crazy_cat_sab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok N, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest of the Hotel,

Thank you for taking the time to give a fairly detailed review of your stay at the hotel. We have made a note of your suggestions.We are also currently working on an interface to enable free wifi for all our guests. The room occupied by you (two twins) is somewhat tight but we also have larger rooms with two doubles or two queen bedded options. Sorry we could not offer you an upgrade as the hotel has been very busy. Once again we appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I will start with the good... The hotel location is perfect, right in the middle of downtown.

Now the not so good. I should preface this by saying that my wife and I have stayed in some shady hotels, and we're not hard to please at all. I checked in, left our bags in the room and went out for a night on the town. When my wife and I got back, we washed up and were about to hop into bed when we noticed these weird flakes under the sheets. They looked like someone had picked a scab and left all the lovely flakey bits for us (I have some beautiful pictures of them). Absolutely disgusted, we went downstairs to inform the front desk. The man at the front desk said "I'm not regular staff, there's nothing I can do". Keep in mind this is probably around midnight, so their 'regular staff' were probably sleeping at home. I pressed the issue and the man said because we booked through Hotels.com, there was no way he could give us a refund. Finally, after me being nice about the situation, I lost it on him... He eventually gave in and offered to move us to another room. I believe his exact words were "I can move you, but that's the best I can do." I was absolutely disgusted by the service. We were tired, so we took the room and went to bed. What a terrible way to end a great night downtown.

As for the rooms, take a look at the other reviews. If you like living in a shoebox and staring at a brick wall, then boy is this the place for you! I've lived in Korea for a year, and am used to small spaces, but this was just ridiculous (especially for the price you pay). You don't get any extras either. No wifi, no breakfast, not even a mint on your pillow.

Please heed the advice of other reviewers and myself... stay away, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Dirtystirfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok N, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest Of The Hotel,

I am so sorry to hear of your experience and could not agree more with your disappointment. I assure you that I will investigate this very unusual incidence and take necessary corrective action immediately. Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location right downtown, and close to Tim Horton's. Pleasant staff. Great breakfast in restaurant in lobby. VERY small room (smallest I have ever seen for a hotel) but clean. Comfy bed. Good price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelMan1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for writing this review. We are happy to hear our great location was convenient for you. Our custom posturepedic mattresses are also a highlight of our hotel rooms. Be sure to book one of our Executive rooms or ask for an upgrade when you arrive on your next visit to Toronto as our Executive king rooms are larger and very quiet and comfortable. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,080 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 137 in Toronto
2,732 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#47 of 137 in Toronto
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,660 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $116 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing