We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it's Clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #48 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well, it's Clean...”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

As my title states, the rooms in this hotel are impeccably clean, but apart from that, there isn't all that much that's especially good (or especially bad for that matter) about this hotel. The rooms aren't welcoming; they're functional. They're not cozy; they're stark and uninviting. And they certainly are not spacious. I suppose I could recommend this place if you were traveling on business and needed a place to sleep downtown Toronto for a decent price, but that's about it. The white walls, white bedding, white window coverings, minimalistic furniture, laminate flooring and very basic washroom reminded me of a luxury hospital room. So while the location is great, the price is decent, and the rooms are clean, this place is average at best, and I certainly could not recommend staying here for a family vacation or romantic get-away!

The hotel service is average. Front desk staff are neither rude, nor especially friendly. There's no hotel parking (though there is a public parking for $24/day nearby). Internet is an extra charge. The mattresses are decent and the pillows are great. Sound-proofing is poor to average (I'm a very sound sleeper and can guarantee that you WILL be woken-up by other guests using their shower or opening/closing their room door). The common areas (lobby, elevators) are somewhat warm (i.e. AC could be better) and smell a little funny.

All in all, it’s not a horrible hotel, but it’s certainly not a good one either!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie_Madden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Ms Madden

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you found the hotel location, cleanliness and value proposition to your satisfaction. Recently ,we completed a major renovation.The last item pending is the addition of artwork which i hope will render the softness that you found missing in the room. Thanks again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    643
    375
    150
    77
See reviews for
188
535
195
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On the plus side, the Strathcona has a great location. Just across from Union station. It gives you great access to the subway, Via trains, and shuttle buses to the airport. Around the corner on Front street there are quite a few restaurants. You are in the financial district and you can also walk to a couple of museums and the ferry to the Toronto Islands. Also on the plus side is the price. You get this great location for probably $20 - $50 less than other hotels in the neighbourhood. The room I had was clean and in good repair.

On the downside, the rooms are rather small. Also, do not count on a view. The Strathcona is wedged in amongst larger buildings and does not have views on anything appealing. My room had ribbon windows over the alley which was noisy when the garbage truck came early in the.morning . Also, if toiletries are important to you, the Strathcone is on the budget side. It provides plastic cups and soap dispensers on the wall. The room has been redecorated to be trendy with such things as a coloured light illumination through the glass closet door.

The staff, both the front desk and housekeeping, were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fufyfhhfhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Toronto in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We wanted something close to union station very close , Great customer service , clean rooms , easy to get to , smaller rooms but very clean and everything you need for a great night stay.
Close to Rogers Center and Waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12oclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Our hotel is an excellent location if you need to go to Union Station. Please be sure to ask for our VIA Rail discount if you are coming to Toronto on the train!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights (Wednesday thru Friday nights). Clean and comfortable beds. Rooms are small, bathroom is small. My husband is 6'7" and the king bed suit him fine. It was a 5 minute walk to the Air Canada Centre; not much farther for CN Tower or St. Lawrence's Market. About 15 minutes to Eaton Centre. We enjoyed our stay and the hotel. Taking cab costs about $55 from airport. There is a shuttle that would cost about $21 per person. You may want to take Subway or bus to save money. If you are driving figure out your parking ahead of time as the hotel does not have it's own parking area. Lots of restaurants and pubs to eat at in the area depends on your taste and budget. There are plenty of places to meet each budget. Go across the street to Tim Horton's for Wifi. You can even sit out on the street and pick up free Wifi. Most hotels in Toronto charge a fee for Wifi or you need to be in lobby to get for free.

Room Tip: My husband and I were fine with the space in the room. If you feel you would need more than upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your husband is 6'7" - I don't know how I didn't notice him when he was in the hotel! We hope you had a great trip to our country and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

As all the other reviewers have noted, the rooms are a bit small, but nothing too tough to contend with if there are just two/one of you. Stayed 3 nights, quiet even though our stay was during the bustling Canada Day weekend. No complaints of noise whatsoever. Mattress was more than comfortable for this chronically sore back. Front desk efficient and helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. Comfortable 5 minute walk to train station, subway or On and Off bus. Tremendous amount of construction going on in the area, disrupting some of the streetcar routes we would have liked to have used, but we easily walked to CN Tower, Rogers Centre to see a Blue Jays game, the Harbourfront and Eaton Centre to catch the tail end of Pride Day Parade. Many nearby restaurants to this hotel, and the hotel has a cafe for breakfast/lunch that we did not try, we preferred to go across the street to Tim Horton's to get our morning coffee and partake of the free WiFi offered there. We did NOT pay what we thought were ridiculous Wifi daily fees that the Strathcona charged. That, if anything was our only "big" complaint since we are used to no charge WiFi in most places we stay within the US. Minor peeves: rough towels, no bathmat in slippery tub (call housekeeping to get one?), ice machine is on 3rd floor (we were on the 12th), had to pay for coffee from machine in lobby (we passed). Other than that, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place for a traveler to this wonderful city. Poutine! Get Poutine! and did I mention we absolutely loved VIA Rail? By the way, my partner and I both worked as hotel maids in our younger days, and this place passed our cleanliness tests with flying colors!

Room Tip: We did upgrade for a small fee when we booked. Probably was a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Julie. Thank you very much for your kinds words about our hotel. I do agree that there is a tremendous amount of construction taking place around our hotel but once it is complete in 2014, the area is going to look fantastic. We do have bathmats available through our housekeeping department. And we are close to the final stages of a wifi upgrade in our hotel that will offer limited complimentary wifi service. However, we feel our rates of $5.95 for 24 hours, $9.95 for three days and $15.95 for one week are competitive. We will let all our future guests know once the upgrade of our service is complete. As for poutine? It is absolutely one of the great inventions of all time in Canada! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Toronto in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Strathcona Hotel is in an awesome location. Although the rooms are a bit small by US standards, it was very comfortable and clean. It is close to many major attractions, subway line and train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jezebellejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel. We hope you had a great visit to Toronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
234 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room was small but very comfortable, immaculately clean with modern decor. Bathroom was also small but also very good. The staff were very accommodating, helpful, professional and were superior to any others we have experienced. They had no hesitation in holding our luggage until our train left the next evening.
This hotel is situated very close to the railway station, harbour and is only 15 minute walk to the centre of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We take great pride in providing excellent service and we are happy to hear that we met expectations during your visit to Toronto. We hope to welcome you back to Toronto in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,022 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 136 in Toronto
2,610 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,975 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing