We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sleep and price at downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #52 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good sleep and price at downtown hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in a Smart Queen room. The room is on the smaller side but we didn't feel cramped. We had no view and very little natural light, but it was quiet and we slept very well. We also didn't notice any noise from fellow guests.
Staff was nice and check in/out was easy. Location is very close to Union Station and sports venues. We used the Hop on/Hop off sightseeing bus to get around and there is a stop a couple blocks away.
Wish wifi was free. That would be a big help to travelers from outside Canada (like us) who are traveling without smartphones to avoid roaming fees. Also wish parking wasn't so expensive. We parked from 7pm Sunday to 3pm Tuesday at the underground lot next to hotel and paid $49. Construction was also taking place nearby and made getting to hotel a bit tricky by car.
Overall, we were happy with our stay. Rooms are clean and updated. We booked a few months in advance and paid about $130 per night (including tax) in mid-May.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 705Fizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience at our hotel with other travellers. We hope you had a great trip to Canada and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    638
    368
    149
    76
See reviews for
184
529
191
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ok so my friend, her boyfriend and I booked a room for the Sensation weekend. We booked 2 double beds. When we arrived at the hotel... there was NO parking anywhere.. unless you wanted to pay $80 for the night. Also when we checked in, they told us we had two single beds, and not doubles, when we are all there on the phone when they told us it was 2 doubles. Not to mention the manager was a jerk and snobby to us. We were sleeping in our room when we got back, and he came up and told us to keep it down... but yet we were asleep.. honestly would never go back here. It's overpriced ... we paid $160 for two twin beds and a rude manager ... not worth it. Dont go here.. and the continental breakfast sucked too!

We tried to move our beds together .. and there was dirt all shoved underneath the bed.. it was so nasty.

Room Tip: Don't book over the phone because they will book you in for something that you didn't want o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I reserved 3 nights for a get-away weekend in Toronto mainly to rest.
We upgraded to a "Deluxe Queen Room" as "This room is more spacious". Upon opening the door to our room we both had the same impression : more spacious than what? The bed might have been queen size but there was barely space around it. The very small closet had a total of 6 hangers, there was no dresser, no drawers to put our things, no table but a ledge with coffee machine and lamp. A square seat/footstool on which I could put my luggage and just enough space for one person at a time to move around the bed. Everything was very clean and fresh so we decided to make do and went out to tour a bit and have dinner at a restaurant. As we got ready for bed, we noticed that there was light shining from 2 sides of the door and from under; this door was not sealed! During the night we were wakened by other guest loudly returning to their rooms and slamming their doors. This went on for the remainder of our stay, including, guests fighting and loudly arguing at 2:00 a.m. in the corridor and young kids allowed to run screaming in the corridors until after 1:00 p.m. There was definitely no rest for us at The Strathcona!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

stayed for four nights - twin bedded room would have liked a double but they are mainly twin bedded rooms and no doubles available during our stay but on the whole no complaints hotel in excellent location for sightseeing and plenty of lovely restaurants nearby - thought the breakfast was a bit pricey but apart from that no complaints - pub attached very good and yes there is construction near hotel but it didnt bother us at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day Lorraine. Thank you for writing this review. Approximately 15% of our inventory is twin-bedded rooms but the remaining inventory is mixture of queen beds, king beds, two double beds, two queen beds and one executive suite. On your next visit to our city, please email me directly (dosm@thestrathconahotel.com) and I will ensure you receive one of our larger executive rooms. Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is steps away from the central rail station, and has easy access to Toronto's other modes of public transportation. After a week in the area, we wanted our last night to be special. We had reservations at the CN Tower restaurant, and an afternoon to enjoy the city without a care. The Strathcona was perfect for this. The rooms are small, and there is a charge for wifi, but the price and location were perfect. The decor is a sort of modern minimalist, but we liked it. The bed was comfy, too. There is a Tim Horton's across the street for great snacks and coffee (and we live in the Land of Starbucks, so this is saying something). A nice stay and great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poetsrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello Poetsrest. We are thankful for the time you took to write this review and are glad to hear our great location was beneficial during your visit to our city. Our neighbourhood is the land of Tim Horton's and Starbucks, as there is about 5 locations for each franchise that are less than a 5-minute walk from our hotel. We hope to see you back in Toronto in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Strathcona April 13th/13 till the 16th. I had heard the rooms were very small and you could hear everything, but thought I would try as the rates were just not worth passing up! Well, I had a wonderful stay and absolutely LOVED my room. Guess what? No RUGS.... Yay. What an awesome idea in this day and age. I could see if anything was on the floor. Two single beds. Now if you move around alot in bed, this room may not be for you but being someone that just lays there, these beds were awesome and comfortable. The closet doors had a type of plastic/glass that made the room look bigger. The washroom had everything I needed and was clean. Had a coffee every day. The coffee machine made a cup each time. But I have saved the best for last. Not a sound! Nothing. And I'm a light sleeper. The front desk employees were great and very approachable. Everything is close by. Tim Horton's across the street. I attended a function at the Royal York... right across the street. Did I say NO RUGS. They had me at that.
If your looking for somewhere with a pool this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review. We are happy you enjoyed your time in Toronto. You had us at "wonderful"! We look forward to welcoming you back to Toronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the Toronto Railway Station, however it has some serious problems. To begin, the construction in the area makes for a difficult arrival. This, however, should be a temporary problem. The room, while clean, was a tight fit for two adults. Twin beds filled the space. There was no room for a chair, only an square stool in the corner. The property does have a very helpful fellow to help with tours in the lobby!! A great location, but be aware of limitations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Carolyn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you found hotels location across from the Union Station very convenient and the cleanliness of the hotel & services offered by our staff to your satisfaction.

About 15% of our room inventory is two twin bedded and we could not agree with you more that it is tight in the room. We also offer larger 2 Double Bedded rooms and 2 Queen Bedded rooms, if available, at an nominal additional fee. We are sorry that we were unable to accomodate you in the larger room on this visit.

Once again thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 134 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#44 of 134 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing