We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in downtown Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #49 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a hotel in downtown Toronto”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have stayed at Strathcona a number of times. Rooms are small but ultra clean and it is right in the heart of downtown Toronto. Rates are very reasonable. The only issue that i ever faced is that there is not parking but there are a number of city parking very closely. I would definitely recommend Strathcona.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandi0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your extremely kind comments Nandi. We love hearing that our guests think our hotel is a gem and we couldn't agree with you more. You are a gem of a guest! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    643
    375
    150
    77
See reviews for
188
535
195
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Let me just say one word to sum up my 4 night stay at this hotel -- SCABIES. I am not kidding and yes it is gross! I am writing this review to warn you. I stayed at this hotel 4 nights on business. Overall I was not impressed. I had read other reviews and checked for bed bugs-I did not find any. However, by the second night I had developed a rash on my back, ankles and neck. Long and short of it is a couple weeks passed with this terribly itchy rash and I visit my doctor and told it is scabies. I am certain I got it from the bed at the Strathcona. Don't try and save money by staying here. I now have a huge headache and expense of eliminating this nasty tic from my home.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Momwith3kidlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Bed Bugs are not uncommon in North East USA/Canada .... our entire house-keeping team is trained to identify them. A rigorous programme exists to eliminate should a bed bug ever be carried into the hotel.

"Scabies" is very new and i have had to educate myself.

Quote Canada.com Body & Health

"Causes of Scabies
Scabies is a highly contagious condition. If you have close contact with a person infested with the scabies mite, your chances of catching it are fairly high. Crowded living conditions, close body contact (e.g., sleeping in the same bed), even holding hands for a while can easily allow the mite to spread from one person to another.
Since the scabies mite won't live away from a human body for more than a few days, direct contact is a much more likely source of transmission than clothing, bedding, or towels. The mites that cause scabies live specifically on humans - they can't be transmitted to or caught from animals, such as dogs." Unquote

I am really sorry to hear about your very unfortunate experience and at the same time i am at loss of an explanation as to how this incidence could have incurred at The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto.

We do contract our laundry but the contractor enjoys a stellar reputation and has been laundrying for a long time for major downtown hotels with not one such incidence reported in the past.

The bed linen and bath linen(both used and unused) are completely removed at guest departure and replaced with fresh linen for the next guest.

Our staff takes great pride for the cleanliness standards the hotel provides to its guests as is evident form the constant feedback the hotel receives on tripadvisor.

I really wish you gave us the opportunity to investigate the rashes that you noticed on the first night of your stay.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Strathcona on the night of February 17th, 2013. We were attending the Bon Jovi concert and I found the Strathcona via a WagJag deal. We took the GO in from Mississauga and avoided the huge overnight parking costs since the hotel doesn't have any private parking, Jack Astor's was right next door for dinner and after the concert we stopped at Tim's directly across the street for a coffee. For the visitor to TO this hotel is in the perfect location, you can walk to everything!! Our room was a King Executive and although small it was clean and exactly what we needed for one night. I would definately stay again at the Strathcona!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommabear7218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Mommabear,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope you had a great time at the Bon Jovi concert and we are elated to hear that you loved our hotel. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was checking out hotels in proximity to Ruth Christ Steakhouse for the evening and was not interested in the $500+ per/night at some local hotels. The Strathcona was just over $100 and surpassed my expectations. They upgraded my room from two twins to a queen when I arrived, and the service was excellent. The room was small but very clean and modern. Even the breakfast in the am was very good. No complaints from this couple. I'd return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Smith,

We pride ourselves on offering great service, a clean room and a wonderful breakfast at a reasonable price. Thank you for posting this review. We look forward to seeing you again someday, without hesitation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

For years my wife & I broke the bank at downtown Toronto hotels. Then we discovered The Strathcona, across from The Royal York's side entrance on York Street & a couple blocks from Union Station.
The rooms are small (but so were the ones we were paying 3 times as much for).
We've now stayed here several times & will continue to do so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Morstan,

Thank you for making our hotel your hotel of choice in Downtown Toronto. We will continue to meet and exceed your expectations whenever you visit our city. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Time and again this hotel exceeds my expectations. I have stayed here several times and the staff are exemplary. The rooms are clean and serviced efficiently.
In my opinion, this is the best value for money in the entire city.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Good day Larrie,

Your words are sincerely appreciated. It is comments like this that continues to motivate our staff. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed there while attending a confernece at the end of January. Perfect place for anyone going to the MTCC or Union Station. Easy to get around (we walked nearly everywhere) and close to a variety of places to eat (including a Tim Horton's across the street). I found the staff to be helpful and friendly while being professional. I would stay there again but only if I had the same Executive room that I had this trip. Some coworkers of mine were in a different style room and it was so tiny I was surprised the two of them could stand it. But ours was fine. My one complaint would be about the cleanliness of the room. We found a pair of earings by the TV for instance.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if you can. The standard rooms are beyond tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Ms Libby

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback! I am glad that you found The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto convenient for your needs and enjoyed the friendly service provided by our associates. I am sorry to learn of the cleanliness issue. Our House-keeping staff takes great pride in the cleanliness standards of the hotel and i can assure you that this incidence was an exception. I have taken it up with our Executive House-keeper and we will ensure that it does not recur. All of us at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto look forward to having you back for the same convention next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,022 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,610 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 136 in Toronto
2,975 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing