We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for location and short stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I tried this hotel out when my husband and I had a one day layover in Toronto. We had booked online via the hotel's website for a king size room. The rate I received for the room was excellent and way cheaper than any other hotels in the down town Toronto area.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by professional and friendly front desk staff that assisted us with restaurant recommendations in the area and arranged for our transportation to the airport the next morning.

The room was very small but it had the comforts that were required. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean. Personally I feel that's all that was required for our short stay.

There is a cafe located on site that has a very economical breakfast and lunch menu. We never tried it but probably would if we stayed more than one night.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who can forego space and just wants a place to comfortably sleep. The location for the price makes up for any space you may want.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_by_Foot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! Not only did you write a wonderful review, you also come from a wonderful province - Newfoundland! We are happy that we were able to make you trip from St. John's to Toronto comfortable and enjoyable. We hope to see you again in Toronto in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
There are newer reviews for The Strathcona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had a very good experience with this hotel. I have stayed at several hotels in downtown Toronto and this was by far my favorite, even compared to hotels i paid much more for. The location was perfect; close to CN tower, in the heart of downtown. I arrived 2 hours prior to check-in time and not only did they check me in immediately, they upgraded me to a better room at no charge. The size of the room was perfect since i was travelling alone (although would be small for 2). The reception staff were polite. There is a free shuttle to/from the billy bishop airport which stops a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The only negatives i can think of were that there was a charge for the wifi (although it wasn't very much $7 per day or $10 for 2 days) and minifridge ($10 per day). Also i couldn't quite figure out how to turn off the heating/AC system in my room so i had to keep alternating between warm and cold air, and the wifi (which i paid for) was quite slow at times. But otherwise, this hotel was really great. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Claire,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are flattered that we are your favourite hotel. You are now one of our favourite guests! We always do our best to check in our guests who arrive early. We know how convenient it can be after a long day of travelling. When you return to our hotel please make sure you ask our staff to have someone show you how to operate the heating/AC unit. We have also upgraded our wifi in the last couple of weeks so there will not be problems with slow wireless internet. We look forward to welcoming you back to Toronto in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pros: Great location (right across the Union Station), the staff was very friendly, the room I stayed in had a king-size bed; it was a little small but very nicely decorated (bright colors, hardwood floors), and the room was very very clean. For its value, this hotel is a good choice to stay in downtown Toronto.

Cons: The walls separating the rooms were thin; hence, a little noisy. The Wi-Fi internet is not free.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ihsan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Ihsan,

Thank you very much for you review. We are happy to hear that our great location and proximity to Union Station was convenient for you. We have Smart rooms with a king-sized bed and Executive rooms with a king-sized bed. The Executive rooms are larger so please ask for an upgrade the next time you visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Toronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

There is no parking for the hotel but there is a city lot literally 10 metres from the front door. Tim Hortons right across the street and Second Cup a few doors down. 2 minute walk to Front St with a ton of restaurants so I'm not sure why everyone is complaining about the pub/cafe. For the price the location is great, the room although on the small side was VERY clean and comfortable. I appreciated the cozier feel than most chain hotels. I would not recommend this hotel for a pre-party place but for a stay for one or two people on a budget it would be perfect. My only complaint would be it could be a bit noisy, ie thin walls. My coworker had a room near the elevator and she said she could hear people in and out. WIFI costs $7 but I didn't bother as I wasn't there long. Staff was friendlier than other downtown Toronto hotels I've stayed at. I'm pleased with this hotel and will rebook again when in Toronto.

Room Tip: Ask to be further from the elevator to avoid noisey people. Ask for an executive upgrade room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawthorn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for you kind comments about our hotel. We are happy to hear you will be coming back to our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again to Toronto in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed there in 2010 for a city break and I liked this hotel very much ! Overall everything was OK .Cleanliness was very good , the rooms was big enough , Stuff was friendly and helpful ! But I regretted using a phone I have been charged dearly even for the calling attempts.

Room Tip: DO NOT USE THE PHONE !!! Or make sure you ask the stuff for the charges! I have been trying to call...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventuresOfZolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind remarks about our hotel. We will investigate this telephone issue to ensure it does not happen in the future and we hope to welcome you back to Toronto in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The other reviews are correct, the rooms are small, but that's how they all are. And yes you have to pay for WiFi or upgrade to another package. Those aren't are complaints as we expected it. Are complaints are with the management and poor notice given about holiday closures.

We had several issues during our stay and all but one went unresolved. Our first night there are door lock quit working and after 30 minutes of messing around with maids and master keys to unlock the door we were transferred to an adjacent room only after we were dissatisfied with the option to just not leave our room till the next day when the repair guy would be in?!? The next morning we were rudely treated to an alarm next door in an empy room going off for 45 mins before management would send someone to turn it off. Then the next evening we had a half drank bottle of wine taken from our room by the maid. When we called the front desk to complain they insinuated that we were lying and their staff would never do such a thing. When we asked to talk to the GM to express our disgust with the staff we were told they wouldn't be available to speak to us.

And as an added insult, the "Pub", which is part of the hotel, was closed for the holidays, our entire stay. And the in house breakfast was operating on abbreviated hours. Not that it was a huge deal but sometimes it's nice to unwind with a drink at the end of the day and not have to walk somewhere else. And subsequently all room service was unavailable for the entire stay. It would have been nice to know before booking.

We will never stay at a Strathcona again and I'd advise anyone considering to reconsider and spend your hard earned money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! If you do stay, ask for a room near no one as you can hear everything through t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Mr Brad

I am sorry that we were unable to meet with your expectations during your stay at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto.

During the X'Mas Holiday season we operate with minimal staffing to give an opportunity to our team members to enjoy the festive season with their family and loved ones. While we posted holiday hours information at the front desk, guest elevators, The Pub and The York Street Cafe, we failed to provide the same information on our website. We will do so in future. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for a night out clubbing. When we arrived the staff were friendly. We were given room 311. Upon entering our room we realized they had given us a twin size bed when we had paid for a king online. We phoned the front desk and they tried to tell us we had paid for a queen. Luckily we had printed off our confirmation that clearly said king on it so they upgraded us to an executive suite as compensation. We got room 811. The room was very nice but fairly small compared to other hotels we have stayed at in the area. The ipod dock they advertise the room having was broken. The shower knob was installed wrong so you had to turn it to cold to get hot water. The bed was comfy. Overall the room was pretty good. Only downside was the lack of sound proofing so don't expect a good sleep. Noisy people at 2 a.m. coming to and from the elevator. Also the restaurants were closed for the holidays but there was no warning to anyone booking online. It was cheaper than most in the area but I would likely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ems1339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest of The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we did not meet upto your complete satisfaction. Being holiday season time the general profile of guests is leisure with many attending late night parties. The sound levels may sometimes be above normal but mostly its unintentional. We will explore a solution to minimise this disturbance. Thanks again. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,062 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,699 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,166 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $137 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing