We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Great One night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed October 17, 2012

we just had one night to stay in Toronto before our train ride across Canada.
The Strathcona was a great location, one block from the train. The staff was friendly and helpful and a very pleasant room. i highly recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
There are newer reviews for The Strathcona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

this hotel was chosen totally random for our stay in toronto . after travelling via train across canada from vancouver we were met at the reception desk by a most accomodating receptionist who was more than helpful with various information concerning places to visit and eating houses. Our room was very clean and comfortable, The Hotel was situtated prefectly, for the train station and within walking distance of most places of interest ie CN.Tower and the famous Yonge street (shopping). The Staff was helpful in booking our taxis back to airport (no extra Charges!!) even came to check and wave us off !!!! Don't think it was coz we were problem guests ??? lol highley recommended manners go down well with us brits still sally B

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very old seeming hotel in downtown Toronto. I chose it because of it's convenience to the Rogers Centre for a Blue Jays baseball. This hotel reminds me of any older hotel in the states or many modern hotels in Europe. The rooms are small, but well furnished, most seemed to have some sort of windows overlooking part of the streets down below. The furnishings were great, it was very clean and the lobby was fantastic. It is within walking distance to all major downtown sites, including the CN Tower, Rogers Centre, Train Station and NHL hall of fame.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for a four day stay in Toronto and found that the staff where really friendly and the Check in was really smooth.
Room was spacious and clean. Location was fantastic with the CN Tower And the Rodgers Centre within easy walking distance.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We decided to stay here for one night because we had to catch an early train to Montreal the next morning - the location was perfect, just a 2 minute was to Union Station, no need to worry about commuter traffic or a taxi etc.

We were in a Smart Queen which was small (but i expected that from my booking) but really had everything that we needed. I wouldn't want to stay in that room any more than a night or two, because it would be quite cramped.

The decor was modern but on closer inspection some of the fixtures could do with replacing because they have seen better days. When the A/C unit was on, we could smell the restaurant below us, but once it was off, it was fine.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did not eat at the restaurant downstairs, it seemed pretty pricey for what was offered, although that was just based on looking at the menu.

We walked all over town during the day, all the way to the Distillery district, St. Lawrence Market and the CN tower is nearby too. Good base for all the local sights for someone that doesn't have a car.

Room Tip: Read all the descriptions of the rooms carefully, because it seemed like there were a lot to choose...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deaksVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

the Strathcona is a great little hotel if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room...the rooms are a little small and you just get the Executive level rooms to not feel closed in! Clean rooms, modern, lots of light, nice shower, bedding is top notch, but the noise that can be heard through the door in the early a.m. is often sleep disturbing. If you have to be up early anyway during your stay, this will not be an issue. If you are looking for a lie-in on a Saturday morning, forget it! The location, hwoever, is perfect! union station acorss the street, Metro Toronto Convention Center, CN Tower, Rogers, all a few minutes walk away. For the price, a great hotel for a short stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GloriousLakeSuperior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were in town overnight for a wedding in downtown Toronto and needed somewhere close to the venue without being over priced. Our single Queen room was $169, which was a good deal when comparing other Hotels in the area. There is no pool or spa here so if you are coming for a get away it may not be your best choice but for the "business trip" or "overnight attend an event" stay it is an excellent value. The Strathcona is a lovely newly renovated Hotel' very tastefully done. The bed was very comfortable with quality linens and the Hotel and our room were immaculate. This Hotel is very well located as the train station is literally a couple of minutes from it if you come in by train. We had driven and parked in the underground lot nearby. We were parked from 1pm on Sat. until 9am Sun. and it was only $14, which I thought was reasonable for being in downtown Toronto. It is in a very nice area with the Royal York across the corner and lots of options for eating. We had a nice stay and will most definitely use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor, our room faced the street but was bright and not noisy at all.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,062 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,703 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,167 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 137 in Toronto
3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $136 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing