We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to the Opera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Ranked #34 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
310 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Walking distance to the Opera”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Doubletree by Hilton, downtown Toronto is a beautiful venue, the staff extremely hospitable who made us feel most welcome. As our major destination this trip was the Four Seasons Opera House, the location was perfect as we could easily walk both ways which is always a treat! The breakfast, although pricey, was delicious & presented beautifully.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Laurie B

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us and I am so happy that our hotel was a great fit for you. Yes we do have one of the best locations of any of the downtown hotels because we are so close to so many things to do and you are staying right in the heart of Downtown Toronto. I am happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and maybe I am a little partial but yes it is delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    729
    209
    73
    61
See reviews for
321
573
109
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

First time here. Upon arrival Matthew Smith greeted us. It was very busy &he was extremely happy &welcoming. Throughout our stay Matthew made us feel welcomed &special. He went above &beyond for us. Would come again because of him. Thank you Matthew :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristjanajess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Kristjanajess

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us and I am so glad that you enjoyed everything. Matthew certainly is one of our special associates here at the hotel, he is always so fucused on a guest and is always willing to do whatever it takes to "Make it Right" for any of our guests and I am so happy that he made such a great impression on you. Thanks for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel staff were extremely helpful … loved the warm cookie on check in!! I enjoyed the newly renovated rooms. Location is perfect … close to University and Yonge Streets. Would definitely return to this hotel when returning to Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Heidi L

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and I am so happy that our hotel fit and suited your needs completely. I have to agree with you, our staff here is marvelous and they are so willing and happy to help our guests in any way. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back soon.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We got a great deal off Hotwire to stay at this hotel for 3 days while we were in Toronto. Location wise... because it's so close to Yonge/Dundas, almost every major tourist site is within walking distance. We found the staff very courteous and helpful. (Fresh warm cookies at check-in anyone?)

And though hotel looks a bit dated from the outside, the rooms were quite nice. The lobby could use some work though. There was free wifi that had some pretty quick speeds, which was nice. The underground parking is quite tight and can be a bit hazardous. Not much that can be done about that unfortunately. Just gotta be extra careful with rental cars. I'm never a fan of paying for parking at any hotel, so the $29/day charge didn't make me smile.

Although we didn't take advantage of the gym or pool, they were available. The gym was well stocked with various weight/cardio machines for anyone that wanted it. The pool area I found a bit dark and eerie for my taste. Some more lighting would help out a lot.

Overall, my girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay and would book again... as long as it was another solid deal off a 3rd party site. Don't think it's worth the $200+ per night regular price.

Room Tip: We were originally booked for a Queen size bed, but at check-in asked if any Kings were available an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyGuy604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear RyGuy604

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay with us. I am glad you had a good time at our hotel and found our location great for you. We do have an amazing location since we are so close to some of Toronto's greatest attractions, shopping, restaurants and so much more. I am pleased you liked our renovated rooms and we are so proud that every guest room in the hotel has now been fully renovated. We thank you for choosing us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
297 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

At least the wifi is now free.

The lobby is under construction for some 6 months now.

There are still issues with this hotel. It's not a smooth operation. I was given a room with no bed linen, towels and it had not been cleaned. Back down to the desk and all they can offer is a room with no light in the entrance. Its 10 pm, the hockey game is on I want to get to bed so...

I still get the impression that they don't do this too often. They need a little more practice before they open the show. On my last three stays there was some small annoying glitch.

The comment card want your zip and state ??? The first question is was I offered a warm cookie at reception - yes but not a room...

The location is great.

Still need some management.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear IntSommelier

Thank you very much for sharing your feelings on your recent stay with us and it certainly seems that we did not meet your expectations especially with the check in process. I am sorry that the check in process was such a challenge and it seems that we were not at our best this day. Our Front Desk Manager would like you to contact him and to see what we can do to "Make it Right" for you. His email address is matt.scriven@hilton.com.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I chose this hotel due to location and value. It turned out to be a really nice hotel and I enjoyed the brisk morning walk to my conference being held at the Eaton Center towers. Rooms were clean and newly remodeled, staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Beth O

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review based on your recent stay with us and I am so happy that you enjoyed everything. We are so proud now that all of our guest rooms have been renovated and we can offer them to all of our guests now. Thank you so much for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I booked this hotel a couple of days before I arrived based on the price and location, the fact that it was a Hilton was a bonus.

I was aware that there was a charge for parking, and do expect that in a city, but it seemed rather expensive at nearly $30 per night inc taxes, this price was not shown on the expedia website - i think maybe it should be.

Nice room, 3 windows, corner room and a lovely view of the CN Tower which is quite impressive anyway but looks even better at night.

Very good location, close to everything.

The only downside seemed to be that the internet connection was absolutely terrible over both nights i was there, but that wasnt the end of the world to me.

All in all a good stay, and i would reccomend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Kelly B

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and share your thoughts about your most recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly working with our technology teams to improove our internet connection throughout the hotel to give our guests a better experience. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,023 reviews
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,612 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#35 of 136 in Toronto
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Address: 108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#30 Business Hotel in Toronto
#30 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. This full service hotel is located at the heart of the city’s financial, research, entertainment, dining and shopping districts. The hotel has a total of 486 modern contemporary fully renovated guest rooms including 34 suites and luxury suites with windows that open. In room amenities include high speed wireless internet access, in room work desk and voice mail, complimentary newspaper delivered to your room, on command in room movie, music and video games. The hotel boasts two 4 Diamond rated restaurants, namely Hemispheres Restaurant and Bistro and Lai Wah Heen. Additional hotel amenities include indoor pool, a brand new state of the art fitness center and business center. The hotel has 13,000 square feet of event space and is well known in the city for its exceptional and professional catering service for both business and leisure events including weddings. The hotel is walking distance to numerous Fortune 500 Companies, the University of Toronto, several world renowned hospitals including Mount Sinai, The Hospital for Sick Children and Toronto General, Queens Park, the Law Society of Upper Canada, Ontario Art Gallery, CN Tower, Royal Ontario Museum, Mars Center, US Consulate, Canadian Opera Company. Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Shopping Center, Rogers Center and Air Canada Center are also easily accessible. The hotel is minutes from Union Station, easily accessible off the Gardiner Expressway, Billy Bishop Toronto Island Airport as well as 40 minutes from Pearson International Airport. As one enters the grand lobby with its cascading staircase, one is immediately welcomed by the gracious staff, ready to offer the exceptional quality service for which the hotel is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing